March 26, 2020
Saskatchewan Sport Awards Celebrate Athletes, Coaches, Officials and Volunteers
Thirteen athletes, coaches, officials and volunteers are the recipients of the 2019 Saskatchewan Sport Awards.
The annual awards program honours the accomplishments, hard work and dedication of those in the province’s amateur sport community.

All of the award finalists and recipients were to be recognized at a gala event in Saskatoon on March 26. That event, which was cancelled as a response to the COVID-19 situation, is not being rescheduled.  

“On behalf of Sask Sport and its membership, I would like to congratulate all of the Saskatchewan Sport Awards finalists and recipients,” said Kenric Exner, volunteer Chair of Sask Sport, which serves as the federation for amateur sport in the province. 

“While we are unable to celebrate these individuals and teams as we originally planned, that doesn’t take away from the incredible accomplishments of these athletes, coaches, officials and volunteers – all of whom have represented their community and province with distinction at home and abroad. Sport has the power to inspire us and build community and their example encourages others to get involved, share their love of sport and enjoy all of the benefits of participation.”  

2019 Saskatchewan Sport Award Recipients
Female Athlete of the Year
Keely Shaw (Saskatoon), Para cycling 
Coach Dedication 
Russell Martin (Grand Coulee), Softball 
Male Athlete of the Year
Jarret Kenke (Saskatoon), Kayak 
Coach Dedication
Sherry Pasloski (Yorkton), Special Olympics
Youth Female Athlete of the Year
Savannah Sutherland (Borden), Athletics
Official Award
Dennis Rennie (Saskatoon), Tennis 
Youth Male Athlete of the Year
Rylan Wiens (Saskatoon), Diving
Official Award
Deanna Rindal (Prince Albert), Curling 
Team of the Year
Team Sask 19U Men, Water Polo 
Volunteer Recognition Award
Margaret Auringer (Maidstone), Figure skating
Coach of the Year
Jason Reindl (Saskatoon), Athletics 
Volunteer Recognition Award
Ken Trofimuk (Prince Albert), Weightlifting
Master Athlete of the Year
Mike Vincent and Ivan English (Regina), Canoe
Additional details about the Sa skatchewan Sport Awards — including bios and select highlights for all award finalist and recipients — are available at .
Job Opportunities
SportsPage is an e-newsletter produced on an as-required basis by Sask Sport for distribution to its members and stakeholders. Members are invited to submit news, information and upcoming events for SportsPage.
Connect with us