The Swift Flowing River: March 2019
A South Saskatchewan River Watershed Steward E-Newsletter
Photo: William Evitts
Annual General Meeting
March 29, 2019
1:00 - 4:00 PM
200 Mike Sands Blvd.
Martensville, SK
Are you responsible for an abandoned water well?
Rural Municipalities can decommission abandoned water wells in their RMs, whether they are owned by the RM, an acreage owner, or occur in a hamlet. See program details below.
March 21, 2019
1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Kenaston Place
Kenaston, SK


  • Weed Control Act
  • Weed inspector rights and responsibilities
  • Invasive plant control program
  • Weeds to watch for
  • Challenges of being the weed inspector

CE credits available

Kerry Lowndes
2018 SSRWSI Members
Urban Municipalities

City of Martensville
City of Saskatoon
Resort Village of Shields
Resort Village of Thode
Town of Cudworth
Town of Kindersley
Town of Leader
Town of Osler
Town of Rosthern
Village of Alvena
Village of Loreburn

Special Interest Group

Meewasin Valley Authority
Rural Municipalities

RM of Chesterfield No 261
RM of Corman Park No 344
RM of Deer Forks No 232
RM of Excelsior
RM of Fertile Valley No 285
RM of Fish Creek No 402
RM of Happyland No 231
RM of Hoodoo No 401
RM of Kindersley No 290
RM of Lacadena No 228
RM of Loreburn No 254
RM of Miry Creek No 229
RM of Montrose No 315
RM of Newcombe No 260
RM of Prince Albert No 461
RM of Rosthern No 403
RM of Saskatchewan Landing No 167
RM of Snipe Lake No 259
RM of Victory No 226
The South Saskatchewan River Watershed
The South Saskatchewan River Watershed is the second largest watershed in Saskatchewan, covering 35,000 km2. The South Saskatchewan River in Saskatchewan is 715 km long, from the Alberta border to the confluence of the North and South Saskatchewan Rivers at "The Forks" just east of Prince Albert. It supports nearly half of Saskatchewan's total population as a source for municipal and private drinking water. The Watershed includes 54 Rural Municipalities and 81 communities, including the Cities of Saskatoon, Warman and Martensville.
Watershed Coordinators, Agri-Environmental Technical Services

Marketing Communications Manager
SSRWSI Board of Directors
West Watershed Area
Lorne Janzen, Town of Kindersley
Craig Tondevold, Town of Leader

Lake Diefenbaker Watershed Area
Harold Martens, RM of Excelsior
Les Ferguson, Pike Lake Cottage and Watershed Association
Lee Galbraith, RM of Victory

North Watershed Area
Ben Buhler, Town of Osler
Randy Donauer, City of Saskatoon
Debbie McGuire, City of Martensville
Wayne Acorn, RM of Prince Albert
Judy Harwood, RM of Corman Park
Renny Grilz, Meewasin Valley Authority
Click their logo to visit their website!
Groups of Interest
South Saskatchewan River Watershed Stewards Inc.
2366 Avenue C North (Norplex Business Centre), Saskatoon, SK S7L 5X5
Phone: 1 (306) 343-9549