Mississippi Academy of
Family Physicians Newsletter
September 9, 2017

Upcoming Events
Fall Conference
Sept. 29 - Oct. 1, 2017
The Mill Conference Center, Starkville

MAFP Capitol Day
March 7, 2018
Mississippi State Capitol, Jackson

Board Meeting 

December 8-9
Indianola, MS

New Members

William K. Currie, MD
Laurel, MS

Ashley W. Harris, MD
Columbus, MS

David E. Hibbets, DO
Hattiesburg, MS


Cameron Bonds , MD  
Jacob Cox, DO
Mimi T. Nguyen, DO
Franchesca N. Robichaud, MD
Timothy Zepponi, DO

WCUCOM Student
Samuel Hall
Alexander L. Moore

UMMC Students
Hollie Ables
Katheryn Adam
Reid Black
Kaylie D. Bradshaw
Sarah Brannan
Anna B. Britt
Evan Browning
Robert H. Burrow
Anissa Butler
Joshua Campbell
Samuel Chafin
Katherine Cranston
Breland Crudup
Sean Duke
Mariam Ebeid
Nathan Ford
Ruth Fowler
Sebastian Galante
Rosario K. Guastella
Jonathan Hamilton
Skiey Hardin
Kyle Hart
Wilson Helmhout
Kelly Hill
Kelsey Hillhouse
Haley Hobart
Alex Huff
Joshua Irby
Jordan Jackson
Lance Jaynes
Rose Joachim
Candise Johnson
Amanda Kaminski
Kelton Kingsley
Jaslyn Langford
Sallie LIn
Abby Matthews
Lily F. McCrory
Jon Abigail McDonald
Alexander J. Meyer
Jenni K. Miles
Paige Mims
Rachael A. Nelson
Daulton Newman
Dai Nguyen
Ashley Noblin
Rohan Pareek
Kirby G. Parker
Sara B. Parker
Naishal Patel
Daniel Patterson
Chandler Pride
Frank H. Redd
Jeremiah Reese
Walker Robison
Damien Roland
Cary N. Roy
Conner Sears
Chamnee P. Seo
Melinda Solomon
Austin Southern
Louise Spencer
Shanesse Spratt
Elliott Taylor
Jack G. Tharp
Peyton Thigpen
Sam Thomas
Jared Vaughan
Elizabeth Wicks
Alexis Witcher
Hobart Zhu

Keep up with us on
Social Media

Miss. Academy of Family Physicians



GETU1 and promote healthy living in the state of Mississippi by purchasing a Live Healthy specialty license tag for the small fee of $31.
Request this tag at your county tax collector's office when you renew your license tag. Proceeds from the sale of this tag benefit the Mississippi Academy of  Family Physicians Foundation.

Reserve Rooms Today 
For Fall Conference in Starkville:
Rooms Dropped on Monday
Members asked for a conference in Starkville and we answered with two big thumbs up! Our Fall Conference will be held Friday, September 29 - Sunday, October 1,  in Starkville at The Mill Conference Center  just across the street from the Mississippi State University campus.  Get all the details, reserve a hotel room, see the CME topics, see a list of registrants, and register online on our Fall Conference website page .
Dr. Chiarito

Dr. Lampton

Mississippians Chosen to Participate 
in AAFP Congress of Delegates
Two Mississippi physicians were asked to participate in the AAFP Congress of Delegates this month. The Congress of Delegates will meet September 11-13 in San Antonio, Texas, at the Family Medicine Experience (formerly called the AAFP Annual Meeting). AAFP Alternate Delegate  Susan Chiarito, MD, FAAFP, of Vicksburg, was asked to be an observer on the AAFP Congress Rules Committee. AAFP Delegate Lucius Lampton, MD, of Magnolia, was selected as a Member of the Reference Committee on Advocacy.
Follow Your Passion: 
Join an AAFP Interest Group
Member Interest Groups (MIG) were created by AAFP as a way to define, recognize, and support AAFP members with shared professional interests. Members can join these groups to network, deliver a unified message to AAFP leadership, to suggest AAFP policies, to take part in an online community forum, and even meet face-to-face at the Family Medicine Experience conference.  Learn more or join a group today.  Here's a list of some existing MIGs:
- Adolescent Health
- Breastfeeding Medicine
- Community Health
- Direct Primary Care
- Emergency Medicine/Urgent Care
- Global Health
- Hospital Medicine
- Independent/Solo/Small Group   
- Lifestyle Medicine
- Oral Health
- Point-of-Care Ultrasound
- Reproductive Health Care
- Rural Health 
- School Doctor
- Single-Payer Health Care
- Telehealth
- Transforming Clinical Practice 

Past AAFP President Dr. Robert Wergin, left, presents Dr. Sumrall with a Degree of Fellow certificate at the MAFP Annual Meeting in July.

Dr. Sumrall is AAFP  Fellow; 
New MAFP Board Member
Meet MAFP's newest AAFP Fellow, Dr. Chrystal Sumrall of Laurel Family & Immediate Care in Laurel. She received her certificate at a convocation ceremony at the MAFP Annual Scientific Assembly in July. Following the July meeting, she was also appointed to the MAFP Board as District 2 Director.
A native of Laurel, she completed a bachelor's and post-graduate studies at the University of Southern Mississippi before graduating from the University of Mississippi School of Medicine. Following an internship and residency with the UMMC Department of Family Medicine, Dr. Sumrall began work as a family physician in Laurel and Ellisville. She is now the Senior and Supervising Physician at Laurel Family and Immediate Care, which is part of Hattiesburg Clinic. 

Learn more about how to earn the Degree of Fellow . The next Fellow ceremony will be at the Fall Conference. Please e-mail Claire Rome if you would like to participate.

Want to get involved?
Join a MAFP Committee
The MAFP is busy building committees for the 2017-18 year. Member involvement is important to the strategic direction of the MAFP. The charge and activities of each committee provide leadership and direction on a variety of MAFP initiatives. If you want to become involved in MAFP and are willing to serve on a committee, we are hosting committee meetings on Friday, September 29, at 3 pm in Starkville at the site of the Fall Conference. Please click here to let us know you want to serve.

Dr. Easterling
Dr. Bryan

Easterling, Bryan honored with MSMA Leadership Awards
Two MAFP members were recently recognized by the Mississippi State Medical Association (MSMA) for leadership at the group's annual meeting in Jackson.
Dr. Randy Easterling of Vicksburg was presented with the MSMA Community Service Award. This award honors a member of the association who is actively engaged in the practice of medicine and has rendered service 'above and beyond the call of duty' for the betterment of his/her community and the state. Dr. Easterling is a past president of MAFP and MSMA.
Dr. Jennifer Bryan of Flowood was presented with the James C. Waites Leadership Award, which honors the many contributions of Dr. Waites to his community and to organized medicine by recognizing a physician under the age of 50 who is an outstanding leader in organized medicine and community affairs. Dr. Bryan is a past president of Central Medical Society and has held many leadership roles in MSMA.