Volume 36, Number 5 | September/October 2019
Boone County Medical Society Prescriptions Newsletter
Officers, Board for 2020 Elected
By a vote of the BCMS membership at its Sept. 3 meeting, Alan Hillard, MD , (photo right) will serve as BCMS President in 2020.

Dr. Hillard earned his medical degree from the University of Missouri School of Medicine and completed a fellowship in interventional radiology/cross-sectional imaging at the University of Utah. He practices at and is an original partner of Advanced Radiology.

 Albert Hsu, MD , will serve as the Society's President-Elect in 2020. Dr. Hsu is a reproductive endocrinologist with MU Health Care.

Laine Young-Walker, MD , who currently serves as BCMS Secretary/Treasurer, will continue in that role in 2020.

The 2020 BCMS Board includes incumbent members Kate Grossman, MD; John Pardalos, MD ; and Lisa Thomas, MD . Jella An, MD ; Kara Braudis, MD ; and Bridget Gruender, MD , were newly elected to the Board. Josh Hamann, MD , will serve as the BCMS Past President. Thank you to these physicians for leading BCMS!
Dr. Albert Hsu
Dr. Laine Young-Walker
Dr. Kate Grossman
Dr. John Pardalos
Dr. Lisa Thomas
Dr. Jella An
Dr. Kara Braudis
Dr. Bridget Gruender
Dr. Josh Hamann
Medical Marijuana Division Director to Address BCMS
Lyndall Fraker, Director of Missouri's Medical Marijuana Division for the Department of Health and Senior Services, will give a presentation to BCMS on Tuesday, Oct. 1, 2019 .

The meeting will be held at Boone Hospital and all BCMS members, residents and students are welcome to attend. Mr. Fraker will provide an update on and overview of Missouri's Medical Marijuana program and participate in a Q & A.

The event begins with a social and meal at 6 pm. The program will begin at about 6:30 pm . RSVP by Sept. 24 to attend. You may RSVP now by clicking the box at right and completing the online RSVP form. Or, click here to RSVP via email . Please include your name and let us know if you plan on bringing a guest.
Lyndall Fraker, Director
Medical Marijuana Division
Distinguished Physician Nominations Sought
Nominations for the Boone County Medical Society’s Distinguished Physician Award are being solicited from now through Oct. 18, 2019 (note the extended deadline). Click here for a full list of nomination criteria and nomination form .

The BCMS Distinguished Physician Award Committee and the Board of Directors will select the recipient and the winner will be notified by the Board President. The award will be presented during the annual Gala/General Membership Meeting.
Students Recruit New Members at MU Activities Fair
Thank you to the leaders of the University of Missouri School of Medicine's Medical Student Society for their efforts to recruit new BCMS, MSMA and AMA members at the Activities Fair on Aug. 1. BCMS provided Taylor reflex hammers and Maxwell Pocket Guides as incentives for the new members who joined. Pictured from left are Evan Garrad, Pooja Nair, Shelby Meyer, Calli Morris and Abdoulie Njai.

The BCMS Gala is Saturday, Feb. 1, 2020, at the Country Club of Missouri. Formal invitations and more information will be sent to BCMS members in December!
BCMS is open to physicians in Boone, Cooper and Howard counties in Missouri. Visit our website to learn more about BCMS membership & activities !