You are receiving this email because you generously donate to the Pathway to Adventure Council and/or you have opted to receive this e-newsletter. You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link at the bottom of this email.

In 2007, the Executive Committee of this event initiated a scholarship program in memory of two key former volunteers. In 2012, the committee lost another key member and decided to honor her through this program as well.

Proceeds raised from this effort go directly to defray college or higher education costs for selected recipients for all four years of undergraduate studies with proof of re-enrollment and good standing.

For 10 years, the legacies of Herb Church, Harold Schiff and Marcy (Marc) Coffey’s service to the Scouting movement have lived on.

Noah Reardon was the deserving Eagle Scout selected for this year’s scholarship. His commitment to the program has made Noah an extraordinary young man. He spent last summer on a prestigious research mission developed by famed Eagle Scout and explorer Robert Ballard - best known for discovering the wreckage of the Titanic. Noah worked alongside scientists and engineers on a ship called the Nautilus, where he studied ocean-mapping technologies and helped design, build, program, and track ocean drifters in the Pacific Ocean.

Outside of Scouting, Noah is a musician and a black belt. He graduated with honors from Lyons Township High School this May and is heading to the Illinois Institute of Technology to study mechanical engineering. Noah aspires to become a member of a research and development team that designs, builds, and programs robots for applications that make a real impact on how people live, work, and play.

This scholarship is also supporting the education of three other Eagle Scouts:
·          Mark Balich – University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
·          Shaun Kelliher – University of Wisconsin
·          Andrew Knorowski – University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

We wish all our scholars much success and look forward to bringing you updates on some of our early recipients in coming issues. 

Your support helps the Pathway to Adventure Council mold the future leaders of this country by combining educational activities and lifelong values with fun.

An easy way to double your impact is through employee giving programs. Many corporations match employee donations to our organization. The hours you volunteer in Scouting may also qualify for donation dollars from your employer.  

Matching gifts are initiated by the donor and verified by the charity. To see if your workplace participates in employee giving programs, click here .  
As we wrap up our summer program, we count our blessings. In just two and half years 420 Scouts will have earned 515 badges. More importantly, they will have been inspired. Young people cannot dream about something they know nothing about.

The Scouts attending these merit badge clinics are not only earning badges, they are learning about internships and receiving tips on their education. They are getting insights from CEOs and networking with potential future employers.

On November 9, we will celebrate the accomplishments of our partners. The LaSalle Street Trading Tech Awards, born from the iconic LaSalle Street Dinner, now recognizes the organizations that did so much to create a memorable and safe experience for our Scouts during the year.

The Class of 2017 includes Enova, FourStar, John Lothian News, NIPSCO, Nuveen, US Bank, and WGN Channel 9. Our Legacy supporters include Advantage Futures, CME Group, GlenStar, NFA, Trading Technologies, and XR Trading.

View our event brochure and flyer .
James E. West Fellowship Award
The James E. West Fellowship Award is a national recognition for individuals who contribute $1,000 or more in cash or securities to the local council endowment trust fund. This contribution is often times in addition to a donor's annual gift to the council's Friends of Scouting Campaign.

The award is named after the first Chief Scout Executive of the Boy Scouts of America who exemplified Ralph Waldo Emerson's observation that "an institution is the lengthened shadow of one man." Those who are recognized by the James E. West Fellowship Award will cast their own "lengthened shadow" as they help ensure the Scouting legacy for future generations of young people and create the financial stability of the program in the twenty-first century for their local council.

Recipients of the James E. West award will be recognized during Pathway to Adventure Council’s annual dinner and/or the annual donor recognition event. If you are interested in learning more about this award or want to be a part of the council annual dinner, please contact