The Connecticut Office of the Arts (COA) is pleased to announce that the Southeastern Connecticut Cultural Coalition will serve as the Designated Regional Service Organization for towns in Windham and Tolland Counties beginning this month.

COA partners with Designated Regional Service Organizations (DRSO) that serve as local field offices to constituents and citizens. It is well understood that a variety of arts and culture entities working collaboratively across communities can spur a vibrant and robust creative economy. This statewide network of service providers plays a key role that is mutually beneficial to the state’s citizens, the creative economy and the regional arts and cultural infrastructure.

Elizabeth Shapiro, Director of Arts, Preservation and Museum for Connecticut Office of the Arts said, “We have watched the Southeastern Connecticut Cultural Coalition grow and strengthen under the careful planning and steadfast follow through of its staff and board, and have great faith in their leadership.”

The Office of the Arts would like to recognize Windham Arts for previously serving in this capacity and for their continued support of arts and culture in the region.

The towns in the Windham and Tolland Counties to now be served by the Cultural Coalition are Ashford, Brooklyn, Canterbury, Chaplin, Columbia, Coventry, Eastford, Hampton, Killingly, Mansfield, Plainfield, Pomfret, Putnam, Scotland, Stafford, Sterling, Thompson, Union, Willimantic, Willington, Windham and Woodstock.

Wendy Bury, Executive Director of the Cultural Coalition, said “We look forward to expanding our programs and services to the northeast region and working with the creative community to support their needs and goals. The arts and cultural sector has been hard hit by the pandemic, and we will be a resource and advocate during these trying times, for reopening and recovery.”

Become a Northeast Region Contact
The Cultural Coalition and the Office of the Arts encourages registering as a Northeast Region contact. By doing so, you are providing the Cultural Coalition with basic information to better serve you. The Cultural Coalition will:
  • Invite you to attend its programs, round table/stakeholder conversations, events and other activities.
  • Add you to a monthly e-newsletter list and you will receive communications with other relevant information.
  • Advocate for the arts, cultural and creative sector in Northeastern Connecticut.

A registration form specifically for the Northeast Connecticut region can be found HERE.
About the Cultural Coalition
The Southeastern Connecticut Cultural Coalition is a free membership organization that includes a diverse cross section of nonprofit and for-profit individuals, businesses, groups and organizations. It currently serves 500+ registered partners including sole proprietors, artists, historic site operators, museums, galleries, cultural attractions and arts centers.

Since 2014, the Cultural Coalition has served the following towns: Bozrah, Colchester, East Lyme, Franklin, Griswold, Groton, Lebanon, Ledyard, Lisbon, Lyme, Montville, New London, North Stonington, Norwich, Old Lyme, Preston, Salem, Sprague, Stonington, Voluntown and Waterford.

To learn more about the Cultural Coalition and its services, visit and to register to receive communications, click HERE.
What's Next
Over the next 12-18 months, as part of a strategic process, the Cultural Coalition will meet with artists, arts and cultural businesses, community organizations, municipal leaders and economic development agencies located in/or serving the towns in their region. Monthly public round tables will be hosted virtually to gather information, to hear from constituents and to provide information to respond to the needs of Northeastern Connecticut’s creative sector.