JULY 2018 STAFF READING SUGGESTIONS

MIDNIGHT BLUE
by Simone Van Der Vlugt

Interesting historical fiction that is new on the table! Set in the Netherlands in the 17th-century, this is Catrin's story of leaving her small village following the death of her husband as well as her journey as an artist. There is a secret from Catrin's past that continues to haunt her as she starts a new career painting the pottery that we know as Delft Blue. Filled with references to some of the masters in Dutch painting.
-Di Grumhaus
THE LAST TIME I LIED
by Riley Sager

If you love a good mystery, do not miss this thriller! Emma returns to her summer camp as a counselor 15 years after being a camper herself. The camp was closed that summer 15 years ago because of an unresolved tragedy that involved Emma. The camp owner feels it will be cathartic to all to reopen the camp and restore the camp's reputation. That proves to be very wrong as suspicious things begin to happen right from the start. It's like the original tragedy is happening all over again! Two truths and a lie, which is which? I could not put this down!
-Katha Plack
A DOUBLE LIFE
by Flynn Berry
(Releases July 31, 2018)


Fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn will love the new mystery by Flynn Berry. Claire, a practicing doctor in London is obsessed with finding out who murdered her nanny 30 years earlier. Suspecting her missing father, Claire goes to drastic lengths to discover the truth. Loosely based on a notorious unsolved murder in London in 1974, this psychological thriller will keep you guessing all the way until the very end.

-Lisa Dietrich
THE BANKER'S WIFE
by Cristina Alger

My husband couldn't put this financial thriller down. A private plane leaves London only to crash in the Alps, killing the international banker on board. His death leads to an investigation that will take you all over the world as his wife tries to understand what her husband was involved in. Brilliant!
-Di Grumhaus
THE BOOK OF ESSIE
By Meghan MacLean Weir

Seventeen-year-old Essie Hicks is the youngest daughter of an evangelical preacher. Nearly every move she makes is filmed for the TV reality show featuring her family. When she becomes pregnant, the producers, aided by her conniving mother, spin the story by planning a wedding -- to be aired on TV, naturally. It's all rather unbelievable, until you remember the Duggar family ("19 Kids and Counting") and their fall from grace -- and you'll keep turning the pages. The Book of Essie, Weir's debut novel, is an adult novel, but it reads like YA and is perfect for teenagers.
-Ann Walters
FROM THE CORNER OF THE OVAL
by Beck Dorey-Stein

I couldn't put this memoir down! After answering a posting on Craigslist, Beck ends up in the unexpected position as a stenographer for the Obama White House. Her new job is a non-stop adventure following the President (POTUS) across the country and around the world. As part of this well seasoned team, Beck struggles to find her place, forge friendships, find love and ultimately find herself. Don't miss this behind-the-scenes look into the world of the White House staffers.
-Maxwell Gregory
GOODBYE, VITAMIN
By Rachel Khong

This is a fast, smart read. Ruth's fiancé had just dumped her as she heads home for the holidays. Her father (a history professor) is suffering from Alzheimer's and Ruth's mom asks her to stay home to help for one year. Khong has written in a diary-style narrating the story from Ruth's point of view.  The result is a funny and tender examination of love, loss and memory.
-Laura Skinner

THE COLOR OF BEE LARKHAM'S MURDER
by Sarah J. Harris

In this unique mystery a young autistic boy, who sees color when he hears sound, believes he murdered his neighbor and that his father helped conceal the crime. Jasper's world is full of anonymous faces that are only recognizable to him by voice, choice of clothing and hair color. The author produces a rich tapestry of secondary characters and plot lines involving sexual predatory behavior, social ostracism and bullying but it is her portrayal of Jasper that is the most distinctive and compelling. An excellent read.
-Kathy Petray
LITTLE BIG LOVE
by Katy Regan

If you are a fan of Nick Hornby's About A Boy, this is for you! A heartwarming story of family, friendship, long-buried secrets and ultimately hope. Eleven-year-old Zac, goes on a mission to find his father, who "did a runner" when he was born and reunite his family.
-Maxwell Gregory

THE LOST QUEEN OF CROCKER COUNTY
By Elizabeth Leiknes

Jane Willow flees her home of True City, Iowa to become a film critic in LA. When she returns to Crocker County for a family tragedy, she revisits more than her Iowa roots.  Revealing look at second chances and an homage to Iowa and Midwestern values! Solid summer read with a few unexpected twists.
-Diana Wettermann

A COURSE CALLED SCOTLAND 
By Tom Coyne

A Course Called Scotland by Tom Coyne hit shelves July 3rd, but on the heels of The Open it would be very timely for any golf lover. Coyne has written other books including the New York Times bestseller, A Course Called Ireland. The book is about his quest to play on every links course in Scotland; the adventures he had there and the people he met are all a part of his pilgrimage as well.
-Molly Forlow

 AVAILABLE IN PAPERBACK 
BONFIRE
by Krysten Ritter


CATTLE KINGDOM: THE HIDDEN HISTORY OF THE COWBOY WEST
by Christopher Knowlton
MY GLORY WAS I HAD SUCH FRIENDS
by Amy Silverstein


THE ROOSTER BAR
by John Grisham

THE STORY OF ARTHUR TRULUV
by Elizabeth Berg
STAY WITH ME
by Ayòbámi Adébáyò

WHAT MADE MADDY RUN
by Kate Fagan
YOUNG ADULT & MIDDLE SCHOOL SELECTIONS
MIDDLE SCHOOL:

THE JAMIE DRAKE EQUATION
by Christopher Edge

Jamie lives with his little sister, Mom, Dad and crazy Grandad who loves rock and roll. Jamie's Dad is an astronaut, about to go on a mission to determine if aliens can be reached on a distant star. While Dad is away, Jamie needs to get away from it all, and explores an abandoned observatory. He meets its eccentric resident astronomer, and accidentally downloads an alien universe to his phone! No one believes Jamie, but when his mind is filled with facts and figures unfamiliar to anyone but astro-physicists, we know he's on a path to help his father who was caught in a solar storm. Engaging, quick moving, clever read. I really enjoyed it!
-Beth Mynhier
YOUNG ADULT:

FATAL THRONE: THE WIVES OF HENRY VIII TELL ALL
by Candace Fleming

This is fantastic historical fiction written by a collection of award winning Young Adult authors; it works for teens as well as anyone interested in "hearing" from Henry the VIII's wives. Told in chronological order, beginning with Catherine of Aragon, each wife has her own distinct voice and Henry also chimes in following each of the wives' accounting of her life with him. Such a brilliant idea, I loved it.
-Di Grumhaus
I AM STILL ALIVE
By Kate Alice Marshall
(Releases July 24th, 2018)

This new survival story is written from the perspective of a 16-year-old girl marooned in Alaska. Great story for fans of Hatchett.
-Maxwell Gregory


Lake Forest Book Store
662 N. Western Avenue
Lake Forest IL 60045 
847-234-4420

STAY CONNECTED: