Louisiana Governor John Bel Edwards recently reappointed David Duplantier and John L. McLure to the State Civil Service Commission.
Duplantier, a retired Mandeville attorney, was nominated by Tania Tetlow, President of Loyola University, and will represent the 1st Congressional District. McLure, a retired attorney from Woodworth, was nominated by Dr. Rick Brewer, President of Louisiana College, and will represent the 5th Congressional District. Both men will be serving their fourth term on the Commission.
At the Civil Service Commission meeting held January 9, Duplantier was re re-elected as chairman.
The State Civil Service Commission is a seven-member body that has final authority over the administration of the State Civil Service system. The Commission serves as an impartial review board that enacts and adjudicates State Civil Service Rules to regulate state personnel activities, and hears appeals from state employees and agencies. Commission meetings and hearings are held monthly and are open to the public.
Six of the Commission members are appointed by the governor; the seventh is an employee representative elected by fellow state employees. Each member serves a six-year term. When choosing an appointed member, the Governor must select from a list of three people nominated by the president of one of the state's major private universities.
Other members of the Commission include Ronald M. Carrere Jr. (Xavier University); G. Lee Griffin (Tulane University); D. Scott Hughes (Centenary College); Jo Ann Nixon (Dillard University); and Curtis "Pete" Fremin (employee representative).