Indiana Association of  
Soil and Water Conservation Districts

News from the IASWCD

For release: Wednesday, August 31, 2016
State Conservation Awards presented to Indiana Farmers at State Fair Ceremony 

Indianapolis (August 31, 2016) In a ceremony that coincided with Farmers' Day at the 2016 Indiana State Fair, 54 Indiana farmers received the River-Friendly Farmer Award. These exceptional farmers were recognized by the Indiana Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts (IASWCD) for their commitment to protecting Indiana's natural resources, specifically Indiana's waterways. 
Farmers representing 44 counties from around the state were honored at the ceremony on August 17.

Indiana State Department of Agriculture Director, Ted McKinney, and President of Indiana Farm Bureau, Randy Kron, along with State Conservationist, Jane Hardisty, and IASWCD President, Mike Starkey, and Meghan Grebner from Brownfield Ag News presented the awards to the winning farmers.

Since 1999, key conservation and agricultural organizations have sponsored the River-Friendly Farmer Program. This years' River-Friendly Farmers were selected for this award by their local Soil and Water Conservation District based upon their management practices which help keep rivers, lakes and streams clean in Indiana and beyond. The award is sponsored by the IASWCD, the 92 local Soil and Water Conservation Districts, and Indiana Farm Bureau, Inc.
A full list of the winning farmers and their individual counties can be viewed at:
River Friendly Farmer logo            
River-Friendly Farmer award recipients George and Norma  Schneider live on their 300 acre farm in southern  Wabash County.  A conservation mindset was instilled in them from a young age by their parents. Now, by maintaining conservation practices such as grassed waterways, filter strips and planting trees, they have created wildlife habitat and saved soil from leaving their farm, keeping it out of the local streams. When asked why conservation practices are important to their operation, George simply stated, "For better crops, to save the soil, for the environment and to improve air and water quality." 

ISDA Director, Ted McKinney, (front row/far R) joined the 54 recipients who were able to attend the ceremony at the Indiana State Fairgrounds, for the 2016 River Friendly Farmer awards. NRCS State Conservationist Jane Hardisty, (front row second from the right), and Indiana Farm Bureau President Randy Kron, (front row third, from the right) were also on hand to congratulate farmers for their outstanding conservation farming practices.
The River Friendly Farmer Award is sponsored by:
#   #   #
225 S. East St., Suite 740, Indianapolis, IN  46202 / 317.692.7325 / / Facebook