Darryl Nordquist, President/CEO ( dnordquist@sosd.org ) ● Melanie Frosch, Vice President - Sports and Competition ( mfrosch@sosd.org
Johna Thum, Vice President - Field Services ( jthum@sosd.org ) ● Chad VanderPoel, Assistant Sports Director ( cvanderpoel@sosd.org )  
John McHale, Sports Assistant ( jmchale@sosd.org ) ) ● Amy Crawford, LETR Event Manager ( acrawford@sosd.org )
Jill Kvanli, LETR Event Manager ( jkvanli@sosd.org ) ● Twila Hansen, Office Manager ( thansen@sosd.org )
Julie Briggs, Vice President - Outreach ( jbriggs@sosd.org ) ● Nick Mills, Administrative Assistant ( nmills@sosd.org )
Cathy Grubb, Black Hills Area Director ( cgrubb@sosd.org ) ● Haley Zerr, UCS/Sports and Competition ( hzerr@sosd.org )


Stay Healthy @ Home

May 27, 2020
New information will be at the top and/or have blue buttons
1 Minute With Dr. J
Dr. J here,

I hope your sleep schedule was better this past week. Today, let’s talk about adding to your sleep routine. Routine is important for sleep but also for eating and personal hygiene. It is especially important to set a schedule these days as many people do not have a regular work or school routine at this time. Try this: 
 
Self-care and hygiene: Schedule a time to get ready and care for yourself every day. Try to shower and get dressed every day, no matter what you have planned. Brush your teeth at least twice daily. 

Meals: Schedule meal time every day. The body often does better with regular food intake at scheduled times, especially when stress or worries are elevated. 
Time for fun and exercise: Try to set a schedule for the week for activities and exercise. 
 
Hope you find some more routine this week!

 
Until next time,
Dr. J.
 


Dr. Jordan L. Nordquist
Board Certified General Psychiatrist
Board Certified Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist
Athletes, You Have Some VERY Famous Fans!
WWE's Big Show is a Special Olympics Global Ambassador. Click for his message!
Andy Reid is the Head Coach of the reigning Super Bowl Champion Kansas City Chiefs.
Click for his message!

Going to the Doctor will probably look a little different these days. No need to worry! This video will help you prepare for some changes.
Athletes where asked, "Where would you like to visit most when it is safe to do so"? Here are a few of your answers:

Derek Smith: Oklahoma City 
Shelly Himrich: Camping
Becca Wagner: Alaska
Chris Hilla: Minnesota
The days are getting longer and warmer! This is the perfect time for athletes to practice your softball skills. Coach Mike will walk you through some drills you can practice at home.

Let's play ball!
If you would like to be featured in this column, simply post your health or fitness practice on our ATHLETE CONNECTION facebook page





For the past month we have dedicated 5 minutes every day to practicing coping techniques to help us through these difficult times.

Now that this challenge has been completed, we encourage you to continue practicing your mindfulness by joining our free online stress managment group.
STAY CONNECTED
A Puzzling Situation
What has been put together and taken apart 9 times? That's correct, our well traveled quarantine puzzles. Let's go for 20!

Want in on the fun? Click below and reserve your chance to participate.
You Could Be Next
There was a time when the thing to do
was collect baseball cards. Now we
are collecting ATHLETE CARDS!
Click to complete the form. You just
might see yourself right here or on
our facebook page!
Join us on this special Facebook page created to keep you connected with your SOSD staff and friends. We are 241 members strong! Athletes from all over the state are posting photos and videos of their fitness efforts, healthy eating and much more. Come on... let's stay connected!

Look for these weekly events:

1. Fitness With Coach Mike - Join Mike for at home fitness sessions.
Tues and Thurs 9:00 am CT (recorded for later viewing)

2 .Chat With Chad - Live Zoom chats with everyone who joins!
Wed 10:30 am CT Click to email Chad for your invitation to participate
WELLNESS
Stay updated and informed with these simple how to stay healthy stratagies.
Don't miss out on
valuable information!

Click button for all previously
hi-lited and published resources.
FITNESS
Class is now in session! This easy-to-use toolkit features cardio, balance and endurance workout videos.
This fitness tracker is SOSD's very own. There are many options out there... just choose one you like best!
Fit 5 gives you tools to introduce 3 simple health practices into your dailyl life:
1.Get some exercis
2.Drink a lot of water
3 Eat healthy foods
EMOTIONAL HEALTH
Not only should we be mindful of our physical health, we need to tend to our emotional health as well.
Don't miss out on
valuable information!

Click button for all previously hi-lited
and published resources.

Visit our online calendar for event updates!

Special Olympics South Dakota | www.sosd.org