Darryl Nordquist, President/CEO ( dnordquist@sosd.org ) ● Melanie Frosch, Vice President - Sports and Competition ( mfrosch@sosd.org
Johna Thum, Vice President - Field Services ( jthum@sosd.org ) ● Chad VanderPoel, Assistant Sports Director ( cvanderpoel@sosd.org )  
John McHale, Sports Assistant ( jmchale@sosd.org ) ) ● Amy Crawford, LETR Event Manager ( acrawford@sosd.org )
Jill Kvanli, LETR Event Manager ( jkvanli@sosd.org ) ● Twila Hansen, Office Manager ( thansen@sosd.org )
Julie Briggs, Vice President - Outreach ( jbriggs@sosd.org ) ● Nick Mills, Administrative Assistant ( nmills@sosd.org )
Cathy Grubb, Black Hills Area Director ( cgrubb@sosd.org ) ● Haley Zerr, UCS/Sports and Competition ( hzerr@sosd.org )


Stay Healthy @ Home

July 08, 2020
New information will be at the top and/or have blue buttons
We are proud to announce our SOSD 2020 Award Winners!

Spirit of a Champion: Correna Templar (Rapid City Storm)
Don Baker Award: Dawn Ruhlman (Brookings)
Outstanding Coach (Ron Stewart Award): Peggy Heermann (Aberdeen)
Volunteer of the Year (Lyle Farrand Award): Michael Fletcher (Sioux Falls)
Unity Award: Kaylee Namken (Vermillion)
Family of the Year: Laura Fossen Family (Spearfish)
Champion Award (DJ Mertens Award): AGROPUR (Lake Norden)
1 Minute With Dr. J

Dr. J here,
I hope you had a good 4th of July weekend! Today we are going to talk about ways to help keep germs away or spreading germs. Washing hands and cleaning often can help a lot. Here are some thoughts about what you and your family can do:

Clean hands often  using soap and water or alcohol-based hand sanitizer. Parents and caretakers play an important role in teaching children to wash their hands. Explain that hand washing can keep them healthy and stop the virus from spreading to others. Be a good role model—if you wash your hands often, people around you are likely to do the same. 

Clean high-touch surfaces daily  in household common areas (like tables, hard-backed chairs, doorknobs, light switches, remotes, handles, desks, toilets, and sinks).
 
Just some simple tips to help keep yourself and others healthy. 
 
Until next time,
Dr. J
 
Adapted from CDC.gov
 
Dr. Jordan L. Nordquist
Board Certified General Psychiatrist
Board Certified Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist
A SPECIAL TREAT FOR YOU
July 10, 2020 would have been the 99th birthday of this trail blazing visionary.

Assemble the puzzle to find out who.

Be sure to click on the Profile button to learn more!
- - - - - - - - - CLICK FOR THIS VALUABLE INFORMATION - - - - - - - - -
STAY CONNECTED
Join us on this special Facebook page created to keep you connected with your SOSD staff and friends.

We are 274 members strong! Athletes from all over the state are posting photos and videos of their fitness efforts, healthy eating and much more. Come on... let's stay connected!
Fitness With Coach Mike

Please join Coach Mike on a new day for his Facebook Live fitness classes!

When: Wednesdays
Time: 9:00 am CT (recorded for later viewing)

Other: There is an extensive library of previous fitness classes stored on our Athlete Connection page. Coach Mike suggests you re-visit one of these classes each week.

Sioux Falls Athletes

You are invited to join Coach Mike in a weekly walking club!

When: Sundays
Time: 7:00 pm CT
Location: Meet at the Falls Park Cafe. Wear your mask and enjoy a 30 - 45 minute stroll around Falls Park!

Chat With Chad

Live Zoom chats with everyone who joins!

Wednesdays 10:30 am CT Click to email Chad for your invitation to participate
WELLNESS
Stay updated and informed with these simple how to stay healthy stratagies.
Don't miss out on
valuable information!

Click button for all previously
hi-lited and published resources.

Going to the Doctor will probably look a little different these days. No need to worry! This video will help you prepare for some changes.
FITNESS
Class is now in session! This easy-to-use toolkit features cardio, balance and endurance workout videos.
This fitness tracker is SOSD's very own. There are many options out there... just choose one you like best!
Fit 5 gives you tools to introduce 3 simple health practices into your dailyl life:
1.Get some exercis
2.Drink a lot of water
3 Eat healthy foods
The days are getting longer and warmer! This is the perfect time for athletes to practice your softball skills. Coach Mike will walk you through some drills you can practice at home.

Let's play ball!

ATTENTION POWERLIFTERS!

Check out these Dead Lift, Squat and Bench Press exercises designed specifically for you to complete at home!

We would like to thank Personal Trainer Bandon Gray for putting together this awesome resource!
EMOTIONAL HEALTH
Not only should we be mindful of our physical health, we need to tend to our emotional health as well.

Don't miss out on valuable information!

Click button for all previously hi-lited and published resources.
Practice your mindfulness by joining our free online stress management group.
During times of added stress, it is important for parents and caregivers to take care of themselves physically and mentally. This short video offers great advice on the subjects of modeling good behavior and taking care or yourself.

Visit our online calendar for event updates!

Special Olympics South Dakota | www.sosd.org