Darryl Nordquist, President/CEO ( dnordquist@sosd.org ) ● Melanie Frosch, Vice President - Sports and Competition ( mfrosch@sosd.org
Johna Thum, Vice President - Field Services ( jthum@sosd.org ) ● Chad VanderPoel, Assistant Sports Director ( cvanderpoel@sosd.org )  
John McHale, Sports Assistant ( jmchale@sosd.org ) ) ● Amy Crawford, LETR Event Manager ( acrawford@sosd.org )
Jill Kvanli, LETR Event Manager ( jkvanli@sosd.org ) ● Twila Hansen, Office Manager ( thansen@sosd.org )
Julie Briggs, Vice President - Outreach ( jbriggs@sosd.org ) ● Nick Mills, Administrative Assistant ( nmills@sosd.org )
Cathy Grubb, Black Hills Area Director ( cgrubb@sosd.org ) ● Haley Zerr, UCS/Sports and Competition ( hzerr@sosd.org )


Stay Healthy @ Home

June 17, 2020
New information will be at the top and/or have blue buttons
SOI COVID-19 Athlete Survey... One More Chance!
Athletes, you have until end of day on June 19th to complete this survey!

Special Olympics, Inc is asking athletes all over the world to complete a survey so they can better understand your concerns and experiences with COVID-19.

It will only take a couple of minutes to complete. If needed, family/caregiver/mentor certainly can assist.

Use your voice... we are listening!
1 Minute With Dr. J
Dr. J here again,
This week let’s talk about taking a break. Everyone gets overwhelmed, frustrated, upset, and mad sometimes. If you start to feel this way, learn how to take a break. Let the people around you know you need some space and try something like this:
 
Find a Quiet Place - Have a place where you can go to have some quiet time. This might be your room or a different place in your home. 
 
Set a Timer - It can be 2 minutes or 10 minutes or longer.
 
Play Some Calming Sounds - If you do not like the quiet, turn on some calm music or nature sounds. 
 
Think About Something Else - Look at a picture from your favorite vacation. Or close your eyes and think about your favorite calm place to visit. Think about something or some place that makes you happy.
 
After you try this, check to see if you feel better. I hope you can find some quiet time this week. 
 
Until next time, 
Dr. J

Dr. Jordan L. Nordquist
Board Certified General Psychiatrist
Board Certified Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist
JOIN US AND GET IN ON THE CONVERSATION
During our Chat With Chad zoom call this week, athletes were asked to identify one thing they would like to change about SOSD. As usual, responses were thoughtful and valuable! Here are just a few:
1. Officials need more training and a better understanding of rules
2. Add golf
3. Better sportsmanship
4. The skill level between athletes and Unified partners needs to
narrow.
What are you thinking? join us on Wednesdays at 10:30 am CST
This is Polly the Polar Bear. Yes, Polly does have her protective mask on. We are serious about our safety protocol around here.
The best season is FINALLY here. Get your popcorn, watch the video and celebrate with us... enjoy!
Take Care of Yourself
At all times, but especially during times of added stress, it is important for parents and caregivers to take care of themselves physically and mentally. As you care for your children with intellectual disabilities, remember to care for yourself as well.
 
This short video offers great advice on the subjects of modeling good behavior and taking care or yourself.
 
From Center for Parent and Teen Communication
STAY CONNECTED
Join us on this special Facebook page created to keep you connected with your SOSD staff and friends. We are 241 members strong! Athletes from all over the state are posting photos and videos of their fitness efforts, healthy eating and much more. Come on... let's stay connected!

Look for these weekly events:

1. Fitness With Coach Mike - Join Mike for at home fitness sessions.
Tues and Thurs 9:00 am CT (recorded for later viewing)

2 .Chat With Chad - Live Zoom chats with everyone who joins!
Wed 10:30 am CT Click to email Chad for your invitation to participate
WELLNESS
Stay updated and informed with these simple how to stay healthy stratagies.
Don't miss out on
valuable information!

Click button for all previously
hi-lited and published resources.

Going to the Doctor will probably look a little different these days. No need to worry! This video will help you prepare for some changes.
FITNESS
Class is now in session! This easy-to-use toolkit features cardio, balance and endurance workout videos.
This fitness tracker is SOSD's very own. There are many options out there... just choose one you like best!
Fit 5 gives you tools to introduce 3 simple health practices into your dailyl life:
1.Get some exercis
2.Drink a lot of water
3 Eat healthy foods
The days are getting longer and warmer! This is the perfect time for athletes to practice your softball skills. Coach Mike will walk you through some drills you can practice at home.

Let's play ball!

ATTENTION POWERLIFTERS!

Check out these Dead Lift, Squat and Bench Press exercises designed specifically for you to complete at home!

We would like to thank Personal Trainer Bandon Gray for putting together this awesome resource!
EMOTIONAL HEALTH
Not only should we be mindful of our physical health, we need to tend to our emotional health as well.

Don't miss out on valuable information!

Click button for all previously hi-lited and published resources.
Practice your mindfulness by joining our free online stress management group.

Visit our online calendar for event updates!

Special Olympics South Dakota | www.sosd.org