Darryl Nordquist, President/CEO ( dnordquist@sosd.org ) ● Melanie Frosch, Vice President - Sports and Competition ( mfrosch@sosd.org
Johna Thum, Vice President - Field Services ( jthum@sosd.org ) ● Chad VanderPoel, Assistant Sports Director ( cvanderpoel@sosd.org )  
John McHale, Sports Assistant ( jmchale@sosd.org ) ) ● Amy Crawford, LETR Event Manager ( acrawford@sosd.org )
Jill Kvanli, LETR Event Manager ( jkvanli@sosd.org ) ● Twila Hansen, Office Manager ( thansen@sosd.org )
Julie Briggs, Vice President - Outreach ( jbriggs@sosd.org ) ● Nick Mills, Administrative Assistant ( nmills@sosd.org )
Cathy Grubb, Black Hills Area Director ( cgrubb@sosd.org ) ● Haley Zerr, UCS/Sports and Competition ( hzerr@sosd.org )


Stay Healthy @ Home

June 24, 2020
New information will be at the top and/or have blue buttons
Fitness With Coach Mike

Please join Coach Mike on a new day for his Facebook Live fitness classes!

When: Wednesdays
Time: 9:00 am CT (recorded for later viewing)
Other: There is an extensive library of previous fitness classes stored on our Athlete Connection page. Coach Mike suggests you re-visit one of these classes each week.



Attention Sioux Falls Athletes

You are invited to join Coach Mike in a weekly walking club!

When: Sundays beginning June 28th
Time: 7:00 pm CT
Location: Meet at the Falls Park Cafe. Wear your mask and enjoy a 30 - 45 minute stroll around Falls Park!
1 Minute With Dr. J
Dr. J here,
Thinking about positive things can really change the way you feel. Athletes especially need to think about good things during competition. You should try to think you are going to make the next basket in basketball or bowl the next strike in bowling or win the next race or competition. The next time you are thinking about bad things, in life or in competition, try these easy steps to change your thoughts:

1.   THINK - What are you thinking about? Is it a good thought or a bad thought?

2.   CHANGE THE BAD THOUGHTS - If you are having bad thoughts, change them to something positive or good. If you are having good thoughts, keep thinking about those good ideas.

RETHINK - Keep thinking about the good thoughts… think about yourself making the basketball in the hoop, think about knocking all the bowling pins down, think about running your fastest on the track, think about doing something good. This should change your bad thoughts to good thoughts. 
 
Try this at your next practice or competition! Also, try this during the day. If you are feeling bad or sad or mad, try these three easy steps to change any bad thoughts. Good thoughts will often bring good feelings. I hope it is a positive week for you!
 
Until next time, 
Dr. J

Dr. Jordan L. Nordquist
Board Certified General Psychiatrist
Board Certified Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist
JOIN US ON ATHLETE CONNECTION!
Athletes you have spoken and the results are far from surprising!
What is your favorite part of a Special Olympics event?

Seeing friends - 36
Playing the sport - 10
The dance - 2
Receiving a medal/ribbon - 0
The meals - 0
JUST FOR FUN
Put on your leisure suit and enjoy
this COVID-19 parody song.
ANOTHER BIG FAN
STAY CONNECTED
Join us on this special Facebook page created to keep you connected with your SOSD staff and friends. We are 266 members strong! Athletes from all over the state are posting photos and videos of their fitness efforts, healthy eating and much more. Come on... let's stay connected!


Look for these weekly events:

Fitness with Coach Mike - Facebook Live fitness sessions.
Wednesday 9:00 am CT (recorded for later viewing)

Chat With Chad - Live Zoom chats with everyone who joins!
Wednesdays 10:30 am CT Click to email Chad for your invitation to participate
WELLNESS
Stay updated and informed with these simple how to stay healthy stratagies.
Don't miss out on
valuable information!

Click button for all previously
hi-lited and published resources.

Going to the Doctor will probably look a little different these days. No need to worry! This video will help you prepare for some changes.
FITNESS
Class is now in session! This easy-to-use toolkit features cardio, balance and endurance workout videos.
This fitness tracker is SOSD's very own. There are many options out there... just choose one you like best!
Fit 5 gives you tools to introduce 3 simple health practices into your dailyl life:
1.Get some exercis
2.Drink a lot of water
3 Eat healthy foods
The days are getting longer and warmer! This is the perfect time for athletes to practice your softball skills. Coach Mike will walk you through some drills you can practice at home.

Let's play ball!

ATTENTION POWERLIFTERS!

Check out these Dead Lift, Squat and Bench Press exercises designed specifically for you to complete at home!

We would like to thank Personal Trainer Bandon Gray for putting together this awesome resource!
EMOTIONAL HEALTH
Not only should we be mindful of our physical health, we need to tend to our emotional health as well.

Don't miss out on valuable information!

Click button for all previously hi-lited and published resources.
Practice your mindfulness by joining our free online stress management group.
During times of added stress, it is important for parents and caregivers to take care of themselves physically and mentally. This short video offers great advice on the subjects of modeling good behavior and taking care or yourself.

Visit our online calendar for event updates!

Special Olympics South Dakota | www.sosd.org