Darryl Nordquist, President/CEO ( dnordquist@sosd.org ) ● Melanie Frosch, Vice President - Sports and Competition ( mfrosch@sosd.org
Johna Thum, Vice President - Field Services ( jthum@sosd.org ) ● Chad VanderPoel, Assistant Sports Director ( cvanderpoel@sosd.org )  
John McHale, Sports Assistant ( jmchale@sosd.org ) ) ● Amy Crawford, LETR Event Manager ( acrawford@sosd.org )
Jill Kvanli, LETR Event Manager ( jkvanli@sosd.org ) ● Twila Hansen, Office Manager ( thansen@sosd.org )
Julie Briggs, Vice President - Outreach ( jbriggs@sosd.org ) ● Nick Mills, Administrative Assistant ( nmills@sosd.org )
Cathy Grubb, Black Hills Area Director ( cgrubb@sosd.org ) ● Haley Zerr, UCS/Sports and Competition ( hzerr@sosd.org )


Stay Healthy @ Home

May 06, 2020
New information will be at the top and/or have blue buttons
1 Minute With Dr. J
Dr. J here again. If you have been feeling anxious or worried, deep breathing can really help. Here is an easy way to practice this activity.

Deep Breathing
Before you begin, think about your stress level. How worried do you feel?

Find a comfortable, quiet place. You can lie on your back or sit down.

Breathe in a full breathe and breathe out. Try to focus on your tummy rising with each breathe.

As you breathe in, feel your tummy rise. As you breathe out, feel your tummy lower. Try doing 10 breaths. 

Now think about your stress or worry. Has your worry changed?

If you find this helpful, try it again. Maybe schedule this activity three times a day to help with stress. Doing this before bedtime can really help with sleep.

I hope you find some time to pause and breathe this week!

Until next time, 

 Dr. J


Dr. Jordan L. Nordquist
Board Certified General Psychiatrist
Board Certified Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist
Athlete Power!
Here are just a few things our amazing SOSD athletes are doing to stay happy and healthy.
Whitney Rauscher (Hub City Express) walks Peaches and rides her bike around Aberdeen almost daily.
Natalia McCauley (Sturgis-BHSSC) reports not only has she been catching monster fish, she has also been making healthy food choices. Keep up the good work!
If you would like to be featured in this column, simply post your health or fitness practice on our ATHLETE CONNECTION facebook page
We have spirit, yes we do, we have spirt how 'bout you?
Spirit week has been fun, interesting....and a little WILD! Two days to go. Throwbak Thursday and SOSD Gear Friday

Get in on the fun by dressing up and posting on ATHLETE CONNECTION.
Medal Monday: Spencer Collins (Sioux Falls Fireworks) with some of his many medals.
Team Tuesday: Chris Lather (NESC) showing off thier new team jackets
Wild Wednesday: Enough said
The Challenge Is On... Week 3
For the next 30 days, we challenge you to join us in keeping a strong mind through these difficult times! Sign up & keep track of your progress as you dedicate 5 minutes every day for 4 weeks to #Take5ForAStrongMind

Week 1 Challenge Recap: You were challenged to use a stress ball to help break the tension in your muscles and help you relax. If you don’t have one, try using a small stuffed animal or just practicing the movement with your hand.

Week 2 Challenge: Using words of encouragement and positive affirmations can help you bring out the light in your life. Start every day by writing down a positive statement and placing it somewhere where you will see all day.

Week 3 Challenge: Breathing in deeply helps send a calming message to your brain. This week, if you are feeling stressed or anxious, try taking big, deep breaths.

 Stay tuned for the rest of your challenges!
SOI, Inc. invites you to register and
record your progress
STAY CONNECTED
A Puzzling Situation
Haley and Hannah just completed the "Game We Played" puzzle. Rumor has it this one will be headed to Sturgis for another go-around.

Want in on the fun? Click below and reserve your chance to participate.
You Could Be Next
There was time when the thing to do
was collect baseball cards. Now we
are collecting ATHLETE CARDS!
Click to complete the form. You just
might see yourself right here or on
our facebook page!
Join us on this special Facebook page created to keep you connected with your SOSD staff and friends. We are 229 members strong! Athletes from all over the state are posting photos and videos of their fitness efforts, healthy eating and much more. Come on... let's stay connected!

Look for these weekly events:

1. Fitness With Coach Mike - Join Mike for at home fitness sessions.
Tues and Thurs 9:00 am CT (recorded for later viewing)

2 .Chat With Chad - Live Zoom chats with everyone who joins!
Wed 10:30 am CT Click to email Chad for your invitation to participate
WELLNESS
Stay updated and informed with these simple how to stay healthy stratagies.
Don't miss out on
valuable information!

Click button for all previously
hi-lited and published resources.
FITNESS
Class is now in session! This easy-to-use toolkit features cardio, balance and endurance workout videos.
This fitness tracker is SOSD's very own. There are many options out there... just choose one you like best!
Fit 5 gives you tools to introduce 3 simple health practices into your dailyl life:
1.Get some exercis
2.Drink a lot of water
3 Eat healthy foods
EMOTIONAL HEALTH
Not only should we be mindful of our physical health, we need to tend to our emotional health as well.
Don't miss out on
valuable information!

Click button for all previously hi-lited
and published resources.

Visit our online calendar for event updates!

Special Olympics South Dakota | www.sosd.org