Darryl Nordquist, President/CEO ( dnordquist@sosd.org ) ● Melanie Frosch, Vice President - Sports and Competition ( mfrosch@sosd.org
Johna Thum, Vice President - Field Services ( jthum@sosd.org ) ● Chad VanderPoel, Assistant Sports Director ( cvanderpoel@sosd.org )  
John McHale, Sports Assistant ( jmchale@sosd.org ) ) ● Amy Crawford, LETR Event Manager ( acrawford@sosd.org )
Jill Kvanli, LETR Event Manager ( jkvanli@sosd.org ) ● Twila Hansen, Office Manager ( thansen@sosd.org )
Julie Briggs, Vice President - Outreach ( jbriggs@sosd.org ) ● Nick Mills, Administrative Assistant ( nmills@sosd.org )
Cathy Grubb, Black Hills Area Director ( cgrubb@sosd.org ) ● Haley Zerr, UCS/Sports and Competition ( hzerr@sosd.org )


Stay Healthy @ Home

June 03, 2020
New information will be at the top and/or have blue buttons
1 Minute With Dr. J
Dr. J here,
This week we are going to discuss adding more fiber to your diet. Fiber is important for regular digestion and processing food. This can give your body a schedule when it comes to using the bathroom. There are other health benefits such as lowering cholesterol and helping to control blood sugar. Try this...

Increase Fiber With Food Choices: 
Slice up raw vegetables and fruits. Put them in baggies to make them easy to access and take on the go. Start your day with high fiber breakfast with oatmeal or high fiber cereal. Add some peas or beans to your salad.

When you are shopping for groceries, ask for high fiber foods and start adding them to your grocery list. Hope you find some ways to change your diet this week!
Until next time,
Dr. J

Dr. Jordan L. Nordquist
Board Certified General Psychiatrist
Board Certified Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist
Check out these messages from more famous fans!
You have a big fan in NFL star Robert Griffin III. Click for Robert's message.
NASCAR driver Erik Jones would like to
share a message with you.
Which new sport would you most like to see SOSD offer?

1.Golf (23 votes)
2.Flag Football (10 votes)
3.Badminton (6 votes)
4.Floor Hockey (4 votes)
5.Cycling (3 votes)
This is what the office of SOSD looks like these days. Check out Mel Frosch and Chad VanderPoel practicing physical distancing as they work on your next event.

I have never seen those two look more happy!
If you would like to be featured in this column, simply post your health or
fitness practice on our ATHLETE CONNECTION facebook page
ATTENTION POWERLIFTERS!

Check out these Dead Lift, Squat and Bench Press exercises designed specifically for you to complete at home!

We would like to thank Personal Trainer Bandon Gray for putting together this awesome resource!





For the past month we have dedicated 5 minutes every day to practicing coping techniques to help us through these difficult times.

Now that this challenge has been completed, we encourage you to continue practicing your mindfulness by joining our free online stress managment group.
STAY CONNECTED
A Puzzling Situation
Ian Madsen had his shot at the "Flashbacks" puzzle. He said he loved reading all the messages left by the previous participants.

Want in on the fun? Click below and reserve your chance to participate.
You Could Be Next
There was a time when the thing to do
was collect baseball cards. Now we
are collecting ATHLETE CARDS!
Click to complete the form. You just
might see yourself right here or on
our facebook page!
Join us on this special Facebook page created to keep you connected with your SOSD staff and friends. We are 241 members strong! Athletes from all over the state are posting photos and videos of their fitness efforts, healthy eating and much more. Come on... let's stay connected!

Look for these weekly events:

1. Fitness With Coach Mike - Join Mike for at home fitness sessions.
Tues and Thurs 9:00 am CT (recorded for later viewing)

2 .Chat With Chad - Live Zoom chats with everyone who joins!
Wed 10:30 am CT Click to email Chad for your invitation to participate
WELLNESS
Stay updated and informed with these simple how to stay healthy stratagies.
Don't miss out on
valuable information!

Click button for all previously
hi-lited and published resources.

Going to the Doctor will probably look a little different these days. No need to worry! This video will help you prepare for some changes.
FITNESS
Class is now in session! This easy-to-use toolkit features cardio, balance and endurance workout videos.
This fitness tracker is SOSD's very own. There are many options out there... just choose one you like best!
Fit 5 gives you tools to introduce 3 simple health practices into your dailyl life:
1.Get some exercis
2.Drink a lot of water
3 Eat healthy foods
The days are getting longer and warmer! This is the perfect time for athletes to practice your softball skills. Coach Mike will walk you through some drills you can practice at home.

Let's play ball!

EMOTIONAL HEALTH
Not only should we be mindful of our physical health, we need to tend to our emotional health as well.
Don't miss out on
valuable information!

Click button for all previously hi-lited
and published resources.

Visit our online calendar for event updates!

Special Olympics South Dakota | www.sosd.org