Darryl Nordquist, President/CEO ( dnordquist@sosd.org ) ● Melanie Frosch, Vice President - Sports and Competition ( mfrosch@sosd.org
Johna Thum, Vice President - Field Services ( jthum@sosd.org ) ● Chad VanderPoel, Assistant Sports Director ( cvanderpoel@sosd.org )  
John McHale, Sports Assistant ( jmchale@sosd.org ) ) ● Amy Crawford, LETR Event Manager ( acrawford@sosd.org )
Jill Kvanli, LETR Event Manager ( jkvanli@sosd.org ) ● Twila Hansen, Office Manager ( thansen@sosd.org )
Julie Briggs, Vice President - Outreach ( jbriggs@sosd.org ) ● Nick Mills, Administrative Assistant ( nmills@sosd.org )
Cathy Grubb, Black Hills Area Director ( cgrubb@sosd.org ) ● Haley Zerr, UCS/Sports and Competition ( hzerr@sosd.org )


Stay Healthy @ Home

June 10, 2020
New information will be at the top and/or have blue buttons
SOI COVID-19 Athlete Survey
Special Olympics, Inc is asking athletes all over the world to complete a survey so they can better understand your concerns and experiences with COVID-19.

It will only take a couple of minutes to complete. If needed, family/caregiver/mentor certainly can assist.

Use your voice... we are listening!
1 Minute With Dr. J
Dr. J here again, 
Drinking water is very important on a daily basis. Athletes need even more water every day. This is because physical activity makes the body lose water through sweating and increased breathing. Also, the warmer weather makes it especially important to keep hydrated. Here are some general recommendations for increasing water intake: 

Schedule It - Try to drink one glass of water with each meal. 
Exercise and Sports - Be sure to drink water before, during, and after exercise, practices, and games. 
Carry Water With You - Find your favorite water bottle and carry it with you during the day. 

I hope you are staying safe and healthy! 
 
Until next time,
Dr. J

Dr. Jordan L. Nordquist
Board Certified General Psychiatrist
Board Certified Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist
Thanks For Your Time, Mayor TenHaken!

Sioux Falls Mayor Paul TenHaken joined our weekly Athlete Connection Zoom call today. The Mayor shared some very good advice with us. "During this time of COVID, it's super important to get out and be active... Your mental health is very dependent on your physical health and the more active your are, the better you feel."

Visit Athlete Connection to hear our entire conversation.





For the past month we have dedicated 5 minutes every day to practicing coping techniques to help us through these difficult times.

Now that this challenge has been completed, we encourage you to continue practicing your mindfulness by joining our free online stress managment group.
STAY CONNECTED
A Puzzling Situation



Connor Gilbertson (Watertown Area) LOVES doing puzzles! This is the second one he has completed!

Want in on the fun? Click below and reserve your chance to participate.

Join us on this special Facebook page created to keep you connected with your SOSD staff and friends. We are 241 members strong! Athletes from all over the state are posting photos and videos of their fitness efforts, healthy eating and much more. Come on... let's stay connected!

Look for these weekly events:

1. Fitness With Coach Mike - Join Mike for at home fitness sessions.
Tues and Thurs 9:00 am CT (recorded for later viewing)

2 .Chat With Chad - Live Zoom chats with everyone who joins!
Wed 10:30 am CT Click to email Chad for your invitation to participate
WELLNESS
Stay updated and informed with these simple how to stay healthy stratagies.
Don't miss out on
valuable information!

Click button for all previously
hi-lited and published resources.

Going to the Doctor will probably look a little different these days. No need to worry! This video will help you prepare for some changes.
FITNESS
Class is now in session! This easy-to-use toolkit features cardio, balance and endurance workout videos.
This fitness tracker is SOSD's very own. There are many options out there... just choose one you like best!
Fit 5 gives you tools to introduce 3 simple health practices into your dailyl life:
1.Get some exercis
2.Drink a lot of water
3 Eat healthy foods
The days are getting longer and warmer! This is the perfect time for athletes to practice your softball skills. Coach Mike will walk you through some drills you can practice at home.

Let's play ball!

ATTENTION POWERLIFTERS!

Check out these Dead Lift, Squat and Bench Press exercises designed specifically for you to complete at home!

We would like to thank Personal Trainer Bandon Gray for putting together this awesome resource!
EMOTIONAL HEALTH
Not only should we be mindful of our physical health, we need to tend to our emotional health as well.
Don't miss out on
valuable information!

Click button for all previously hi-lited
and published resources.

Visit our online calendar for event updates!

Special Olympics South Dakota | www.sosd.org