Welcome to The Bookies' Latest Update                            June 2020 Issue 2  
The Bookies Newsletter
4th of July Closure

We'll be fully closed the weekend of July 4th (Saturday) and July 5th (Sunday) but we'll be fully open online during that time! Make sure you pick up all your Independence Day books and items before then and see our big list RIGHT HERE.  


Fresh Ink
What's New In Our Store?
    
In this bravura follow-up to the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys sentenced to a hellish reform school in Jim Crow-era Florida.    
 
 
 
 
Here in Colorado, today is 'primary day', which means the 2020 Election is here! And so is this book, which tells young readers all about presidential campaigns and American politics--complete with stickers, activities, and a color-your-own Electoral Map poster! 
 
 
 
 Ryan T Higgins | Mo Willems         
From #1 New York Times best-selling author Ryan T. Higgins comes What About Worms!? Tiger is BIG. Tiger is BRAVE. And Tiger is NOT afraid of anything . . . except WORMS! Are Tiger's worm worries worse than worms?

 

This bestselling illustrated series is perfect for fans of Dog Man and Captain Underpants -The Bad Guys - sorry, Shadow Squad-G - have finally saved the world from butt-handed evil. And now it's time to celebrate! But when one member of the team makes a shocking discovery, the party might be over sooner than everyone thinks...
 
   
 
 You Matter  
They All Saw a Cat meets The Important Book in this sensitive and impactful picture book about seeing the world from different points of view by Caldecott and Coretta Scott King Honoree Christian Robinson.
 
 
 
 
This book was selected by our owner Sue as an important volume to add to the current discussions in this country. In a powerful collection of more than seventy uncensored poems and essays, more than fifty teenage boys from across the country explore their many-layered concerns: identity, love, envy, gratitude, sex, anger, competition, fear, hope. Here, unadorned and without the filter of adult sensibility, is the raw stuff of their lives, in their own words. Isn't it time to listen? 
 
The Game Board   
 
Escape the Room : Mystery At the Stargazer's Manor
Ages 10+

 
3+ Players

Looking for the perfect game to escape from the current world we live in, without leaving home? The newest ESCAPE THE ROOM mystery escape room game is just what you need. This one-time use game requires your whole group, and it's perfect for a wide age range, to work together to discover what happened to the missing astronomer or befall the same fate. Want to really up the ante? Use the included website links to find period music, ideas for costumes and more. You've got two hours...will you escape? 

CLICK HERE to find this game on our website (and if you like it, check out the first one in the series HERE).  

Can't Make it to the Store Today, But Want a Book? Try E-Books and Digital Audiobooks

We know you can't always make it to The Bookies and sometimes you just can't wait to read the book you want, but did you know we offer both e-books and digital audio books? You can support of store with purchases of e-books through HUMMINGBIRD by CLICKING HERE, or, if you want to hear the best new books, you can support us by buying digital audiobooks through LIBRO.FM by CLICKING HERE!   
 
Summer Fun in the Car, in the House and Everywhere

No matter what is happening, it's still summer and people are still looking for things to do, including those of us trapped in our cars for trips around this great state. Our staff has put together a list of all the summer items we have, including games and activities you can take on a trip, or play at home! Just CLICK HERE to see the full list and check back as we add more!  
VOTING ENDS JULY 12TH
HELP US WIN FOR SUE!

 
 
Do you agree with us that we're the best bookstore in Denver? Actually, that's not important. Even if you don't, we want to win Denver's A-List Best Bookstore! Won't you please vote for us?  We would love to give our owner/founder, Sue, a big win this wild year! To vote, CLICK HERE, and make sure you share with others!  
   

GAME REVIEW WITH BOOKIE KARLA   
 
 
We featured CHICKEN WAR in our last issue and our gaming expert, Bookie Karla, has since had a chance to play it and has a review!

The Fourth of July is quickly approaching and The Bookies has a brand new game for your holiday weekend!
After completing your newest puzzle and finishing off hot dogs, corn on the cob and apple pie it's time to break out this standout game.
In order to compete (and hopefully win) you have to be on your toes. Reasoning skills, memory, strategy and attention to detail are all required.  No winning by a lucky roll of the dice in this game.

A fun aspect is being able to win playing defense, as well as offense, and
ending the game with no warning. Order today and enliven your summer as it kicks into high gear!

CLICK HERE to find this game on our website.

Events
 
ALL EVENTS ARE CANCELLED/DELAYED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE. THIS INCLUDES TUESDAY STORYTIME.