Affairs Committee
Steve Ahlenius
Vice-Chair Govt. Affairs
Eddie Brown
John Darby
Tony Felker
Mary Frazior
Jim Johnson 
Jamee Jolly
Eddie McBride
Wayne Mitchell
Jason Mock
San Marcos
Tony Moline
Cedar Park
Mitch Thames
Bay City

ACTION ITEM: Does your chamber have a resolution, policy statement or other official statement opposing or supporting school vouchers/school choice?  If so, please email them to TCCE (Gabriella) at by Friday 2/17.  We will compile them ASAP and share with the group.  Thank you for your help.


Senate Passes SB4
The Senate gave preliminary approval to
SB 4 by Senator Charles Perry (R-Lubbock), which would prohibit "
sanctuary cities. "   With support by Republicans and Democrats in opposition, it passed to third reading by a vote of 20 to 11.  There were 39 amendments considered by the Senate during over six hours of debate. 
One amendment the Senate adopted establishes civil penalties for non-compliant jurisdictions and allows a county district attorney to review whether a Class A Misdemeanor should be filed on elected or appointed officials who intentionally or knowingly violate the law.
All proposed amendments that were not acceptable to Senator Perry were voted down along party lines.
Some amendments offered by Democrats that were rejected would have:
  • Exempted local mental health authorities;
  • Exempted local public health departments;
  • Broadened and clarified the exemption for witnesses and victims of crimes;
  • Exempted entities that have a court order prohibiting federal immigration enforcement; and
  • Removed the provision that allows peace officers to ask about immigration solely for the purpose of enforcing immigration law if providing "assistance to" federal law enforcement.
Governor Greg Abbott commented on Senate passage of SB 4, one of the governor's emergency legislative priorities, saying, "As Governor, I will not tolerate sanctuary city policies that put the citizens of Texas at risk. Elected officials do not get to pick and choose which laws they will obey. Today's action in the Senate helps ensure that Sheriffs and officials across Texas comply with federal immigration laws and honor Immigration and Custom Enforcement detainer requests that keep dangerous criminals off of our streets."  

House Committee Assignments
House Speaker Joe Straus announced assignments and said, "We want to utilize House members' strengths and allow them to work on issues that matter to their districts. Some very good members are taking on new challenges. I'm looking forward to their leadership. There is always a balance to strike between continuity and fresh thinking, and I think we have the right mix."
House Committees and Chairs 
(An * means the committee's chairman is new):

Agriculture and Livestock 
Tracy King (D-Batesville)

Appropriations  - 
John Zerwas* (R-Richmond)

Business and Industry
Rene Oliviera (D-Brownsville)

Todd Hunter (R-Corpus Christi)

James White* (R-Hillister)

County Affairs  
Garnet Coleman (D-Houston)

Criminal Jurisprudence   
Joe Moody* (D-El Paso)

Culture, Recreation and Tourism   
John Frullo* (R-Lubbock)

Defense and Veterans' Affairs   
Roberto Gutierrez* (D-San Antonio)

Economic and Small Business Development  
Angie Chen Button (R-Richardson)

Jodie Laubenburg (R-Wylie)

Energy Resources   
Drew Darby (R-San Angelo)

Environmental Regulation  
Joe Pickett* (D-El Paso)

General Investigating and Ethics  
Sarah Davis* (R-Houston)

Government Transparency and Operation
Gary Elkins (R-Houston)

Higher Education
J.M. Lozano* (R-Kingsville)

Homeland Security and Public Safety
Phil King* (R-Weatherford)

House Administration
Charlie Geren (R-Fort Worth)

Human Services
Richard Pena Raymond (D-Laredo)

Larry Phillips* (R-Sherman)

International Trade and Intergovernmental Affairs
Rafael Anchia (D-Dallas)

Investments and Financial Services   
Tan Parker (R-Flower Mound)

Judiciary and Civil Jurisprudence  
John Smithee (R-Amarillo)

Juvenile Justice and Family Issues  
Harold Dutton, Jr. (D-Houston)

Land and Resource Management  
Abel Herrero* (D-Robstown)

Licensing and Administrative Procedures  
John Kuempel* (R-Seguin)

Local and Consent Calendars  
Senfronia Thompson (D-Houston)

Natural Resource
Lyle Larson* (R-San Antonio)

Dan Flynn (R-Van)

Public Education  
Dan Huberty* (R-Humble)

Public Health  
Four Price* (R-Amarillo)

Cindy Burkett* (R-Sunnyvale)

Rules and Resolutions
 Eddie Lucio, III* (D-Brownsville)

Special Purpose Districts  
Jim Murphy* (R-Houston)

State Affairs
Byron Cook (R-Corsicana)

Geanie Morrison* (R-Victoria)

Urban Affairs
Carol Alvarado (D-Houston)

Ways and Means   
Dennis Bonnen (R-Angleton)

Select Committee on Emerging Issues in Texas Law Enforcement  
Drew Darby* (R-San Angelo)

Select Committee on State and Federal Power and Responsibility  
Joe Deshotel* (D-Beaumont) 

Have a great week!

See what's happening on our social sites