Education Commissioner Mike Morath announced that TEA will not issue accountability ratings after the U.S. Department of Education approved the state's waiver request. Instead, all districts and campuses will receive a label of Not Rated: Declared State of Disaster.

Education Secretary Betsy DeVos said this week that USDE has granted testing waivers to all 50 states and the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Bureau of Indian Education, allowing states to ignore the requirement in the Every Student Succeeds Act to annually test students. Texas previously canceled STAAR testing this spring, but the waiver ensures there will be no federal penalty for skipping those exams this year.