President Lyndon B. Johnson signed the Fair Housing Act into law on April 11, 1968. Every year, to commemorate its passage, the month of April is designated as Fair Housing Month.
The Fair Housing Act, formally known as Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968, protects Americans’ right to rent an apartment, buy a home, obtain a mortgage, and/or purchase homeowners insurance by making it illegal to discriminate based on the following categories.