Book Club Notes
January 2019
These events may be of particular interest to book clubs. Bring your group to meet an author you've read, or discover new books to add to your reading list.

Check out our Event Calendar for more information on upcoming events and follow us on Flowh to stay up-to-date!
Saturday, January 19, 2:00 pm, Colfax Avenue

Author Dan Scannell will discuss and sign  The Fall of a Sparrow  ($17.95 Black Rose Writing), a book about language, the beauty of its texture, the force of its eloquence, and the music of its cadences. Found in Paris, an old, long neglected book that purports to be the journal of one Henry Howard turns Michael Devon's world upside down.
Wednesday, January 23, 7:00 pm, Colfax Avenue

Kristen Roupenian will discuss and sign  You Know You Want This: "Cat Person" and Other Stories  ($24.99 Gallery/Scout Press). This is her highly anticipated debut, a compulsively readable collection of short stories that explore the complex--and often darkly funny--connections between gender, sex, and power across genres.
Thursday, January 24, 7:00 pm, Colfax Avenue

Stephanie Barron is the author of historical suspense novels  A Flaw in the Blood   and   The White Garden , as well as the critically acclaimed and nationally bestselling Jane Austen Mystery series. She will discuss and sign  That Churchil l Woman: A Novel  ($28.00 Ballantine Books), an   enthralling novel of the life and loves of Winston Churchill’s scandalous American mother, Jennie Jerome.
Friday, January 18, 7:00 pm, Colfax Avenue,   TICKETS

Wednesday, January 30, 7:00 pm, Historic LoDo

Thursday, January 31, 7:00 pm, Aspen Grove
Book Clubs!
Everyone is welcome to join us for the following book club meetings.  Click here for more details

LoDo Book Club
1/7:  Housekeeping

Travel Lovers' Book Club

Third Thursday Book Club
1/17:   The One Man

Aspen Grove Fiction Book Club
1/19:   Heads You Win

Aspen Grove Nonfiction Book Club

Mystery Book Club
2/21:  Last Rituals  
Saturday, February 2, 8:45 am - 5:00 pm, Hyatt Regency Denver at Colorado Convention Center

Tattered Cover is pleased to welcome Ausma Zehanat Khan Cynthia Swanson Tim Johnston , and  Melanie Benjamin  as we celebrate the 21st anniversary of our signature literary event!

Each ticket includes a literary-themed buffet breakfast with coffee and tea, a full day of author presentations, a discount on books at our on-site bookstore, and an afternoon reception & signing with sweet treats and a complimentary drink.

Staff Book Reviews
Book of the Month...
by Chigozie Obioma

"A gorgeously literary love story and an enchanting reimagining of  The Odyssey  both, set in modern-day Nigeria. For anyone who enjoys Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Jhumpa Lahiri, and/or rich, imaginative, semi-satirical fiction. Obioma's debut was shortlisted for the Man Booker in 2015, and this book, his sophomore effort, is a far cry from any 'slump!'" -- Lainie Formby, Adult Frontlist Buyer
On shelves now...
by Diane Setterfield

“Setterfield’s writing is delightful in this tale. The book starts with a mysterious stranger and a dead girl who comes back to life, and the suspense unravels beautifully from there.” -- Kathy Baum, Bookseller
On shelves 2/5...
by Whitney Scharer

"For fans of Therese Ann Fowler, Paula McLain and Melanie Benjamin, here is your next big historical fiction author. I love these untold stories of history where I learn about amazing women who I have never previously heard about. Where they find their power and revolutionize our time, breaking down barriers for future women. The descriptions of this book are delicious and drop you right into the 1930s in Paris, filled with the glamour of turmoil of the time. It puts you in the middle of a struggling young woman who is trying to find her voice. And goodness, the environments and the food were wonderfully portrayed." -- Mikaley Osley, Marketing and Event Manager

Meteorologist Lisa Hidalgo not only knows the weather, she knows great books and is an avid reader! Check out her picks each month and read along with Lisa!

This month's selection is     The Heart's Invisible Furies   by John Boyne .   Mention the 7News Book Club when making your purchase in-store to receive 20% off the current selection.
Join Tattered Cover Book Store and Denver7 Meteorologist, Lisa Hidalgo, for light refreshments and lively discussion! The Denver7 Book Club is reserved for guests 21 and older Registration available NOW!
Dom Testa is an author, advocate for children's education and the host of Dom in the Morning on Mix 100.3. He loves reading and we love sharing his book reviews with you. Check out  his blog  and happy reading!

This month's selection is  Make Your Bed: Little Things That Can Change Your Life...And Maybe the World   by William McRaven .   Mention Dom's Book Club when making your purchase in-store to receive 20% off the current selection.
tc logo
~ Bringing People & Books Together Since 1971 ~ 
Colfax Avenue, 303-322-7727
Historic LoDo, 303-436-1070
Aspen Grove, 303-470-7050
Visit our Union Station and airport stores.