March 2018
Meet Bethany!

March 1st was my first official day as the Children's Book Buyer at Tattered Cover. (If you're a member of the Teen Advisory Board, you've probably already met me--if you're not a member, join! You get to tell me what books you've been loving--and what books you've been hating.) This means I choose which YA books will be on the Tattered Cover's shelves. Yes, it IS a fun job.

Luckily, I'm obsessed with reading YA--some of my favorite authors are Sarah J. Maas, Jenny Han, Becky Albertalli, Angie Thomas, Francesca Lia Block, Laini Taylor, Matthew Quick, Sharon G. Flake...and a million others. If you see me at the store, tell me what you like to read! I always want to hear more. Happy reading!

-- Bethany Strout, Tattered Cover Children's Book Buyer
About Bethany!

I moved to Colorado two and a half years ago from New York City (before that Chicago, before that France, before that a village near the Adirondack Mountains). My brother-in-law grew up in Denver, and I'd been visiting for years. I wanted to spend more time with my niece and nephew, soak in the outdoors, and pick cross country skiing back up.

Before I came to work at the Tattered Cover, I was a book editor who worked on picture books, middle grade, and YA. Some of the authors and artists I've worked with include Chris Colfer, Ame Dyckman, Wendy Mass, Blake Nelson, Zachariah OHora, Keith and Theodora Richards, Dan Santat, and Trenton Lee Stewart.
Saturday, March 24, 1:00 pm, Colfax Avenue

Join Kim Tomsic, the local author of The 11:11 Wish , for "So You Want To Be a Writer: 11 Magical Tips to Make Your Writing Come Alive"--a writing workshop for ages 8-18. Registration available NOW!
Don't forget to check out March's ARC giveaway below!
Sci-Fi Author Tamora Pierce Discusses New Book Set in Tortall Universe
by Vivian and Lillian D.
On February 7, at the Colfax Tattered Cover store, Tamora Pierce did an event to promote her new book. She just released  Tempests and Slaughter set in her Tortall Universe. She has been publishing books set in this universe for decades and is revisiting characters that have already been introduced.

According to her, readers can pick up this volume--the first in a series--to be introduced to the Tortall universe. This is one of her few books written with a male point of view. She is usually known for writing books with strong female leads. I have been a fan of Tamora since I was old enough to read her books. Her characters have always been inspirations to me. Alanna, Daine, Kel, and Beka have helped guide me. I'm happy to see another book in Tortall. If you like adventure or fantasy, make sure to pick up a copy of  Tempests and Slaughter about three mage friends navigating their lives in a magic university. 

Her advice to writers is to never give up on your writing, even if its terrible. Pierce, who explained that she used to avoid writing groups and writing partners now has a writing partner, whom she is very grateful to. 

Tattered Cover hosts dozens of author events every year. Make sure to check out the website so you can meet your favorite author in the future! 
Upcoming Events for
Fans of YA Fiction
Wednesday, March 14, 7:00 pm, Aspen Grove

Rachel Hartman, author of the award-winning and  New York Times  bestselling novel  Seraphina , will discuss and sign  Tess of the Road   ($18.99 Random House Books for Young Readers). Returning to the spellbinding world of the Southlands she created in  Seraphina , Hartman explores self-reliance and redemption in this wholly original fantasy. 
Coming in April...
Tuesday, April 10, 7:00 pm, Aspen Grove

Ingrid Palmer will discuss and sign  All Out of Pretty  ($16.99 Creston Books), a gripping, thoughtful look at one girl's journey to figuring out what really matters to her and how to take care of herself in a world where there are no responsible adults for her to rely on. 
Saturday, April 14, 2:00 pm, Aspen Grove

Heather Ezell will discuss and sign her young adult debut novel  Nothing Left to Burn   ($17.99 Razorbill). Sixteen-year-old Audrey Harper's life is changed when she receives news that an enormous wildfire is now dangerously close to her idyllic gated community. She must evacuate.
Tuesday, April 24, 7:00 pm, Colfax Avenue

Siobhan Vivian, author of   The Last Boy and Girl in the World and  The List , will discuss and sign  Stay Sweet  ($17.99 Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers) -- a bold and sweet summer read about first love, feminism, and ice cream.
YA Books We Love
On shelves now!
by Tomi Adeyemi

"Tomi's writing is intense and sensory, full of rich characters and authentic interpersonal conflicts. The world building is wonderful & the mythos the story is built on is something brand new to me. Its a well documented fact that I have a weakness for stubborn, sarcastic female protagonists who use ferocity and an unyielding sense of purpose to distract themselves from their own fears, but Tomi does something really stunning with Zelie—she breaks her. It's powerful, and heart wrenching, and emboldening, and I loved it. --  Sam Foster, Gift Buyer
On shelves 4/3!
by Justina Ireland

" Dread Nation  is in an apocalyptic setting, focused on a character by the name of Jane McKeene. She is an African American teenager who was born into a state of war against the dead. The book was great because the plot stayed moving which kept it entertaining. The main thing I enjoyed was the detail conveyed in each character and situation without becoming dull. I also liked the way in which historical fiction was expressed. One of the themes in the book is racism which is historically accurate to the period and location. I loved the irony this set up with the coexisting theme of working together and destroying division between states. Overall would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys apocalyptic reads!" -- Ponderosa High School Book Club
by Danielle Younge-Ullman

Intense, beautiful, and cry-worthy,  Everything Beautiful is Not Ruined  is a book everyone with a heart needs to read. A strong mother-daughter relationship torn apart by a travesty, and secrets risking everything a girl has ends her up in a three-week camp in the middle of the wilderness. Though everyone thinks this books is “rom-com”, it is the exact opposite. My new favorite book, Danielle Younge-Ullman pours her very soul into the words and pages of this novel. -- Bailey, Student at Excel Academy in Arvada, CO
Follow us!
Tattered Cover's
YA Bestseller List
February 2018
1. The Hate U Give  by Angie Thomas

2. Before I Let Go  by Marieke Nijkamp

3. To Catch a Killer  by Sheryl Scarborough

4. Turtles All the Way Down  by John Green

Becky Albertalli

6. Scythe  by Neal Shusterman

7. The Book of Dust  by Philip Pullman

8. Salt to the Sea  by 
Ruta Sepetys

by James Dashner

by Mechthild Glaser
Do you believe in good luck?
Yes
No
Depends on the circumstances
Results from last month's poll: Do you celebrate Valentine's Day?

Depends on the circumstances
41.7%

No
33.3%

Yes
25%
Write a 
Book Review!

Have you ever walked through a bookstore and seen little cards sticking out of shelves with book reviews? Have those reviews ever made you want to buy a book? 

Those cards are called shelf talkers, and we're looking for teens to write shelf talkers for their favorite books. Your friends and family -- and a lot of total strangers -- can see your reviews on the shelves at Tattered Cover. How cool is that? 

To write reviews, send an email to  Kristen Gilligan with "Teen Book Review" in the subject line. 
Teen Writing
Group

Teens come together to share and critique writing, often with a nationally published young adult author as a mentor and participant. An incredible opportunity for aspiring teen writers! Free and open exclusively to teens. 

Meets that last Sunday of each month. This is free and open exclusively to teens. Email  Kristen to RSVP.
Teen Advisory Board

This is a group of book-loving teens who meet every month or so to plan and produce programming for anyone excited about YA literature.

Board members have the opportunity to use their creativity, social media skills, and enthusiasm for books to help with all aspects of event promotion, planning, and execution; introduce (and hang out with) authors at events; write book blurbs; give book talks; get FREE advanced reading copies; and even help select authors who come to the store for events or visit schools.

It's fun, rewarding, and a great resumé builder. Currently, we meet at our Aspen Grove and now our Colfax locations. For more info, read our  TAB Info & Application . To sign up for the TAB, email  Kristen Gilligan . (And tell your bookish friends!)

Host an Author for Free at Your School!

I mean, who doesn't love a school assembly? Seriously though, Tattered Cover can bring an author into your school to speak to smaller groups of English or writing classes, or a full school-wide assembly.

The best part is that's there no cost to the school. If this sounds interesting, just connect us with your school librarian or principal.

Signed ARC Giveaway: March 2018

HOW TO ENTER
Email   Kristen  with "ARC Giveaway" in the subject line expressing your interest in being entered into the random drawing to win the Advanced Reader's Copy (ARC).

THE RULES
You agree not to sell the ARC. You agree to not quote from the ARC. You must be able to pick up the book at one of our  Denver Metro locations  (Colfax, LoDo, Aspen Grove) .

ABOUT THE BOOK
Emergency Contact by Mary H.K. Choi (on shelves 3/27).

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory--perfect for fans of  Eleanor & Park   and  To All the Boys I've Loved Before . For Penny Lee high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn't actually know anything about her.

When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it's seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can't wait to leave behind. Sam's stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a caf and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs.

He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he's a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him.When Sam and Penny cross paths it's less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch--via text--and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to  see  each other.
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Mary H.K. Choi is a writer for  The   New York Times GQ Wired , and  The   Atlantic . She has written comics for Marvel and DC, as well as a collection of essays called  Oh, Never Mind .

She is the host of  Hey, Cool Job! , a podcast about jobs, and is a culture correspondent for  VICE News Tonight  on HBO.  Emergency Contact  is her first novel. Mary grew up in Hong Kong and Texas and now lives in New York.
tc logo

~  Bringing People & Books Together Since 1971  ~ 
Colfax Avenue, 303-322-7727
Historic LoDo, 303-436-1070
Aspen Grove, 303-470-7050
Visit our Union Station and airport stores.