Outstanding Tau Chapter Leaders Recognized at Parents’ Weekend and Tau Trustee Reunion 2017
John Urmin ’14 Chosen for 2017 Philip Moore Award
Civil engineering major John Urmin, a senior from Celina, Texas, is this year’s recipient of the Philip Moore Award. John, a Texas Silver Spur, has served the Tau Chapter as Grand Procurator in 2017 and as Grand Scribe in 2016.
Philip Moore  was known for his outstanding leadership, service and loyalty to his Tau brothers. A legacy who pledged with the Tau Chapter in 1966, he died in a car accident at age 29. The Texas Kappa Sigma Educational Foundation honors his memory each year by presenting the Philip Moore award to a senior who shares the high qualities of leadership, service and brotherhood for which Philip Moore is remembered. 
Connor Rennick ‘15 and Ben Sarvadi ‘14 Awarded the
Richard G. Miller Memorial Foundation Scholarship
Connor Rennick who served as Grand Scribe for the Tau Chapter this past year, is one of this year’s recipients of the Richard G. Miller Memorial Foundation Scholarship. A native of Richardson, Texas, he is pursuing a Masters in Professional Accounting. He is a Texas Cowboy and a member of Young Life. 
Ben Sarvadi,  who served as Tau Chapter Grand Master in 2017 and as a Grand Master of Ceremonies in 2016, is one of this year’s recipients of the Richard G. Miller Memorial Foundation Scholarship. A Houston native, he is majoring in Liberal Arts Honors and Economics and will then pursue a Masters of Science in Finance.
Richard Miller  recognized the development of leadership skills as the most important ingredient of success for any person or organization. Miller served as Tau Chapter Grand Master in 1939, was decorated for service in two wars, built a distinguished career as a businessman in his hometown of El Paso, Texas, served as Worthy Grand Master of the Kappa Sigma Fraternity at the national level and was honored as Tau Man of the Year in 1990. 

In 2006, the Richard G. Miller Memorial Foundation made a commitment to honor his memory each year through a scholarship to benefit outstanding leaders within the Tau Chapter.
Jacob Roschmann ’15 Selected for 2017 Gabe Higgins Award

Texas Silver Spur Jacob Roschmann, a civil engineering major from Kerrville, Texas, is this year’s recipient of the Gabe Higgins Award.  Jacob, newly elected to serve as Tau Chapter Grand Master, has also served as a Rush Chairman and Build Coordinator.
Gabe Higgins  is remembered for his calm and unassuming demeanor, his ready willingness to help a brother in need, and his good character. The Gabe Higgins award is given annually by the Texas Kappa Sigma Educational Foundation to a Tau Chapter junior who shares the good qualities for which Gabe Higgins was known. 
Brandon Chi ’16 and William Wilson’16 Chosen for
Walt Schoenvogel Scholarship
The Walt Schoenvogel Award was presented this year to two
outstanding sophomores, Brandon Chi and William Wilson.
Brandon Chi, a mechanical engineering major from Houston, is a newly elected Grand Master of Ceremonies for the Tau Chapter.  He also serves on the Philanthropy Committee, helping organize the Chapter’s annual Horns for Heroes fundraiser, and served as Pledge Class Social Chair his freshman year.
William Wilson is a business major from Houston. 
Walt Schoenvogel   passed away earlier this year at the age of 63. Those who live in his hometown of Brenham knew him as a successful businessman, community leader, and philanthropist, but he is remembered by his Kappa Sig brothers as an exceptional athlete whose prowess helped bring intramural glory to Tau Chapter, and a loyal friend whose great sense of humor brought much happiness to those around him. To honor his memory, the Walt Schoenvogel Scholarship has been established to benefit a deserving Tau Chapter sophomore each year who aspires to meet the high standards and principles of brotherhood, community service and philanthropy by which Walt himself lived.
John Hempfling ’90 Chosen for Frank Erwin Award

Tau Chapter actives chose John Hempfling as this year’s recipient of the Frank Erwin Award. This honor is presented annually to an alumnus who has provided exceptional support and leadership to the Chapter. 

John was previously honored with the Frank Erwin Award in 2015 and was recognized earlier that year as Outstanding Alumnus Advisor at Kappa Sigma Fraternity’s Grand Conclave. 

He serves as Global Litigation Counsel for Whole Foods Market, where he is actively involved in all phases of litigation. 

As a Kappa Sigma UT undergraduate, he served as Rush Captain in 1991, Grand Procurator in 1992, and Grand Master in 1993.  
Frank Erwin,  Chairman of the University of Texas System Board of Regents from 1966 to 1971, was a devoted Kappa Sig who served as an alumnus advisor and a founding trustee of the Texas Kappa Sigma Educational Foundation. He was honored as Tau Man of the Year in 1965 and again in 1980. 
Our Deepest Appreciation to the Parents’ Association
The Texas Kappa Sigma Educational Foundation and Tau Chapter extend a huge “Thank You” to the Parents’ Association for planning and hosting Parents’ Weekend and Tau Trustee Reunion 2017. Lisa Sarvadi, Parents’ Association President, Linda Brown, Parents’ Weekend Chair, and their team of volunteers did a beautiful job of making it a wonderful and special Kappa Sigma weekend for everyone who attended.
View and download your Parents’ Weekend and
Tau Trustee Reunion Photos here: