Outstanding Tau Chapter Brothers Recognized for Leadership
Michael Hansen ’19 Chosen for
2022 Philip Moore Award
Michael Hansen is this year’s Philip Moore Award honoree. Michael is a corporate finance major set to graduate in May 2023. He has served the Tau Chapter as Grand Procurator and Grand Master of Ceremonies. Last year he was awarded a Richard G. Miller Scholarship. He serves on the University Co-Op Board of Directors and is a Silver Spur. He is from Houston.
Philip Moore was known for his outstanding leadership, service and loyalty to his Tau brothers. A legacy who pledged with the Tau Chapter in 1966, he died in a car accident at age 29. The Texas Kappa Sigma Educational Foundation honors his memory each year by presenting the Philip Moore award to an upper classman who shares the high qualities of leadership, service and brotherhood for which Philip Moore is remembered. 
Austin Roberts '20 and Pace McDonald '20 Awarded Walt Schoenvogel Scholarships 
Austin Roberts, a finance major, was chosen for a Walt Schoenvogel Scholarship. Austin has served the Tau Chapter as Assistant Treasurer. He is on the Student Board of Directors for Special Olympics, a leader in the University Finance Association, and on the recruitment team for Phi Gamma Nu. He is from Minnetonka, MN.
Pace McDonald, an advertising major and a Texas Silver Spur, is also a Walt Schoenvogel scholarship recipient for 2022. He is currently a Social Chair for Tau Chapter and has previously served as Apparel Chair and Build Coordinator. He is from Frisco, TX.
Walt Schoenvogel  passed away in 2017 at the age of 63. Those who live in his hometown of Brenham knew him as a successful businessman, community leader, and philanthropist, but he is remembered by his Kappa Sig brothers as an exceptional athlete whose prowess helped bring intramural glory to Tau Chapter, and a loyal friend whose great sense of humor brought much happiness to those around him. To honor his memory, the Walt Schoenvogel Scholarship has been established to benefit a deserving Tau Chapter active each year who aspires to meet the high standards and principles of brotherhood, community service and philanthropy by which Walt himself lived.
Grant Shaffer '19 and Aiden Frazier '20 Awarded Richard G. Miller Memorial Foundation Scholarships
Grant Shaffer is a 2022 recipient of the Richard Miller Foundation scholarship. Grant is pursuing a double major in finance and economics and is scheduled to graduate in 2023. He has served the Tau Chapter as Grand Master of Ceremonies and as Risk Manager. Last year he was chosen for the Philip Moore award. He participates in Genesis at UT Austin and plays for Kappa Sigma on the Intramural soccer team. He is from Austin.
Aidan Frazier, who is pursuing an integrated Master's in Professional Accounting (iMPA), was chosen as a recipient of the Richard G. Miller Memorial Foundation Scholarship. Aiden serves the Tau Chapter as Grand Procurator and has served as Rush Chairman. He also received the Donald C. Dilley, Jr. Scholarship, a Kappa Sigma national leadership award, in 2022. He plays on the UT Lacrosse club team and is from Lewisville, TX.
Richard Miller recognized the development of leadership skills as the most important ingredient of success for any person or organization. Miller served as Tau Chapter Grand Master in 1939, was decorated for service in two wars, built a distinguished career as a businessman in his hometown of El Paso, Texas, served as Worthy Grand Master of the Kappa Sigma Fraternity at the national level and was honored as Tau Man of the Year in 1990. In 2006, the Richard G. Miller Memorial Foundation made a commitment to honor his memory each year through a scholarship to benefit outstanding leaders within the Tau Chapter.
Tiernan Schindel ’22 Selected for Michael O’Connor Award
Tiernan Schindel, a 2022 graduate of the McCombs School of Business, is this year's recipient of the Michael "Mickey" O'Connor Award. Tiernan served the Tau Chapter first as a Social and as the 2020 State Rush Captain, helping sign a pledge class of more than 60 new members. He was chosen for the Philip Moore award during his senior year. He is from Round Rock, Texas. 
Michael "Mickey" O'Connor was an early 50s Tau Chapter initiate who passed away from an illness during his college years. His contemporaries established The Michael O'Connor Award to honor the senior who has best exemplified Mickey's joy of life and spirit of Kappa Sigma brotherhood throughout his years as a Tau Chapter active.
Matthew Ziemnicki '08 Chosen for Frank Erwin Award 

Tau Chapter actives selected Alumnus Advisor Matthew Ziemnicki '08 as the 2022 Frank Erwin Award honoree.
This award is presented annually to an alumnus who has provided exceptional support and leadership to the Chapter. 

"I met Ziem as a pledge my freshman year," said outgoing Tau Chapter Grand Master Jack Smith '19. "He immediately became someone I could trust and go to for any social, rush, or GM issue. He has been a rock for me, and his guidance has been invaluable. His love for Tau comes from a real place, and I know he'll continue to be a source of strength for the Chapter. I look forward to catching up with him over Horns' football now that my term has finished."
As an undergraduate, Matthew served the Tau Chapter as Grand Master and Grand Procurator. He was also a Texas Silver Spur. He graduated from UT Austin with a Bachelor of Science in 2012 and earned an MBA from Louisiana State University. He has served as Alumnus Advisor for the past three years.

"I owe a tremendous amount of my success and many of my lifelong relationships to the Kappa Sigs, including meeting my wonderful wife, Catherine," Matthew said. "It's my honor to help preserve Tau Chapter's legacy, and I'm passionate about supporting its future success."

Matthew is the National Sales Manager for Majestic Pet Products, a family business that started 25 years ago. In his free time, he enjoys supporting UT Athletics with his family and friends.

Matthew met his wife, Catherine, as an undergraduate at a Kappa Sig rush event in Dallas. They live in Austin and have a two-year-old son, Pearce James.
Frank Erwin, Chairman of the University of Texas System Board of Regents from 1966 to 1971, was a devoted Kappa Sig who served as an alumnus advisor and a founding trustee of the Texas Kappa Sigma Educational Foundation. He was honored as Tau Man of the Year in 1965 and again in 1980. 
Pay Your Tau Trustee Dues Online 
Tau Trustee dues cover Tau Alumni dues, House Corp. stipend, summer rush contribution, KS Fraternity dues, and contribution to KS Military Heroes Campaign.