Students, Parents, Teachers & Friends of Education,

Kimberly Garren, 
2018-2019 District Teacher of the Year

Congratulations to our 2018-2019 Teachers of the Year!

Auburn Elementary - Elise Binder
Bethlehem Elementary - Laura Rogers
Bramlett Elementary - Ginger McCullers
County Line Elementary - Lynn Tillman
Holsenbeck Elementary - Lauren Stapleton
Kennedy Elementary - Kim Ham - Finalist
Statham Elementary - Laura Payne
Winder Elementary - Amy Morris
Yargo Elementary - Whitney Bishoff
Bear Creek Middle - Joanna Kirk
Haymon-Morris Middle - Sarah Felix - Finalist
Russell Middle - McKendree Ramsell
Westside Middle - Jasmine Griffith - Finalist
Apalachee High - Skyler Davis
Winder-Barrow High - Kimberly Garren - District TOTY
Alternative Program - Mitch Pittman
Sims Academy - Kathryn Marcotte

Peach State FCU Scholarship Recipients

The Peach State Federal Credit Union's Board of Directors has awarded the Dan Cromer Scholarship to Apalachee student Emily Brown and the Legacy Scholarship to Winder-Barrow student Heather Perry. The scholarships are awarded to high school seniors who wish to pursue an education degree. To be considered for this scholarship, students had to submit a copy of their SAT scores, a transcript indicating high school grade point average, a two-page essay expressing their desire to become a teacher including the reason why, and two letters of reference. Emily and Heather received $2,000 towards continuing their education.

Committed to Student Success

REACH (Realizing Educational Achievement Can Happen) Georgia Scholars from high schools around the state gathered in Atlanta for REACH Day at the Capitol. Representative Deborah Gonzalez spoke with them about being a new member of the house and the issues she champions such as health care, education and cyber security. Students enjoyed a conversation with Senator Frank Ginn outside the senate chamber, then met pages and learned about the job they do for the senators. The Scholars enjoyed perusing Representative Terry England's office after he left for roll call and left a note wishing him a good day. 
                                                     * * * * 

Dr. Chris McMichael

Board Members
Debi Krause
Garey Huff Sr.
Connie Wehunt
Michael Shelley
Lynn Stevens
Rickey Bailey
Suzanne Angle
Rolando Alvarez
Mark Still 


*    *    *    *    *
April 30-May 21

May 23
Early Release

May 24
Teacher Planning
WBHS Graduation

May 25
Teacher Planning
AHS Graduation

*   *   *   *   *

Barrow County
School System:

Boldly Committed to
Student Success

Ensuring an exceptional
education that leads each
student to become a high
achieving and responsible

179 West Athens Street
Winder, Georgia  30680
(770) 867-4527
*   *   *   *   *