To Opt Out and No Longer Receive this Information, Click Unsubscribe at Bottom.
TJ-1 11.20.17
The Ignition Triangle
With HazLoc Lights you need to understand what is known as"Ignition Triangle" or "The Fire Triangle". This is a simple three part triangle that illustrates the key components required to create a spark, fire or explosion depending on the components involved.

These include:
  1. A Source of Fuel
  2. An Oxygen Environment
  3. A Source of Ignition

Hazardous Locations are determined by this Triangle. This is how a Fire or Explosion occurs - all three elements must be present - and the lighting fixture can be considered a potential source of ignition.

So - let's look at the NEC Code, and at what it says about Hazardous Locations. To correctly understand and apply Hazardous Location classifications and zones, we must start with NEC Code, Article 500:

In this section, the Word "Hazardous" denotes the way a particular location is classified due to either:

  1. Flammability properties within that area, or
  2. Specific use of that area.

There are three classifications:
Click Button for Details
Click Button for Details
Click Button for Details
These are the three major Classes for Hazardous Locations. These are three of the sources of Fuel as shown in the Fire Triangle.

Want to learn more about these "Classes?
( Covered in upcoming Journal #3 - stay tuned. )
Bill Nagengast, President and Lighting Engineer, Solas Ray Lighting, holds over 20 patents in the lighting industry.