BPLF25 RGB 300dpi.png

Announcing the

2022 Cody Award

We are delighted to announce that this year's Cody Award will be presented to the Bay Area Book Festival. The Library Foundation gives the Fred and Pat Cody Award to recognize those who help illuminate Berkeley's literary landscape and enrich public libraries. Foundation President Tienne Lee will present the award at the 19th Annual Authors Dinner. Receiving the award at the May event is Cherilyn Parsons, Festival founder and executive director.

The Bay Area Book Festival has established a popular two-day literary event in Downtown Berkeley, showcasing a broad spectrum of bold, impactful literary voices and hosting discussions that delve into pressing topics, such as voter suppression, racism, anxiety, and more. The Festival perfectly embodies what the Cody award is intended to recognize and celebrate.

The Cody Award is named after Fred and Pat Cody of Cody's Books, who were pioneers in bookselling, supporters of small presses, and stalwart fighters of censorship.

Dave Kent of Berkeley Mills crafts the award from rare but carefully conserved, exotic woods each year. Its shape is inspired by the chevron-crowned windows of the historic Reading Room in Berkeley’s downtown Central Library.

Some of the past Cody Award winners include Pegasus Books, Steve Silberstein, Malcolm Margolin, Helen and John Meyer.


From reportage of the immigrant experience in the USA to reckonings of sex, wealth, and death, the diverse work of our honored authors make our Bay Area literary scene vibrant. This year, guests at the Authors Dinner will be seated next to one of these distinguished authors.

Learn more about the authors!

Thank You!

The 19th Authors Dinner and the library projects it supports are made possible in part because of the following generous sponsors and contributors.

Facebook  Twitter  Instagram