At the Monday, December 10 Board of Education meeting, the Brea Olinda Unified School District officially made the shift from seven to five board members.

At the reorganization meeting, two incumbent candidates and one newcomer took their oaths of office to serve on the Board of Education. The newly elected member, Keri Kropke, was sworn in for the first time and will serve a two-year term while incumbents, Nicole Colon and Carrie Flanders, were each sworn in for another four-year term. All members were sworn in by Superintendent Dr. Brad Mason. Gail Lyons was named President, Paul Ruiz was named Vice President, and Nicole Colon was named Clerk. 

Outgoing board members Rod Todd, Bill Hall and Steve Sewell were recognized for their service on the board. Mr. Todd has served as a member of the Board of Education for 14 years, Mr. Hall joined the board in 2006 and has served for 12 years, and Mr. Sewell joined the board in September of 2017 when he was appointed to fill a vacant board seat due to the resignation of Mr. Kevin Hobby. 

We would like to send a special thank you to outgoing Board President Carrie Flanders for her dedication, service and leadership this past year. 

If you would like to attend a future Board of Education meeting, dates can be found by clicking the link below.