The Best NEW BOOKS for September and a Scientific Giveaway
Mid-September brings some of the most anticipated books of the year to Fulton County Libraries. All the titles offered this week are from authors our patrons love - though in keeping with New Books Newsletter tradition, Ta-Nehisi Coates' work is his debut novel, and Eddie Jackson's cookbook is his first full author credit!

New Books Newsletter readers are well acquainted with our Overdrive collection Your Next Great Read, but many might not know about our Available Now collection. While Your Next Great Read is a truly randomized selection of books available for checkout right away, Available Now is a collection ranked by the number of previous checkouts. These incredibly popular books have been enjoyed by hundreds, and now it's your turn to pick them out for an excellent read.
From the award–winning author of Between the World and Me, and We Were Eight Years in Power now comes a boldly conjured debut novel about a magical gift, a devastating loss, and an underground war for freedom.

Young Hiram Walker was born into bondage. When his mother was sold away, Hiram was robbed of all memory of her—but was gifted with a mysterious power. Years later, when Hiram almost drowns in a river, that same power saves his life. This brush with death births an urgency in Hiram and a daring scheme: to escape from the only home he's ever known.

So begins an unexpected journey that takes Hiram from the corrupt grandeur of Virginia's proud plantations to desperate guerrilla cells in the wilderness, from the coffin of the Deep South to dangerously idealistic movements in the North. Even as he's enlisted in the underground war between slavers and the enslaved, Hiram's resolve to rescue the family he left behind endures.

Be among the first to reserve this title in hardcover, ebook, or mp3 audiobook download.
From Annalee Newitz comes a story of time travel, murder, and the lengths we'll go to protect the ones we love.

1992: After a confrontation at a riot grrl concert, seventeen-year-old Beth finds herself in a car with her friend's abusive boyfriend dead in the backseat, agreeing to help her friends hide the body. This murder sets Beth and her friends on a path of escalating violence and vengeance as they realize many other young women in the world need protecting too.

2022: Determined to use time travel to create a safer future, Tess has dedicated her life to visiting key moments in history and fighting for change. But rewriting the timeline isn't as simple as editing one person or event. And just when Tess believes she's found a way to make an edit that actually sticks, she encounters a group of dangerous travelers bent on stopping her at any cost.

Tess and Beth's lives intertwine as war breaks out across the timeline—a war that threatens to destroy time travel and leave only a small group of elites with the power to shape the past, present, and future. Against the vast and intricate forces of history and humanity, is it possible for a single person's actions to echo throughout the timeline?

Enjoy this new entry into the science fiction time-travel tradition by reserving a copy in hardcover, or download the Libby app and listen to the mp3 audiobook to your favorite device. Can't wait to read this latest work by Newitz? Check out her last book, Scatter, adapt, and remember : how humans will survive a mass extinction.
Fans of Live Fire BBQ, Outdoor Ovens, and Ultimate Burgers know that Fulton County Libraries has a wide selection of cookbooks for every occasion. We're excited to add in this newest title for our home chefs to explore!

Create epic feasts for game days at home with this full-color cookbook from former NFL star and celebrity chef Eddie Jackson that includes 100 fresh and inventive recipes for tailgating at home.

Game-Day Eats combines Eddie's two greatest passions--cooking and football--in one hearty cook's playbook. Eddie gives you more than 100 recipes centered around eating, drinking, and spending time with friends while enjoying the game at home. The key to a great party is food that can be cooked while spending time with your guests. Because you're cooking in your own kitchen, you can go way beyond brats, chili, and cheeseburgers. Learn how to make mouthwatering Roasted Tomatillo Nachos and Spicy Pesto Wings as well as fun surprises like Citrus Beer Floats and Eddie's patented Savory Pizza Bombs.

Eddie shows how anyone at any culinary skill level can create festive feasts any day of the week. Each inventive and hearty recipe includes steps that can be done ahead of time or prepped very quickly so that you don't miss a play--whether your gathering for a traditional Sunday afternoon or for a weeknight game. With influences from his pro days, his culinary escapades, and his NFL buddies like Ken Hamlin and Quinton Caver, the food in Game-Day Eats is sure to win over your favorite crowd.

Reserve this cookbook in hardcover or ebook and wow your friends next game day or watch party!
From the bestselling author of Practical Magic, Incantation, and Blackbird House comes another tale of strong women using magic - this time, against the Nazis in WWII era Europe.

In Berlin, at the time when the world changed, Hanni Kohn knows she must send her twelve-year-old daughter away to save her from the Nazi regime. She finds her way to a renowned rabbi, but it's his daughter, Ettie, who offers hope of salvation when she creates a mystical Jewish creature, a rare and unusual golem, who is sworn to protect Lea. Once Ava is brought to life, she and Lea and Ettie become eternally entwined, their paths fated to cross, their fortunes linked.

Lea and Ava travel from Paris, where Lea meets her soulmate, to a convent in western France known for its silver roses; from a school in a mountaintop village where three thousand Jews were saved. Meanwhile, Ettie is in hiding, waiting to become the fighter she's destined to be.

Click here to reserve Alice Hoffman's latest title in hardcover, ebook, or mp3 audiobook.
From the authors of the international bestseller Why Nations Fail, a crucial new big-picture framework that answers the question of how liberty flourishes in some states but falls to authoritarianism or anarchy in others—and explains how it can continue to thrive despite new threats.

In most places and at most times, the strong have dominated the weak and human freedom has been quashed by force or by customs and norms. Either states have been too weak to protect individuals from these threats or states have been too strong for people to protect themselves from despotism. Liberty emerges only when a delicate and precarious balance is struck between state and society.

Explore this new work of political theory in hardcover, mp3 audiobook, or ebook on your favorite device.
NEW BOOK NEWSLETTER GIVEAWAY

The Handy Science Answer Book, 5th edition
Not every book we receive for review and consideration at Fulton County Libraries is added to our collection. Such is the case with The Handy Science Answer Book, 5th edition.

This clear, concise, and straightforward primer covers hundreds of intriguing topics, from the basics of math, physics, and chemistry to the discoveries being made about the human body, stars, outer space, rivers, mountains, and our entire planet. It covers plants, animals, computers, planes, trains, and cars. This friendly resource answers more than 1,600 of the most frequently asked, most interesting, and most unusual science questions.

A great present for any child or just a fun read, The Handy Science Answer Book is 600 pages of current science knowledge for the trivia crowd.

You can win a paperback used to promote the book before official release of this title by emailing us within 24 hours of the New Books Newsletter email. Just put "Handy Science" in the subject line of your email to Collection.Development@fultoncountyga.gov. We'll pick a winner at random from messages received between 8:30am Monday, 9/16/19 and 8:30am Tuesday, 9/17/19.

The winner will be notified via email and must be able to pick the book up at an AFPLS branch within one month.
Fulton County Library System | afpls.org