November 2019
The Cleon and Pauline B. Throop Scholarship
This October, the Cleon and Pauline B. Throop Scholarship was established at SCCF through a $100,000 bequest from the Throops. In 1944, they started what would become Throop Florist and Greenhouse. Serving customers from all over Steuben County, they sold the business in 1978 but the name remained until the store closed in 2017. Cleon and Pauline were active community members. Cleon served on the board of directors at First Federal Savings Bank in Angola for 58 years, was a member of the Angola Lions Club for an outstanding 73 years, served on the Angola City Council, and was a member of the Jaycees. Pauline co-founded the Jaycee Wives Club and was a member of the Angola Women of the Moose and Sigma Phi Gamma. Married over 77 years, Cleon and Pauline died within six months of one another in 2018.
Cleon and Pauline's son, Tom Throop, shared that his parents wanted to make a difference, saying, “This scholarship will support students from Steuben County as they pursue a great future and gain new experiences, which is what my parents had hoped to make possible.” Beginning in spring 2020, the scholarship will be awarded annually to a Steuben County student who is venturing outside the county to pursue opportunities for academic achievement.
This is one of more than 55 scholarships administered through Steuben County Community Foundation. Applications are now available for spring 2020 graduates and non-traditional students on SCCF’s website at
2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Finalists
The six 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar finalists have been selected! After reviewing 27 highly competitive applications from the schools serving Steuben County, the committee named six finalists. Isabell Deem, Kayla Festermaker, Chase Soulliere, Emily Land, Teryn Stanley, and Victoria Miller (pictured left to right above) have all completed phase two of the application process. This included a workshop, an impromptu essay, an interview with the selection committee, and a presentation of their personal portfolio. This is a highly unusual year, in which all six students who were selected as finalists happen to be seniors at Angola High School.

“SCCF is honored to facilitate this scholarship for a well-rounded and hard-working student in our community who exemplifies both high academic ability and extra-curricular achievements,” said Jacqui Gentile, program officer. 

Independent Colleges of Indiana, a nonprofit representing regionally accredited degree granting colleges and universities, delegates the selection process of this scholarship to SCCF who utilizes a committee of community volunteers to facilitate the process. ICI is currently reviewing the finalist selection, and the Lilly Scholar recipient will be announced in December. SCCF awards a $1,000 Circle of Friends scholarship to the other five finalists. 

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship is the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education.
Steuben County Nonprofit Wish List
SCCF knows that many people are looking for ways to give back this time of year, and #GivingTuesday is the nonprofit sector’s response to Black Friday. This year on December 3 rd, join us as we support the local nonprofits in Steuben County who are making a difference each day. For the second year, SCCF decided to celebrate Giving Tuesday by creating a community wish list—a compilation of the top needs as submitted by 501(c)(3) nonprofits in their own words. The wish list provides a menu of options for you to support the community of Steuben County. We’ll debut the 2019-2020 Nonprofit Wish List in a full page ad in the Herald Republican on December 3 rd. along with SCCF's Facebook page. Thank you to all of the nonprofit organizations who participated!

101 Lakes Trust, Inc.
Alano Club of Angola
Cahoots Coffee Café
Clear Lake Township Land Conservancy
Compassion Pregnancy Center
Downtown Angola Coalition
Hoosiers Feeding the Hungry
KC Learning Center, Inc.
Lake James Christian Camp & Retreat Center
Little Lambs Daycare
Project Help
Purdue Extension – Steuben County
RISE, Inc.
Steuben County 4-H Fair Board
Steuben County Council on Aging, Inc.
Steuben County United Way
TLC House Indiana
Turning Point
Well Child Clinic
Women in Transition
YMCA of Steuben County

A gift to the Spirit of Community fund at Steuben County Community Foundation is used to support all types of needs that nonprofits have in Steuben County. Visit our website to donate
America's Farmers Grow Communities Grant
County farmer, Bruce Moody, directed $2,500 to SCCF through America’s Farmers Grow Communities, sponsored by the Bayer Fund. As part of our mission, SCCF will use the funds to support nonprofits and community projects in Steuben County.

“SCCF is grateful for local community members like Bruce who believe in our mission and want to help make a difference in the community. This grant will help us support some of the most important needs that matter in Steuben County,” said Jennifer Danic, President and CEO of Steuben County Community Foundation.

Celebrating its 10 th year, America’s Farmers Grow Communities partners with farmers to support nonprofit organizations strengthening rural communities. The program offers farmers the chance to direct a $2,500 donation to a nonprofit of their choice. It has awarded more than $33 million to over 8,000 nonprofits across rural America. 
Holiday Hours
Calendar image
Steuben County Community Foundation office will be closed November 28 and 29 for Thanksgiving. Please feel free to stop by in the morning of November 27, as the Angola Police and Fire Departments will be handing out pies and coffee, and SCCF's youth program FIST will hand out hot chocolate! These groups will be at the SCCF office and answering phones at WLKI as they raise funds for Steuben County Cops for Kids through their annual pie auction.
Thank you to our donors!
The Community Foundation would like to thank the individuals, families, and organizations who generously made donations in October 2019. Your support is appreciated!
Donations can be made:
 Online through the Donate Now button
Mailed to 1701 N Wayne St, Angola, IN 46703
Or brought into the office Monday through Friday 8:30 - 4:30
Randy White, Chair
Julie Troyer, Vice-Chair
Adam Miller, Secretary
Doug Bomba, Treasurer
Kathy Armstrong
Craig Burkholder
Dave Goodwin
Pam Harger
Jim Ingledue
Brenda Shipe
Chris Snyder
Kayla Warren
President & CEO

Office Manager 

Program Officer

Communications Director
Steuben County Nonprofits
SCCF publishes a monthly Nonprofit Newsletter with information about grants, fundraising, and upcoming trainings. Also, check out our nonprofit directory for a listing of 501(c)(3) charitable organizations serving Steuben County.
2019 Endowment Book
Click Here   to see a copy of the Endowment Funds administered by SCCF. Updated May 2019.

Notary Public
 The Steuben County Community Foundation has a Notary Public on staff.
Contact   Sandy Ferrell  for details
Philanthropy Quote of the Month:
"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
 -Margaret Mead

The Steuben County Community Foundation is confirmed in compliance with the  National Standards for US Community Foundations.