Mississippi Economic Council
Leadership Mississippi
The Leadership Letter  is a monthly newsletter dedicated to announcing current events related to MEC's Leadership Mississippi Program. It is a special publication that highlights alumni and their outstanding work and achievements in the business economy across the state of Mississippi.

"If you look at the people in your circle and you don't get inspired, you don't have a circle, you have a cage."

- Ermias Asghedom
45 Years Strong!

This year, MEC's Leadership Mississippi program celebrates 45 years of identifying, cultivating and supporting some of this state's top leaders.
Here are five simple, low or no-cost ways that you, as alumni, can help extend the reach of the reputation, strength and visibility of the Leadership Mississippi program for a successful 45th anniversary year:

1. Engage Alumni!

2. Follow, Like and Share!

3. Represent Your Year!

4. Join Us In Celebrating 45 Years Strong!
In light of the 45 th Anniversary, we have re-launched the monthly alumni engagement newsletter, The Leadership Letter, to keep you in-the-know. Also for the 45 th Anniversary, we have created a host of exclusive, alumni-only engagement events to help you fulfill all five of these ways to stay active and involved. 

If you are interested in serving as a Leadership Mississippi program volunteer or as a member of an alumni engagement advisory committee, email Cathy at cnorthington@msmec.com. 

5. GIVE- Great and Small!

Now, the moment you have all been waiting for!

The 2020 Annual Contribution Campaign
goes live online this week!

We will send out a link for you to begin paying your 
$100 annual contribution online through our new portal!

In the meantime, you may mail in your annual contribution of either $100 or a special 45th Anniversary Contribution* of $145 to:

Leadership Mississippi, P.O. Box 23276, Jackson, MS 39225-3276
Please make all checks payable to "Leadership Mississippi"
*For the first 45 alumni contributors of $145 that give by March 31st, your 45th Anniversary Contribution will be recognized as "The Circle of 45" at MEC's 71st Annual Meeting and listed in our MEC Annual Report that circulates among our 10,000+ MEC members.


Thank you to the following outstanding alumni that have taken the initiative and successfully given to the 2020 campaign:

Robert Barnes (Class of 1994) - PriorityOne Bank
Heather Bennett, Esq. (Class of 2017) - W. G. Yates & Sons Construction Company
Russell Bennett (Class of 2014) - Entergy Mississippi, Inc.
Odean Busby (Class of 1985) - PriorityOne Bank
Lawrence Howell (Class of 1985) - Pontotoc Electrical Power Association
Brian Johnson (Class of 2010) - Fisher Brown Bottrell Insurance, Inc.
Amy Walker (Class of 2017) - Ergon, Inc.
Pat Thomasson (Class of 2007) - Thomasson Company
Lewis Whitfield (Class of 1974) - CREATE Foundation
James Williams, Jr. (Class of 2015) - National Center on Education and the Economy
Kenneth Williams, Sr. (Class of 1974) - Corinth Coca-Cola Bottling Works, Inc.
Dr. Loretta Jackson-Williams (Class of 2011) - The University of Mississippi Medical Center


The first Coffee and Conversations alumni engagement event at the Capitol was a success!  Thank you to all of the alumni who stopped by to enjoy refreshments and the chance to engage with each other.

Want to Host Your Own "Coffee and Conversations"?

We have a few more dates for this one-of-a-kind sponsorship opportunity available!

Contact Cathy Northington at cnorthington@msmec.com or 601-540-4480 for more details!

Leadership Mississippi invites you to an alumni social hour:

Rooftop at Old Capitol Inn
(226 N. State St., Jackson, MS) 
April 30, 2020
5:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.

5% of proceeds will be donated to Leadership Mississippi.

Brick & Spoon is happy to work with Leadership Mississippi to host: 
"Coffee and Conversations"

Brick & Spoon
(140 Eisenhower Drive, Biloxi, MS)
June 10, 2020
7:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.  

5% of proceeds will be donated to Leadership Mississippi.
Leadership Mississippi Class of 2020
 in Southaven for its second session!

Leadership Mississippi Class of 2020 will embark upon its second session in the city of Southaven, MS. They are traveling north to engage on the topic of Followership: Leading Others.

Please join us Thursday, March 26th from  5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. for the Leadership MS Alumni Reception (Location: To Be Announced).
All alumni are welcome!

Thank You to Our Southaven Sponsors:

Atmos Energy, Northcentral Electric Cooperative and  W. K. Kellogg Foundation  

Special Thanks to Our Past Session Sponsors:

Butler Snow
W. K. Kellogg Foundation

Special Thanks to Our Upcoming Session Sponsors:

Stephanie Patton 

We Have Great News to Share from Our Alumni!
Join us in congratulating these individuals on their outstanding achievements.

Jerome Brown
Class of 2014
The First, A National Banking Association

Promoted to Executive Vice President at The First, A National Banking Association, making him the only African-American EVP for a financial institution headquartered in Mississippi.

Angela Juzang
Class of 2019
Memorial Hospital at Gulfport

Presenter for The University of Southern Mississippi's 2020 Armstrong-Branch Lecture on March 10th.

Sidney Allen, Jr. - March 9
Sheri Anders  - March 12
Marcus Banks  - March 20
James T. Bourne  - March 2
David Buchanan, JD  - March 5
Jean Cadney - March 1
LaKetter Cannon - March 19
Jay Carney  - March 19
Robert Cesaro  - March 16
Chris Champion  - March 21
Everett Chinn  - March 30
Cindy Duvall  - March 17
Brent Fairley  - March 13
Rodney Francis  - March 10
Michelle Fuller  - March 29
Brandt Galloway  - March 31
Donna Gardner - March 18
Christopher Gray  - March 10
Christopher Haug  - March 5
Mark Hosemann - March 17
James Jacobs -  March 1
Brad Keeton  - March 26
Terrell Knight  - March 14
Monica Lebron  - March 11
Amanda Lott  - March 24
Rebecca Mansell  - March 11
Josh Mars  - March 21
Robert Maxwell - March 11
Ramin Maysami - March 21
Mark McDonald  - March 4
Mary Montgomery  - March 24
Joseph Moss - March 12
Stephanie Rebman  - March 12
Dovie Reed  - March 15
Lisa Reppeto  - March 28
Kathy Scarbrough  - March 27
Kathleen Shaughnessy  - March 6
Steven Sloan - March 22
Kate Spear - March 4
Dr. Tommy Stevenson - March 23
Pat Thomasson - March 2
Tyler Walker - March 27
Anthony Webb - March 25
Floyd Wiley - March 3
Willie Woo - March 15

And all other alumni celebrating March  birthdays!

Alumni Search!

We want to stay connected with the Leadership Mississippi alumni from every class: 1974-1975 to the present!

If you or someone you know has changed jobs, surnames, home and/or email addresses, contact phone numbers, etc., please update it with us at leadershipms@msmec.com. 

If you have any news you would like to share or see featured in next month's newsletter, let us know!

We hope to hear from you!
Our Mission

To build a strong diverse network of leaders from every corner of the state balanced with a broad variety of leadership abilities and career accomplishments creating a core of individuals committed to Mississippi's future.

MEC's Leadership Mississippi is a program of the 

M.B. Swayze Foundation 
Mississippi Economic Council - The State Chamber of Commerce

248 E. Capitol Street, Suite 940 - Jackson, Mississippi 39201

P.O. Box 23276 - Jackson, Mississippi 39225-3276

Phone: 601-969-0022 - 1-800-748-7626

Fax: 601-353-0247 - 1-888-717-2809

Visit Our Website