FOR RELEASE Sunday, March 31st, 2024


The Saskatchewan Country Music Association announces nominees for the 2024 SCMA Awards in Lloydminster Presented by Access Communications Co-operative. Leading the nominations this year is Jake Vaadeland with six in total, including Male Artist of the Year and Fan's Choice. Shantaia is coming off a great 2023 and has five in 2024, including Female Artist and Country Album of the Year.


The SCMA Awards Show is set to take place on Saturday June 22nd, 202, in Lloydminster at the Vic Juba Community Theatre. More information is available at


For media inquiries, please contact:

Leon Gilbertson – SCMA President

[email protected]

Jen McConnell – Vic Juba Community Theatre General Manager

[email protected]

The nominees for the 35th Annual SCMA Awards

are as follows:


Female Artist of the Year

Amy Nelson

 Jordyn Pollard

 Karissa Hoffart

 Katelyn Lehner


 Teagan Littlechief


Male Artist of the Year

Brody Siebert

 Chris Henderson

 Jake Vaadeland

 JJ Voss

 Justin LaBrash

Group of the Year

The Crosby Harle Band

 Last Birds

 Munro & Patrick

Indigenous Artist of the Year

Berk Jodoin

 Darryl Anderson

 Teagan Littlechief

 Yvonne St. Germaine

Songwriter of the Year

"Aces & 8's", Songwriters: Berk Jodoin and Aspen Beveridge, Artist: Berk Jodoin

 "Black N' Blue", Songwriter: Tommy John Ehman, Artist: Tommy John Ehman

 "Damaged Goods", Songwriters: Shantaia Poulin, Adam Wheeler, David Borys, Artist: Shantaia

" I Ain't Going Back To Nashville", Songwriter: Jake Vaadeland, Artist: Jake Vaadeland

 "It's All I Need", Songwriter: Donny Parenteau, Artist: Donny Parenteau

 "She Got It From Her Mama", Songwriters: Brock Andrews and Jeff Johnson, Artist: Brock Andrews

 "Sounds Like Heaven", Songwriters: Lindsay Arnold and Mike Davis, Artist: Last Birds


Emerging Artist of the Year

The Crosby Harle Band

 Dan Cugnet

 Darryl Anderson

 Glen Strong

 Joshua Stumpf


Country Album of the Year

Drinkin' In Public, Artist: BRUIN

 Exes and Friends, Artist: Shantaia

 Nathan Davis, Artist: Nathan Davis


Alternative Country Album of the Year

"Badlands", Artist: Dan Cugnet

"Badlands II", Artist: Dan Cugnet

"Endless Turn of Day Into Night", Artist: Last Birds

"She's a Story", Artist: Jackie K


Video of the Year

Damaged Goods, Artist: Shantaia, Director: Ryan Nolan

 I Ain't Going Back to Nashville, Artist: Jake Vaadeland, Director: Sawyer Edworthy

 Missing You, Artists: Munro & Patrick , Director: Caleb James

 Running Away, Artist: Justin LaBrash, Director: Prehistoric Productions

 Upside of Being Down, Artist: Jordyn Pollard, Director: Kim Capiral, Narra Studios

Interactive Artist or Group of the Year

Amy Nelson

 Darryl Anderson

 Jake Vaadeland

 Justin LaBrash

 Katelyn Lehner


Bass Player of the Year

Brandon Ziola

 Luke Hunter

 Mick Gratias

 Parker Nabis

 Terry Hoknes


Drummer of the Year

Carter Kent

 Darcy Deschambault

 Dusty Hunter

 Kurtis Kopp


Guitar Player of the Year

Brock Hunter

 Jake Vaadeland

 Keegan Barker

 Nick Strelic

 Scott Patrick

 Terry Lasko


Keyboard Player of the Year

Amy Nelson

 Jackie Kroczynski

 Jeffrey Straker

 Terry Hoknes

 Wayne Honig

Radio Station of the Year - Major Market

Prince Albert - Saskatchewan Country CKBI (900 AM)

 Regina - 620 CKRM (620 AM)

 Regina - Pure Country 92.7 (92.7 FM)

 Saskatoon - 92.9 The Bull (92.9 FM)

 Saskatoon - CJWW 600 (600 AM)


 Radio Station of the Year - Secondary Market

 Estevan - Country 106.1 FM (106.1 FM)

 Melfort - FM Country CJVR (105.1 FM)

 North Battleford - Saskatchewan Country CJNB (1050 AM)

 Weyburn - Country 106.7 FM (106.7 FM)

 Yorkton - GX94 (940 AM)


On-Air Personality of the Year

Chase Hussey

 Cody Glydon

 Courtney Fielder

 Jason Lee

 Matt Ryan


Music Director of the Year

Courtney Fielder

 Danny Ismond

 Matt Bradley


Record Producer of the Year

Producers: Aspen Beveridge and Berk Jodoin, Aces & 8's, Performing Artist: Berk Jodoin

Producer: Aspen Beveridge, Drink Me a Lullaby, Performing Artist: Joshua Stumpf

Producer: Bart McKay, Love Me Like an Outlaw, Performing Artist: Kalsey Kulyk

Producer: Bart McKay, Drinking With the Boys, Performing Artist: Adam Johnson

Producer: Bart McKay, Single at a Wedding, Performing Artist: Jordyn Pollard

Producer: Bart McKay, Upside of Being Down, Performing Artist: Jordyn Pollard

Producer: Donny Parenteau, It's All I Need, Performing Artist: Donny Parenteau

Recording Studio of the Year

Big Bang Studios

 Contrast Recording

 Facca Audio

 SkullCreek Studio

 Saskatoon Music Recording Studio


Country Music Person of the Year

Bart McKay

 Jerad Bowes

 Larry Krause

 Matt Ryan


Music Venue of the Year

The Bassment

 Capitol Music Club

 Coors Event Centre

 Hank's Tavern

 Longbranch Good Times Beverage Company


Music Festival of the Year

All Folk'd Up

 Country at the Creek

 Country Thunder Saskatchewan

 Dog Patch Music Festival

 Waskesiu Lakeside Music Festival


Fans Choice Entertainer of the Year

Brody Siebert

Hunter Brothers

Jake Vaadeland

Justin LaBrash

Teagan Littlechief


Single of the Year

Burning Down the Barn - Hunter Brothers

Girl to Girl - Tenille Arts

Hung Over You - Shantaia

Peace, Love & Country Music - Hunter Brothers

What Colour You Drive - Hunter Brothers


About the SCMA

The Saskatchewan Country Music Association is a non-profit organization, dedicated to the promotion, development, and enhancement of all aspects of Saskatchewan country music at the local, national, and international level.

The SCMA endeavors to create venues for the promotion of Saskatchewan country artists through sponsorship of its own events, such as the annual SCMA Awards, and involvement in other organization’s events.

Boasting a list of amazing talent, it is easy to see why the SCMA is so successful! Become a part of one of the most exciting music organizations in Canada today, by becoming a member of THE association for Country Music in Saskatchewan!

The 2024 SCMA Awards in Lloydminster Presented by Access Communications wouldn't be possible without the following sponsors:

Access Communications Co-operative

The City of Lloydminster

Vic Juba Community Theatre


Lloydminster Concert Series Association

Pure Country 92.7 - Regina

Gold Horse Casino

CJWW - Saskatoon

4th Meridian Brewing Company

The Bull 92.9 - Saskatoon

Tourism Saskatchewan

Our Board of Directors

Our board is made up of interested persons from different aspects of the music industry (Performers, Members of the Media, Venues, and Industry specialists).

Board members meet monthly. Meetings are held to discuss matters important to the organization and its goals.

If you are interested in serving on the Board of Directors, please contact the President to inquire how.

Officers & Directors

President: Leon Gilbertson Steve Huber

Past President: Steve Huber

1st Vice-President: Doug Sylvester

2nd Vice-President: Tim Day

Treasurer: Wes LaBrash

Secretary: Allissia Smith

Event Co-Ordinator: Gayla Gilbertson

Artist Development: Vacant

For more information on the Saskatchewan Country Music Association visit our website.

Visit our Website
Facebook  Twitter