art news
“I am grateful for what I am and have. My thanksgiving is perpetual" ― Henry David Thoreau
"Freedom from Want" by Norman Rockwell
Freedom from Want, also known as The Thanksgiving Picture or I'll Be Home for Christmas, is the third of the Four Freedoms series of four oil paintings by American artist Norman Rockwell. The works were inspired by United States President Franklin D. Roosevelt's 1941 State of the Union Address, known as Four Freedoms. The painting was created in November 1942 and published in March 6, 1943 issue of The Saturday Evening Post.

Norman Rockwell was a prolific artist, who's images affirmed traditional American values of the day. All of the people were friends and family of Rockwell in Arlington, Vermont, who were photographed individually and painted into the scene. This illustration has become an traditional representation of the Thanksgiving holiday and family holiday gatherings in general. Rockwell summed up his own idealism: "I paint life as I would like it to be." With a range of favorite subjects that included nuclear families, mischievous children and small town life, his work has achieved iconic status. As an artist, Rockwell has had a lasting effect on US society beyond any singular work, with his indelible images that went on to inspire American directors such as George Lucas, Steven Spielberg and Robert Zemeckis, whose 1994 film Forrest Gump recreates several of Rockwell's paintings as scenes throughout the film. Norman Rockwell was a prolific artist, producing more than 4,000 original works in his lifetime. Most of his surviving works are in public collections. The Norman Rockwell Museum is located in the artists' hometown of Stockbridge, Massachusetts.
grantee spotlight
The Girl Choir of South Florida
The Girl Choir of South Florida is the premier singing ensemble for girls and young women ages 6 through 18. Currently, they are the only not-for-profit all girl choir organization in South Florida. The Girl Choir, led by Artistic Director Sylvia Aycock, has been extolled by the South Florida Sun-Sentinel as “imaginative, accessible, expressive, and entertaining”, gaining a reputation for delivering compelling concert programming.

We are so proud of our grantees for staying strong and becoming resourceful this season. The music has not stopped, a transition to a virtual platform has ensured programs such as "Poetry & Prose | Spring 2020 Virtual Concert " play on. It is our pleasure to bring you the early premiere of "Love is Love is Love". We at FAB are grateful to all our supporters and community partners for coming together during these challenging times to support these talented artists. Thank you and #keepsinging this holiday season.
(watch videos by clicking the links)
visionary spotlight
corporate spotlight
Casa D'Angelo
At Casa D' Angelo, you’ll experience food prepared according to Old World traditions straight from the heart of Italy – the birthplace of our founder, Angelo Elia. His passion for “the old country” inspired him to create a menu of traditional Tuscan dishes, using only the finest ingredients and making everything from scratch. Angelo and Denise Elia met in 1990 and were married in 1993. Mrs. Elia, herself, holds years of fine dining experience. Together, they opened the first Casa D’Angelo in Fort Lauderdale in 1998. Since then, it has remained the go-to, South Florida dining destination. Mrs. Elia serves as the director of all front-of-the-house operations and ensures that every guest is greeted with a warm smile. She also oversees all special event and private party planning. We would like to thank Denise and Angelo for their investment in FAB and their continued support of the Broward arts community. For more information on Casa D'Angelo or their other locations, visit them on line by clicking on the logo.

Special Event at Casa D'Angelo
TRUFFLE DINNER | FORT LAUDERDALE (click here for details)
grant spotlight
Join the Grants Team
We continue to support, sustain and enrich the arts in our community with the help of our dedicated volunteers. Part of your FAB membership benefits include the opportunity to screen and vet grantees. FAB's stellar grant process is guided by Grant Co-chair's, Cindy Kashdin and Harvey Shapiro. This year we will be meeting virtually to ensure the safety of all members. To sign up, contact Cindy or Harvey at More information is available on our website. You may also register on line here Volunteer here.
board spotlight
Welcome to the FAB Board
Jennifer O’Flannery Anderson, Ph.D
Jennifer began as President and CEO of the Community Foundation of Broward (CFB) in August 2020. Before joining the CFB she served as Vice President of Advancement and Community Relations at Nova Southeastern University (NSU). Under her leadership, the University completed its first comprehensive campaign raising $267M. She previously worked at Florida Atlantic University (FAU) as VP for Community Engagement and Executive Director of the FAU Foundation and served as President/CEO of the United Way of Broward County. She is past Chair of the Greater Fort Lauderdale Alliance, past Chair of the Forum Club of the Palm Beaches and a graduate of Leadership Florida. She holds a bachelor’s degree from Florida State University; a master’s degree from the University of South Florida; and a Doctor of Philosophy in Public Administration from FAU. She has lived in Fort Lauderdale for more than 21 years with her husband Peter and their two dogs.
program announcement
Join us for
FAB Presents: A Virtual Program
Public Art Works - The Jewel of Your Community
Hosted by: Nicole Nathan, Executive Director for the Arts Council of Lake Oswego, Oregon
We are excited to bring you this Public Arts presentation featuring a bi-coastal panel discussing the elements of successful Public Arts Programs.
MONDAY, DECEMBER 7, 2020 5:30-6:30PM
Thank you to our corporate partners for their continued support
board members
Ed Hashek, President
Louise Dill, Vice President
Linda Carter, Secretary
Cindy Eden, Treasurer
Jennifer O'Flannery-Anderson, Board Member
Ruth Anderson-Coggeshall, Board Member
Gail Auguston-Koppen, Board Member
Angel Burgos, Board Member
Jane Caragher, Board Member
Mike Hartstein, Board Member
Christy Lambertus, Board Member
Elissa Mogilefsky, Board Member
Karla Nickell, Board Member
Harvey Shapiro, Board Member

Francie Bishop Good, Founding Chair
Elaine Blattner, Past President
Connie Folz, Past President
Erica Hartman-Horvitz, Past President
Carolyn Lee, Past President
Jayne Mills, Past President
Drazia Simon, Past President