The fight for the premier point title at the Tom Wood Group Indianapolis Speedrome Powered by Lincoln Tech didn’t disappoint Saturday August 18. The next to last event for the 2018 Brown’s Oil Service Late Model crown saw the top duo step it up. Standings leader Jesse Tunny struck first winning the 25-lap oval feature over Austin Tunny and Tommy St John. Current point runner-up Ben Tunny answered back with victory in the 50-lap Figure 8. He took the lead passing Charlie Hargraves with only 3 to go. St John again finished third. Ben was the quick qualifier at 12.641 seconds. Heat races were taken by Matt Smith and Shiner Sutton.

The Last Chance Wrecker Factory Front Wheel Drives thundered into the evening first with heat races. Those clashes were captured by Jordan Hahn, Trae Bowman, Deven Bowman, and Larry Hahn. A pair of pileups were the focus of the first few circuits of the main event as a couple drivers over-defended their position turning a car sideways in front of the field. Birthday boy Joseph Liggett would power on to his second season victory. Scott Stewart Jr rallied to finish second and Junior Lemasters third.

The Circle City Pyrotechnics Junior Faskart heat race one saw current rookie point leader Jalen Summers win over Trinity Armour and Noah Neat. The second heat had season point leader Stevie Frost tops over Nathan Brown and Brayden Tharp. Next was a very entertaining and competitive 20-lap feature. Summers scored his second main event triumph of his career and this time got to enjoy the festivities that come with a visit to victory lane. Fellow freshman racer Brown was the runner-up. Jayden Durham rounded out the all-rookie podium in third.

Saturday was event #7 for the Stock division championship campaign with no repeat main event winners so far. Preliminary heats were won by class icon Larry Hahn and former Hornet Chase for the Cup champion Robert Fox Jr. Kentucky invader Mike Kestler quickly took the lead in the 25-lap feature. Fastest in practice Doug Greig and title contender Ricky Schaeffer III worked up into contention. They were applying pressure to the leader when contact caused Greig to wiggle and miss the turn three course marker. Kestler went on to take his second victory of 2018. Schaeffer was second and Hahn third.

Speaking of diversity of winners, the USSA Mel Kenyon Midget Series has had 4 different feature winners in their 4 season visits to the Speedrome. Third generation home track driver Dameron Taylor was able to extend that streak Saturday in dominant fashion in the 50-lap headliner. Kameron Gladish took second and Ryan Huggler third. Huggler won the preliminary heat and Taylor set fast time in qualifying at 12.380 seconds.
Drifting 5pm-10pm

Shelbyville Auto Parts Night at the Races, Late Model Season Championship 1-Hour Figure 8 Endurance Race, Factory FWD, $1,000-to-win Thundercars, Adult Faskarts

Factory FWD All Star 200, Stock 40, Thundercars, Jr Faskarts, Kenyon Midgets
Home of the World Figure 8 Championship
Indianapolis Speedrome
802 S. Kitley Avenue, Indianapolis, IN 46219
Phone: (317) 353-8206 | Email: