ACTC Logo Compressed

Dear ACTC Member:


What a great time we had on Saturday at the 2012 Tree Climbing Championship! If you missed it, here are the highlights:


This year's novice climb included an aerial rescue portion and was a great event for our "new" climbers.

First Place - Manuel Diaz, Sand H Tree Service, California

Second Place - Todd Turi, Valley Crest Landscape

Third Place - Angelo Romeo, Romeo Tree Service

Fourth Place - Holly Hovious, ASU


For the Regular Climb, we had 5 events this year:

1. Aerial Rescue
First Place - Dan Stevens
Second Place - Jeff Denier
Third Place - Jesse Sanchez
2. Belayed Speed Climb
First Place - Dan Stevens
Second Place - Jeff Denier
Third Place - Sal Hernandez
3. Footlock
First Place - Dan Stevens
Second Place - Jesse Sanchez
Third Place - Sal Hernandez
First Place - Jesse Sanchez
Second Place - Andy Young
Third Place - Jeff Denier
5. Work Climb
First Place - Dan Stevens
Second Place - Sal Hernandez
Third Place - Andy Young
Overall placement of all regular climbers: 
  1. Dan Stevens, Living Tree Service
  2. Jeff Denier, Mark Crane's Tree & Arboritst, California
  3. Andy Young, The Tree Amigos
  4. Jesse Sanchez, APS
  5. Sal Hernandez, Hernandez Tree Service, California
  6. Jesse Huffman, Arbor Vision Tree Care
  7. Kelly Gunter, APS
  8. Felipe Bribiescas, Hernandez Tree Service, California
  9. Brett Volpi, Mark Crane's Tree & Arborist, California
This year's master's climb included 4 climbers: Dan Stevens, Jeff Denier, Andy Young and Jesse Sanchez
First Place - Dan Stevens, Living Tree Service
Second Place - Jeff Denier, Mark Crane's Tree & Arborist
A BIG THANK YOU to all of our judges: 
  1. Art Daley, Arbor Pro
  2. John Eisenhower, Integrity Tree Service
  3. Richard Adkins, City of Phoenix
  4. Brandon Pawlak, Arizona Horticulture Alliance
  5. Tom Ellis, City of Marana
  6. Ron Kemble, Tree Technology
  7. Bruce Fennig, Phoenix Trim A Tree
  8. Rick Cober, CareScape
  9. Dennis Wagner, Berridge Nurseries
  10. Gary Kudes, Alhambra School District
  11. Aleck MacKinnon, The Pedaling Arborist
  12. John Gauthier, APS
  13. Dave Spilsbury, Tree Doctors North
  14. Steve Priebe, City of Phoenix
  15. John Sheridan, Palo Verde Gardens
  16. Andrew Rable, APS
  17. Ed Hicks, Valley Crest Landscape Maintenance
A BIG Thank You to our volunteers:
  1. Don Mady, DLC Resources -Photographer (More pics to come! Check the website soon to see the complete album.)
  2. Sarah Maitland, CareScape
  3. Louis Ballard, ACTC Past President
  4. Sande Wagner
  5. Marilyn Hagen, City of Tempe
  6. APS Crew
  7. City of Phoenix Crew
  8. David Tunget, Earth Tree Service
  9. Lynne Pyrce
  10. Margarito Garibo, The Green Effects Tree Care
We would also like to thank Heather Stevens for assisting us in getting donations for the event. Donors include: 
  • Living Tree Service
  • APS
  • Arborwear
  • A to Z Equipment Rental and Sales
  • Artistic Arborist
  • Juan Barba
  • Asplundh
  • Sherrill Arborist Supply
  • Vermeer
  • Carraba's
  • Trader Joe's 
  • Sprouts
  • Cheesecake Factory
  • Barnes and Noble
  • Texas Roadhouse
  • Bucca Di Beppo
  • ACTC
  • Einsteins
  • Lowe's
Without these donors, the event wouldn't be the huge success that it was.

And finally, special thanks to Juan Barba who spear-headed the entire event and Richard Adkins who coordinated the venue and work crews.

The annual Tree Climbing Championship is our favorite event of the year. We hope you will join us next year!