The A. James Clark School of Engineering at the University of Maryland
serves as a catalyst for high-quality research, innovation, and learning.
Visit us online at
The University of Maryland research team All-Terrain Cyclocopter was highlighted in the American Helicopter Society (AHS) International's latest Vertiflite magazine for its innovative cyclocopter design. The cyclocopter research is supported by funding from the Army Research Laboratory (ARL) in its quest for autonomous reconnaissance aircraft.
Since 2007, University of Maryland professors Reza Ghodssi and James Culver have partnered with colleagues from materials science, chemistry, and bioengineering to create devices using the Tobacco Mosaic Virus as a biological nanoscaffold. The work has resulted in never-before-possible microsystems for energy storage and biological sensors.
University of Maryland alumnus and co-founder of Sirius XM Radio Robert Briskman (M.S. '61, electrical engineering) received the 2017 International Astronautical Federation (IAF) Hall of Fame Award for his outstanding contribution during the course of his career to the progress of astronautics within the framework of IAF activities.
Researchers at the University of Maryland are using quantum dots – tiny semiconductor particles commonly used in nanotechnology – to decipher the features needed to design specific and effective therapies for multiple sclerosis (MS) and other autoimmune diseases. Their findings were recently published as the cover story of Advanced Functional Materials.
Professor Miao Yu has been named director of the Maryland Robotics Center, effective July 2017. She succeeds Associate Professor Sarah Bergbreiter, who has been director since January 2016.
Professor Peter Kofinas has been named chair of the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. He succeeds Dr. Sheryl Ehrman, who recently became Don Beall Dean of the Davidson College of Engineering at San Jose State University.