The Drinking Water Protection Act | March 2021
This Week: The Drinking Water Protection Act, House Bill 8, to be heard in the House Natural Resources Committee
Thank you for your ongoing support of clean water! During this public health crisis, safe and clean drinking water is as important as ever.

State Rep. Debra Heffernan has filed legislation that would direct the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) and the Division of Public Health (DPH) to create a state limit on Perfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) in drinking water.


These chemicals, which are found more and more frequently in soil and drinking water, are linked to a variety of health problems in humans, including liver damage, thyroid disease, decreased fertility, high cholesterol, obesity, hormone suppression and cancer. 

This week the House Natural Resources Committee will hear House Bill 8, The Drinking Water Protection Act, which will help prevent and protect us from these harmful chemicals. We need your help to make sure lawmakers are educated and prepared to support this grave measure.

The House Natural Resources Committee will meet at 1:00pm this Wednesday, March 23. Will you help us reach out to members of the House Natural Resources Committee and ask them to pass the Drinking Water Protection Act out of Committee?

Do you need inspiration or contact information? You can use the contact information and sample email below.
Members of the House Natural Resource Committee:
Contact the House Natural Resources Committee and let them know that you support the House Bill 8! Feel free to use the talking points below when reaching out to the committee:
 
Rep. Debra Heffernan (Chair) - Debra.Heffernan@delaware.gov
Rep. Krista Griffith (Vice Chair)- Krista.Griffith@delaware.gov
Rep. William Carson- William.Carson@delaware.gov
Rep. Larry Lambert-Larry.Lambert@delaware.gov
Rep. William Bush- William.Bush@delaware.gov
Rep. David Bentz- David.Bentz@delaware.gov
Rep. John Kowalko- John.Kowalko@delaware.gov
Rep. Richard Collins- Rich.Collins@delaware.gov
Rep. Ronald Gray- Ronald.Gray@delaware.gov
Rep. Charles Postles- Charles.Postles@delaware.gov
Rep. Bryan Shupe- Bryan.Shupe@delaware.gov
Talking Points About The Drinking Water Protection Act:

  • PFAS have been linked to several health problems in humans and in wildlife.
  • While the science is still evolving on PFAS, the risk associated with allowing high levels of this substance in our water is far too high to allow unregulated.
  • The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) does not set limits on PFAS, which makes it critical that we take action on the state level to protect our health.
  • The prevalence of PFAS in soil and water is increasing, and this is opportunity to contain a harmful substance.
  • HB 8 is an important step in the ongoing work of Delaware to provide essential, clean, and safe drinking water.

Thank you for making the most of this period of self-isolation by advocating with us! We hope you and your loved ones are doing well. Thank you for your time and dedication to clean water!

To learn more about Clean Water Advocacy, visit: cleanwaterdelaware.org
Contact the Clean Water Campaign
We welcome your comments, stories, suggestions, and questions.
Please contact us at Advocacy@DelNature.org
Made Possible by the support of Delaware Nature Society (DelNature)

DelNature connects people with the natural world to
improve our environment through education, advocacy and conservation.



Want to stay in the know and on top of what is happening at DelNature? Update your email preferences and sign up to receive our other e-newsletters.
Abbott's Mill Nature Center, Ashland Nature Center, Coverdale Farm Preserve, DuPont Environmental Education Center