Prepare to Learn, Connect, and Celebrate in Boise!
GIS-Pro 2022 will take place in Boise, Idaho in early October. We're partnering with the Northern Rockies Chapter of URISA and the Northwest GIS User Group (NWGIS) to host the GIS event of the year!

The response to the Call for Presentation Proposals was outstanding! The planning committee met in Boise earlier this month to discuss the submissions and develop the educational line-up. It's an incredibly important and solid program. We'll kick off the conference on October 2 with a number of NWGIS & Esri training workshops including Introduction to Python Programming and Esri's ArcGIS Hub followed by several URISA Certified Workshops ranging from GIS Program Management to Making Sense of Social Indices. Keynote speakers will include Jack Dangermond (Esri), Alexandra Winkler (CIO for the City of Boise), and Breece Robertson (Lincoln Land Institute). The complete conference program will soon be publicized and registration will open. Sponsorship packages are also being detailed.

By the way, Boise was a very pleasant surprise to everyone who attended the planning meeting and had not visited previously. What a welcoming, walkable, and wonderful city!

60th Anniversary! Take a few minutes to join your fellow members in commemorating URISA's 60th Anniversary by planting a tree and/or sharing a URISA memory! Did you meet one of your GIS Heroes at a URISA event? Make your first professional presentation at a conference? Find a new career opportunity while talking with a fellow attendee?
Learn more about this initiative here.
Leadership Aspirations?

URISA's Leadership Development Committee is accepting nominations for the URISA Board of Directors and President-Elect. Review the details and desired qualifications here 

Nominate yourself or a fellow member by May 6.
Grab a Seat: URISA's Excellence in GIS Webinar Series
The sessions are free and so worthwhile. Register for an upcoming presentation and watch any that you missed:

More Virtual Opportunities

Preparing Geospatial Professionals for All Things Broadband
Tuesday, May 10 at 3PM Eastern/2PM Central/1 PM Mountain/12 Noon Pacific 
Learn more and register for this free event here.

GISP Q&A
Monday, May 23 at 4 PM Eastern/3 PM Central/2 PM Mountain/1 PM Pacific Time
Learn more and register for this free event here.

Making Sense out of Social Indices
URISA Certified Workshop, presented virtually, over two days, four hours each day:
  • Monday, July 25 & Tuesday, July 26: 1:00-5:00 PM Eastern/12:00-4:00 PM Central/11:00 AM-3:00 PM Mountain/10:00 AM-2:00 PM Pacific
Learn more and register here.
Unmatched!

15 Years of URISA's GIS Leadership Academy - Virtual Dates Announced


The GLA, as it is known, has been presented regularly since 2007, sometimes multiple times in a single year. Registration is now open for two in-person GLAs in 2022 (August 8-12 in Philadelphia and October 31-November 4 in Santa Rosa, California) in addition to the first of two virtual offerings (June 27-July 1).

Just announced! URISA's Virtual GIS Leadership Academy: June 27-July 1, 2022. Grab a spot quickly and take advantage of instructor-led online GIS leadership training.

As always, seats are limited. Learn more and register soon!
Awards Deadlines

URISA GIS Hall of Fame: From Edgar Horwood and Roger Tomlinson to the U.S. Census Bureau and URISA's GISCorps, members of the URISA GIS Hall of Fame have had a significant and enduring impact on the GIS field or profession, and their work has benefited society as a whole. Anyone may nominate a person or organization for induction to URISA’s GIS Hall of Fame. Nominations are due on or before May 31.

Exemplary Systems in Government: If you’ve successfully improved the way in which government operates through the use of geospatial information technology, consider applying for a URISA ESIG Award. The award competition is open to all public agencies at the national/federal, state/provincial, regional, and local levels. Submissions are due on or before June 6.

URISA Service Awards: Each year, URISA recognizes members for their contributions to the association and the community at large. Check out the descriptions of each award and thoughtfully consider the individuals who have made an impact on the association. Nominations are due by July 1.
Young Professional Scholarship Supports Participation at GIS-Pro 2022
URISA is pleased to accept applications for the Dr. Marilyn O'Hara Ruiz Young Professional Scholarship program which selects up to two young professionals (35 years old or younger) to attend GIS-Pro 2022 in-person.

Start here to review the criteria and requirements and complete an application by July 1. (Or encourage a young professional superstar on your team to do so!)

To make a tax-deductible donation to support this important scholarship program, click here.
Write an Article - Earn Contributions Points
Consider writing an article for The GIS Professional or the URISA Managing GIS column in ArcNews. Increase your profile in the community, share your work, and earn valuable GISP Contributions Points.

Let us know if you're interested! Send an email with your article idea right away.
Get Inspired!

Read about some of the amazing projects that GISCorps volunteers have recently completed here.

Contributions to URISA and its programs (including GISCorps) are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law. To donate, please visit https://www.urisa.org/donations
GIS Certification Institute News
Take the GISP Exam. Mark your calendar for June 4-11, 2022 and get the details here.

GISCI has also announced a new designation for retired GIS professionals, GISP-R. Learn more.
Stay Connected
Connect with your fellow members to ask for help or recommendations, share ideas and lessons learned via our online community, URISA Connect.
701 Lee St, Suite 960
Des Plaines, IL 60016
847-824-6300