The A. James Clark School of Engineering at the University of Maryland
serves as a catalyst for high-quality research, innovation, and learning.
Visit us online at
Clark School researchers are members of four 2017 Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI) awards , making the University of Maryland one of the top universities represented among the highly competitive grants awarded by the Department of Defense this year. 
The University of Maryland will lead the newly established Center for Engineering Complex Tissues, a National Institutes of Health-funded Biomedical Technology Resource Center aimed at advancing techniques to create complex tissues and parts for the body.
Lisa Tostanoski, a graduate student in the Clark School's Fischell Department of Bioengineering, has won a $15,000 Lemelson-MIT Student Prize following a highly competitive nationwide search for the most inventive college students. 
Brendan Iribe, CEO of Oculus VR, has made the largest gift in Startup Shell history to transform the entrepreneurship ecosystem at the University of Maryland. Iribe has also committed to a 1:1 matching program of an additional $10,000.
After seven years as chair of the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at the University of Maryland, Sheryl Ehrman will step down in summer 2017 . She has accepted the position of Don Beall Dean of the Davidson College of Engineering at San Jose State University, effective July 3.
Fudong Han, a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, recently won a prestigious Gold Graduate Student Award from the Materials Research Society Foundation. This award is intended to honor graduate students whose research displays a high level of excellence and distinction.