Like us on Facebook  Follow us on Twitter  View our profile on LinkedIn  View our videos on YouTube  View our photos on flickr 
A Word from the Academy President
December 2013
It was a distinct pleasure to personally meet many of you at our recent Royal Society of Canada Annual General Meeting held in Banff in mid-November, at which time I officially commenced my two-year term  as your President of the Academy of Science.  On behalf of all of you, I would like to sincerely thank Darren Gilmour and his team at the RSC Secretariat, as well as many of our colleagues across our three academies, for their dedicated work in the planning and execution of this highly successful and enjoyable event. 

Read the Message from the President >>    


Promoting a Key RSC Partner
As an organization we are honoured to have had the opportunity to partner with the RSC to sponsor the 2013 New Fellows Presentation for the Academy of Science. We congratulate all new Fellows, including our very own Grant Pierce, Co-Editor of the Canadian Journal of Physiology and Pharmacology.

With an eye to remaining a leader in the publishing community in Canada, we also remain committed to our research communities. As an independent, not for profit entity, we have begun to forge new paths and partnerships - supporting our research communities with sponsorships for important events such as the New Fellows Presentations. Read here >>

Academy Medals and Awards 2014
This year, eight medals and awards will be granted by the Academy of Science. A description of these medals can be found on the *    McLaughlin Medal (Medical Science)
*    McNeil Medal (Promotion of Science)
*    Miroslaw Romanowski Medal (Environment)
*    Rutherford Memorial Medals in Chemistry
*    Rutherford Memorial Medals in Physics
*    Bancroft Award (Earth Sciences)
*    Flavelle Medal (Biological Sciences)
*    John L Synge Award (Mathematics)

All nominations must be submitted online, and the deadline for nominations is  March 1, 2014 at 8:00 pm (EST). 
For additional information on how to prepare and submit your nomination, the Preparing a Nomination Guide can be downloaded here.

New Fellow Presentations

Brahim Benmokrane
Building Durable Civil Infrastructure using Fibre-Reinforced Polymer (FRP) Composite.

The sedimentary archives of climate changes in arctic and subarctic environments.

Michael Doebeli

Patricia Mooney
Materials and Nanostructures for New Semiconductor Technologies.