Georgia Watch logo  

 ACTION ALERT
 

Quick Links
Join Our List
 
February 27, 2017
Help Stop Title Pawn Industry Bill!
Oppose House Bill 353: Speak up now to prevent title pawns from re-defining usury laws!
 
Under intense lobbying from the Title Pawn industry, House Bill 353 passed out of Subcommittee last week with a favorable recommendation and moves to the full Regulated Industries Committee and likely the full House this week for a vote.
 
We need your voice!
Please call members of the Committee as well as your own Representative today.

What are title pawns?
Title pawns are abusive, high-interest loans that use the title to the borrower's car as collateral, often trapping consumers in a cycle debt. The loan amounts can be for as little as a few hundred dollars, but can have annual percentage rates in the triple digits and lead to the loss of a vehicle. For more information on this bill, see  Take Action.

Action needed on HB 353:
Please help us stop this predatory product!
We urge you to stand up for Georgia consumers by calling the officials listed below and asking them to:
Please oppose HB 353. Your message can be that simple.

Additionally, you can say:
1) It is an unnecessary financial product in Georgia.
2) If any changes are made in the title pawn statute, they should be to benefit consumers, not harm them.

The following House members are key to stopping the legislation in Committee:
   
House Regulated Industries Committee
  • Howard Maxwell - Chairman
    • o   R - Dallas (17)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 656-5143
    • o   District Phone: (770) 386-5420
    • o   Email: howard.maxwell@house.ga.gov
  • Brett Harrell - Vice Chairman
    • o   R - Snellville (106)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 463-3793
    • o   District Phone: (404) 966-5804
    • o   Email: brett@voteharrell.com
  • Lee Hawkins - Secretary
    • o   R - Gainesville (27)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 656-0213
    • o   Email: lee.hawkins@house.ga.gov
  • Karen Bennett
    • o   D - Stone Mountain (94)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 656-0202
    • o   Email: karen.bennett@house.ga.gov
  • Beth Beskin
    • o   R - Atlanta (54)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 656-0254
    • o   District Phone: (404) 814-0000
    • o   Email: beth.beskin@house.ga.gov
  • Joyce Chandler
    • o   R - Grayson (105)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 656-0254
    • o   Email: joyce.chandler@house.ga.gov
  • Kevin Cooke
    • o   R - Carrollton (18)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 656-0188
    • o   Email: kevin.cooke@house.ga.gov
  • Sharon Cooper
    • o   R - Marietta (43)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 656-5069
    • o   District Phone: (770) 956-8357
    • o   Email: sharon.cooper@house.ga.gov
  • John Deffenbaugh - Vice Chair
    • o   R - Lookout Mountain (1)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 656-0202
    • o   Email: john.deffenbaugh@house.ga.gov
  • Rich Golick
    • o   R - Smyrna (40)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 656-5943
    • o   District Phone: (770) 319-0970
    • o   Email:  rich.golick@house.ga.gov
  • Jan Jones
    • o   R - Milton (47)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 656-5072
    • o   Email: jan.jones@house.ga.gov
  • Tom Kirby
    • o   R - Loganville (114)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 656-0177
    • o   Email: tom.kirby@house.ga.gov
  • Chuck Martin
    • o   R - Alpharetta (49)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 656-5064
    • o   Email: chuck@martinforgeorgia.com
  • Billy Mitchell
    • o   D - Stone Mountain (88)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 656-0126
    • o   Email: billy.mitchell@house.ga.gov
  • Alan Powell
    • o   R - Hartwell (32)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 463-3793
    • o   District Phone: (706) 206-6500
    • o   Email: alanpowell23@hotmail.com
  • Paulette Rakestraw
    • o   R - Powder Springs (19)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 656-0177
    • o   District Phone: (770) 439-9056
    • o   Email: paulette.rakestraw@house.ga.gov
  • Terry Rogers
    • o   R - Clarkesville (10)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 651-7737
    • o   District Phone: (706) 754-0706
    • o   Email: terry.rogers@house.ga.gov
  • Dale Rutledge
    • o   R - McDonough (109)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 656-0254
    • o   Email: dale.rutledge@house.ga.gov
  • Mickey Stephens
    • o   D - Savannah (165)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 656-0265
    • o   District Phone: (912) 661-1733
    • o   Email: mickey.stephens@gmail.com
  • Andy Welch
    • o   R - McDonough (110)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 656-5912
    • o   District Phone: (770) 957-3937
    • o   Email: awelch@smithwelchlaw.com
  • Rick Williams
    • o   R - Milledgeville (145)
    • o   Capitol Phone: (404) 656-0287
    • o   Email: rick.williams@house.ga.gov