How to Navigate Academia and Industry in a Virtual World:
Mentoring for Young Professionals
Organized by SSCS & EDS Women in Circuits and Young Professionals
This event will be held in conjunction with VLSI Symposia 2021.
You do not have to be registered for the conference to attend this event.

This event will be held in two sessions, to ensure people all around the world can attend:
  • SESSION ONE- June 13 09:00 JST / June 12 17:00 PDT / June 13 02:00 CEST
  • SESSION TWO - June 18 00:00 JST / June 17 08:00 PDT / June 17 17:00 CEST

To attend the mentoring sessions, just click the button links in this email at the start of each session.

Are you having a hard time finding a job in the new virtual world? Is remote work proving to be challenging to maintain the work-life balance? Have you always wanted to know whether an academic job is right for you? 

We are pleased to organize an exciting mentoring session at VLSI Symposium 2021 to help answer these and many more questions you may have, as you navigate your academic or industry career and job search and maintain the balance in your life. We will have two slots to provide as much mentoring as possible – one at the beginning of the conference and one at the end. 


Mentoring topics:
  • Mentoring and Networking in the Virtual World
  • The New Work / Life Balance
  • The How-to for Virtual Job Search
  • On the Way to Tenure
  • Becoming a Professor
  • How to Become a Leader
  • Career/Self Development
  • Communication Skills / Negotiation
  • A career in Industry / Starts up

We encourage all mentors and mentees to briefly introduce themselves at the beginning of the breakout session. As a mentee, you can join whichever room you choose and chat with the mentors assigned to that room or just listen. It will also be possible to switch between rooms if you wish to attend to different topics during the event. 

The mentoring event is structured as follows:
- SSCS/EDS WiC and YP introductions (10 minutes)
- Parallel mentoring sessions (50 minutes)