Good Evening,

I hope this message finds everyone and their families healthy and safe. Due to the recent COVID-19 pandemic, as you know the VSPA has made the decision to cancel our upcoming 2020 annual conference scheduled for this weekend. This decision did not come easily, but we are doing what we can to help mitigate the spread of the virus within our entire membership and their families, our Department and the communities we serve.

To make this decision even more complicated, as you know 2020 is a VSPA election year. By canceling the conference it also meant we would not have a General Membership Meeting or the announcement of your new board of directors for the next two years. After consulting with our General Counsel and in recognition of the fact that we have both active National and State declared “States of Emergencies" requiring the postponement of our March 29th regular board meeting, I have decided the newly elected Board of Directors will take office today, March 29, 2020.

As has been previously announced, our newly elected VSPA Board of Directors for the 2020-2022 years is as follows:

Roy Kyle President
Tim Confroy                        1 st Vice President
Beverly Baker*                     2 nd Vice President
Dave Edwards                      Treasurer                               
Randy Beeson*                     Secretary
David Ostwinkle*                  SPHQ Div. Rep.
Howard Cook, Jr.*                 First Div. Rep.
Dennis Dodson*                    Second Div. Rep.
Glenn Smith*                       Third Div. Rep.
William “Will” Carrico          Fourth Div. Rep.
Anthony “Leroy" Dabney         Fifth Div. Rep.
Ronnie Miller                       Sixth Div. Rep.
Joshua Korson                      Seventh Div. Rep.
D.J. Smith                           Ex Officio

*- Indicates new board member

I would be remiss if I did not offer my sincere appreciation and thank you to the outgoing members of the 2018-2020 Board of Directors. The outgoing Board is as follows:

James Russo                         First Vice President
Edward Haith                       Second Vice President
Dan Wilson                          SPHQ Div. Rep.
James Elmore                       First Div. Rep.
Derrick Mauck                      Second Div. Rep.
Kevin George                        Third Div. Rep.

It is interesting to note that these six individual have a total accumulation of 60 years of service while serving in positions on the VSPA Board of Directors. Again I thank you for your many years of dedicated service to the membership of the Virginia State Police Association. If you happen to see them out and about, give them an “elbow bump" and thank them for their many years of service and being "Mutually Helpful To One Another”.

In closing, let me say we are all in this together and we will get through it. Our priorities as an Association will be the health, safety and welfare of our entire membership especially our Troopers who are out there on the front lines. Thank you for your continued understanding and support as we work through these very difficult times. Please feel free to contact me, Wayne or any board member if we can be of assistance.
Be safe,

Roy Kyle

Phone: (276) 608-6992