ACPM President-Elect, Dr. Javier Cavazos, is Invited to Join APMA's Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Task Force

“I am excited to be part of this group and look forward to listening, learning and contributing on these delicate, but yet so important issues facing our society and profession.”

For over a year now, ACPM has been at the forefront of the podiatric profession, sharing with our members academic research emphasizing the importance of diversity and inclusion in our healthcare workforce.

“I am pleased to be representing ACPM as well as the Latino community. Latinos comprise almost 17% percent of the US population, but yet according to the AACPM statistics only 2% of practicing podiatrists identify themselves as Hispanic or Latino. The Hispanic/Latino population is 50% more likely to develop diabetes in their lifespan; we need to graduate more Hispanic podiatrists to meet the ever growing need for podiatric care in this patient population.”
Congratulations to the Winners of the
2021 Timothy Holbrook Award

On August 9, 1995, the profession of podiatric medicine lost one of its shining stars. At age 34, Timothy J. Holbrook, D.P.M., died and was lost to the profession and the world.

Tim Holbrook embodied the spirit of excellence. He was an excellent student, an excellent resident, an excellent educator, and a devoted friend and colleague.

These awards are given to students who have demonstrated excellence at each college of podiatric medicine. It is our hope that the students who receive these awards, through their own dedication to their chosen profession, carry on Dr. Holbrook’s legacy of excellence in podiatric medicine.
Lindsay LeSavage
Temple University School of Podiatric Medicine
AmyJo Marcano-Reik
Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine
Katie Springer
Dr. William M. Scholl College of Podiatric Medicine
Beshoy Khalil
New York College of Podiatric Medicine
Kyleigh Pierson
Midwestern University AZ School of Podiatric Medicine
Shi (Jason) Zhang
California School of Podiatric Medicine at Samuel Merritt University
Adriana Casas
Western University of Health Sciences College of Podiatric Medicine
Amanda Niester
Des Moines University
Marika Jackson
Barry University School of Podiatric Medicine
Are Your Colleagues Fellows?

As the ACPM continues to grow in membership (currently over 1600 members), we are eager for all of us to encourage our ABPM Diplomate Colleagues to join as well!

Do you know any Diplomates who haven't taken the leap of Fellowship?
We encourage you to reach out to those and provide details about the benefits of joining the ACPM.

As you know, the ACPM e-Learning POD is our leading benefit of this incredible organization. Help other Diplomates understand by letting them know that this outstanding resource is provided at no additional charge to ACPM Fellows.

Annual membership for this benefit, as well as several others, are at an extremely low price of $150.
NOTE: APMA Membership is also a requirement of ACPM Fellow Status.

Also feel free to forward this email to your colleagues to encourage their membership!
The American College of Podiatric Medicine Contact Information | (213) 336-4300
5907 Cerritos Ave. #2682
Cypress, CA 90630
ACPM will enhance and advocate for the practice of podiatric medicine by providing innovative education and promoting podiatric physicians in public health and welfare.