MSC IECA xxxx Newsletter Volume xxx

MSC IECA Quarterly News & Updates

Welcome to the Mountain States Chapter!  We are very glad you took this opportunity to join our organization. We want to be able to provide you with the resources for information and education about Erosion and Sediment Control as well as many other things dealing with Water Quality. 

In order to provide you with the resources you need, we need to know what you are looking for.  Please send us an email with any ideas of what we can to to enhance your membership. 

Please look at the sections below for some of the information you may need from Chapter.

Thank you again.

Opal Forbes, CPESC
President Mountain States Chapter

Mountain States Chapter Website

One of the volunteer positions we have open in committees is to have a group of members that can provide articles and update the website for us.  Unfortunately, the current board members are not skilled in website management. There are some of the presentations from previous chapter conferences posted that may be of some interest.

IECA Website
There is a Resources page for Members Only on this website that has resources for each state in our region.  You can also find the current list of board members and their contact information under get involved.
Mountain States Chapter Board of Directors

The Board of Directors serves from July to June each year. 
The 2017-18 Board Officers are:
Opal Forbes - President
James Bowlby - Administrative Vice President
Bill Robinson - Membership Vice President
Kathy Kaiser - Secretary
Ron Whiteman - Treasurer

Elections are currently underway to elect the 2018-19 Board and officers will be elected by the Board and State Representatives at the July meeting.  Each member of the Board of Directors serves for 2 years and with elections every year for approximately one half of the board.  
Mountain States Region Representatives

James Bowlby is currently the designated Colorado Representative.  
John Whittingham is the designated Montana Representative.
New Mexico

Brian Roche is the New Mexico Representative. 
North Dakota 
Neal Barnes is the current North Dakota Representative.
South Dakota 

John Healy is the new South Dakota State Representative.

Greg Baptist is the current Utah Representative.
Aaron Peterson is the current Wyoming Representative.
Upcoming Events

May 31, 2018 - Call for Abstracts for IECA Annual Conference closes.  See IECA website for details

June 19, 2018 - Meeting in Denver with CDPHE open to members about new Construction perm it.  More details to follow next week. 

February 19-22, 2019  IECA Annual Conference to be held in Denver, CO with Mountain States Chapter as the host chapter.

August 2018 - StormCon in Denver CO

August 19-23, 2018 - R6 EPA Stormwater Conference, Albuquerque, NM 
MSC will have an Exhibitor booth

If there is an event you would like to see the chapter hold or sponsor in your area, please contact the chapter at  This is a monitored email account.
Do you know of an upcoming event that is relevant to the Erosion Control and Water Quality Industry? Send your information to and we will include it in the upcoming events section of the newsletter.  
Volunteers Needed to submit newsletter articles, post articles on our LinkedIn page, keep up the chapter website, and help with conference planning.  Please contact us at if you would like to help out.