Wellesley Books Newsletter | May 12th, 2021
One of the perks of independent bookselling is, undoubtedly, the lively regional and national community of indie bookstore people that's in evidence at our regular conventions and, increasingly, on social media. Last week, the talk of the town was all about the absolutely wild New Release Tuesday we'd just lived through at our respective stores. Our tables are full, and our arms and legs are sore from shelving, but it feels good when you consider where we were at this time last year! If we tried to fit all of the new books in this newsletter, you'd be scrolling forever, so consider the "new in" sections below a mere teaser. The weather's nice and the doors are open wide, so stop in to see the full variety.
Upcoming Online Events
Thursday, May 13th at 7:00 PM
Edward Rutherfurd, author of Paris and New York, takes on an exhilarating new world with his trademark epic style in China. Edward will be in conversation with William Martin, author of The Lincoln Letter.

This is a ticketed event. Your $5 ticket can be used as a coupon off a copy of China. In order to gain access, attendees must register by clicking the link below:
Friday, May 14th at 7:00 PM
Kids, don your jammies and join us for a Bedtime Story with the author herself! Laurie Lawlor reads Fearless World Traveler, her picture book about the vibrant and daring life of Victorian artist and scientist Marianne North.

To register, please click the Register Now button.
Friday, May 21st at 7:00 PM
Kids, don your jammies and join us for a Bedtime Story with the author/illustrator herself! Sarah Hwang reads Toasty, a deliciously funny story about a piece of bread who wants to be a dog. Perfect for fans of Arnie the Doughnut by Laurie Keller and Everyone Loves Bacon by Kelly DiPucchio.

To register, please click the Register Now button.
Tuesday, May 25th at 7:00 PM
Nandini Bajpai, author of A Match Made in Mehendi, presents Sister of the Bollywood Bride, a charming novel about one teen's summer tackling disasters including, but not limited to, family, romance, and weather—as she plans her sister's Bollywood-style Indian wedding. Nandini will be in conversation with Josh Funk, author of the Lady Pancake & Sir French Toast series.

To register, please click the Register Now button.
Bookseller Recommendations
Jane recommends:
Hour of the Witch by Chris Bohjalian
In Boston in 1662, Mary Deerfield petitions for divorce from her abusive husband. From that unlikely beginning, Chris Bohjalian has crafted Hour of the Witch, his latest engrossing and absorbing novel. Rich in the details of colonial history, it is a compelling character study of a fierce and brave woman. The themes of injustice, betrayal, and revenge are intertwined throughout the story, and result in a book that is a pleasure to read until the very last page!
Ashleigh recommends:
Powerful character arcs, wildly imaginative, and some of the strongest world-building I've read. This is a complex, West African-inspired epic fantasy that spares no detail, or life, and brings the reader into a rich tapestry of politics, plotting, rebellion, and the search for truth and freedom. Excellent; Sci-Fi/fantasy readers will be thrilled!
Peter recommends:
Unsettled Ground by Claire Fuller
The quiet tone of Unsettled Ground belies the utter calamity at its heart. Despite their having been isolated from the world by an unusual set of circumstances, what happens to two middle-aged siblings after their mother dies could happen to anyone with just a little bad timing and a few wrong steps. One of the marvels of Claire Fuller's writing is that she leads us not only to empathize with Jeanie and Julius in their plight, but to identify with them--their fears, their pride, and their bond with each other are real and human, and wonderfully realized.
New in Hardcover
Michael Lewis
Maggie Shipstead
Katherine A. Sherbrooke
Stacey Abrams
Andy Weir
Jennifer Saint
Jean Hanff Korelitz
Jennifer Weiner
Daniel James Brown
Rachel Cusk
Edward Rutherfurd
Annette Gordon-Reed
Jessica Anya Blau
A.J. Gnuse
Gwen Strauss
Suzanne Simard
Sy Montgomery
New in Paperback
Hilary Mantel
Sue Miller
Jojo Moyes
David Mitchell
Alex Michaelides
Ruth Ware
Carl Hiaasen
Ali Smith
Bookseller Recommendations for Kids and Teens
Cassie recommends:
When Dean is cast as Romeo in his high school's production of Romeo and Juliet, he realizes he doesn't want to wait to transition any longer. His family, friends, and girlfriend are currently under the impression that Dean is a tomboy lesbian. But Dean wants everyone to see him as he is in the rest of his life, not just on the stage. A love letter to theater, found queer family, and the roller coaster that is finding and standing up for yourself in the middle of high school. Stoeve's debut is full of hope and courage - I read it in a single afternoon!
Cassie recommends:
The Ones We’re Meant to Find is unlike anything I’ve read before. A story about sisters, climate change, “rights & wrongs,” and being human. Kasey and Cee are not like other girls. For one Kasey, who prefers her own company as opposed to the other students at school, can’t quite get the hang of caring for others as deeply as she cares for her sister, who disappeared three months ago. Not when the daily news reports highlight the impending megaquakes, tsunamis and other world-ending disasters that are all too common. And Cee? Cee is stuck on an abandoned island with only the memory of her sister, Kasey. Told in He’s masterful lyrical, animated narrative style, the twists and turns always had me second-guessing which way was up and I could not get enough of it. I need new words for the emotions I felt in my chest as I read--some tumultuous combination of aching, fondness, and trepidation.
New! Middle-Grade Subscription Club!
We're thrilled to announce a new subscription service for kids ages 8-12! Each month, Rachael and Lauren will select a newly released chapter book. Get your hands on the newest and soon-to-be coveted books of the year. We offer monthly and yearly subscriptions, and you can pick up your book at the store or have it mailed to you. Click on the link below for FAQs about the program.

The May 2021 pick is The Last Fallen Star by Graci Kim. To find out more about our subscription service, click here.
Picture Book Subscription Club: A Perfect Gift!
A Child's Library is a subscription service for children ages 0-5! Lauren, our children's book buyer, selects one newly released picture book each month to be sent or picked-up from the store. The goal of A Child's Library is to help foster a love for books within the child's home. It makes a great baby shower gift!

The May 2021 pick is Grandpa Across the Ocean by Hyewon Yum. To find out more about our subscription service, click here.
Picture Books to Celebrate AAPI Heritage Month
Joanna Ho & Dung Ho


Raakhee Mirchandani & Holly Hatam
Kao Kalia Yang & Seo Kim
Julie Leung & Julie Kwon


Joowon Oh
Supriya Kelkar & Alea Marley
Sennah Yee & Elaine Chen
Thrity Umrigar & Khoa Le
Kristen Mai Giang & Shirley Chan
New Releases for Kids & Teens
Cat Stevens & Peter Reynolds


Ryan T. Higgins
Jennifer Frank & David Ezra Stein
Kwame Mbalia & Prince Joel Makonnen
Terri Libenson
Stuart Gibbs
Jason Reynolds & Ibram X. Kendi
A.S. King
Alice Oseman
Asha Bromfield
Daniel Aleman
In the Gift Department





Unleash your creative side with these kids' paint-your-own and make-your-own kits! You can decorate vases, stepping stones, a dog treat jar or even a hedgehog--or try your hand at construction or embroidery.
What We're Reading
Gillian
Peter
Pete
Dogs of the Week
These Terrier cuties are named Sadie (l) and Wally (r)--and, as you can see from the blurry tails, they're so excited to be our Dogs of the Week, they can hardly sit still! Four-year-old Sadie is a Jack Russell Terrier, whereas five-year-old Wally is a delightful mix. Both are rescues, and both love to swim. Thanks for brightening up our afternoon, you two!
Thank you for supporting your community independent bookstore!
Sincerely,
Rebecca Stimpson
82 Central Street
Wellesley, MA 02482
781-431-1160