Wellesley Books Newsletter | July 6th, 2022
We may be headed into the nominally sleepy month of July--a time for a pause and a deep breath, when the very air encourages us to slow down--but recent national and international events are weighing on many of us. How do you take care of yourself, and of the people you love, when the world feels heavy? Sometimes books can help us find what we need, whether we're looking for solace; or to share in anger; or for distraction in the form of some expert storytelling, or a beautifully-crafted sentence; or just looking to find the funny wherever possible. Books can also be a precious source of quiet-brain time and of deep focus amidst news and connectedness that can leave us feeling tired and jangled. We hope that you can find the time to read something that nourishes you this July. As always, we're here and we're happy to help.
Upcoming Events
Tuesday, July 19th at 7:00 PM (in-person)

This thoughtful and engaging collection of essays is a unique look at the history of the franchise, going beyond well-worn narratives of yesteryear to uncover the less-discussed moments, decisions, people, and settings that fostered the team's iconic identity.
Thursday, July 28th at 7:00 PM (online)
Emmy Award-winning reporter Jen Maxfield joins us to discuss More After the Break, her fascinating and touching book about memorable news stories from her career.

With breathtaking detail and insight, Maxfield describes how each event unfolded, then takes the reader forward by years—sometimes decades—to find out what became of the subjects of the stories.

"More After the Break strengthens your faith in humanity, and, not incidentally, in the still noble profession of journalism."
–Gary Tuchman, CNN
Bookseller Recommendations
Lucy recommends:
Akwaeke Emezi (Pet, The Death of Vivek Oji) has proven their hand at writing YA fantasy and adult literary fiction, and their foray into romance is equally expert. Loss, grief, and healing are all explored via a star-crossed love affair between a young widow and her new boyfriend’s widowed father. A tropical setting, vivid descriptions of food and art, and a touch of steaminess make this the perfect summer read if you’re looking for something romantic and engrossing but still substantive.
Tracy A. recommends:
The Shore by Katie Runde
The Shore takes place over the course of one summer in the beach town of Seaside, New Jersey. It's a quick, heartfelt book that will make you laugh, cringe, and cry. A mother and her two teenage daughters spend the bulk of the summer struggling with heartbreak, young love, and the weight of family secrets. The story occasionally flashes to the future, providing the reader with a glimpse of how the characters will live side by side with the grief of this summer in the years to come. Anyone who grew up visiting beach towns in the summer or working multiple seaside jobs during tourist season to make ends meet will appreciate this story.
Sally recommends:
The Displacements by Bruce Holsinger
After the world’s first Category 6 hurricane destroys Miami, Daphne and her family leave their affluent neighborhood and white privilege behind to become IDPs (internal displaced persons) living in a FEMA shelter in Oklahoma. This camp becomes a community of desperation, including drug dealing and interracial conflict. Twists and turns make this story a thrilling, yet thought provoking ride. And above all is the fear of what climate change is doing to the world and how people may be forced to adapt.
New In Hardcover
Tomi Obaro
Alice Elliott Dark
Jess Walter
Alexis Schaitkin
Wesley Straton
Margarita Montimore
Katherine J. Chen
Deb Rogers
Graham Robb
Mary Pipher
Patrick Radden Keefe
New In Paperback
John Le Carré
Virginia Hume
William Kent Krueger
Annette Christie
Jason Mott
Shelley Parker-Chan
Francine Prose
KJ Dell'Antonia
Jen Spyra
Hilary Rodham Clinton & Louise Penny
Naomi Novik
Katie Couric
Ada Ferrer
Cynthia Barnett
Bookseller Recommendations for Young Readers
Lauren recommends:
Eleven-year-old Maizy has only met her grandparents once. They live halfway across the country in the small town of Last Chance, MN. She’s never been--until now. When her Opa becomes ill, Maizy and her mother fly out to spend the summer and help run the family restaurant, the Golden Palace. Last Chance is quite a bit different from Los Angeles, but Maizy soon settles in; exploring the town, making new friends, and meeting a whole cast of interesting characters. She spends time with Opa while he recovers, and what begins as tentative bonding over a food travel TV show, rapidly becomes something much deeper as Opa tells Maizy stories about the life of his grandfather, Lucky Chen, an immigrant from China in the 1800s. As the stories unfold, Maizy begins to see connections to her life, both concrete and abstract. When facing racism, Maizy leans on family and friends and learns that one of the Chen family’s greatest legacies is creating community and connections. And that legacy is in Maizy’s very capable hands. This story is hilarious, heartwarming, heartbreaking, and healing. Yee’s impeccable research shines through, including several pages of back matter that are not to be missed.
Ashleigh recommends:
This Vicious Grace by Emily Thiede
A very quick listen on Libro.FM, I think I started and finished in 24 hours! I really enjoyed the main characters, Alessa and Dante: forced together by extraordinary circumstances, they are imperfect, trying their best, and both experience profound arcs from start-to-finish. The supporting cast comes together really well; and the pacing is solid, full of twists and turns. The vocal performances are excellent, and I can't wait for the next installment. A definite summer read for fans of Victoria Aveyard, Margaret Owen, and Leigh Bardugo.
Middle-Grade Monthly: A Subscription Club
Middle-Grade Monthly is our subscription service for kids ages 8-12! Each month our children's book buyer Lauren and school liaison Cassie select a newly-released chapter book. Get your hands on the newest and soon-to-be coveted books of the year. We offer monthly and yearly subscriptions, and you can pick up your book at the store or have it mailed to you. Click on the link below for FAQs about the program.

The July 2022 pick is Chester Keene Cracks the Code by Kekla Magoon. To find out more about our subscription service, click here.
Picture Book Subscription Club: A Perfect Gift!
A Child's Library is our subscription service for children ages 0-5! Lauren and Cassie select one newly-released picture book each month to be sent or picked-up from the store. The goal of A Child's Library is to help foster a love for books within the child's home. It makes a great baby shower gift!

The July 2022 pick is Berry Song by Michaela Goade. To find out more about our subscription service, click here.
New Books for Kids
Gordon Korman


Ian Falconer
Jordan Sonnenblick


Zadie Smith, Nick Laird & Magenta Fox
CED & Jean-Philippe Moran
New Books For Teens


Rachel Smythe
Melissa Albert
Zoe Hana Mikuta
Tillie Walden
Victoria Aveyard
In the Gift Department
These tea towels (and the smaller bar towels) have been flying out of our doors since they landed in our gift department last week. Made of 100 percent post-consumer microfiber, they're quick-drying, absorbent, soft on glassware and countertops, and yuck-resistant. They're also available in a range of funky, midcentury modern-flavored patterns.
What We're Reading Now...
Sally
Cassie
Elle
Pete
Gillian
Dog of the Week
Hazel
Hazel is a petite 10-year-old Vizsla who lives in Weston. She and her family are longtime Wellesley Books regulars; it's almost shocking that she hasn't been our Dog of the Week before. She treated us to a little history lesson: Vizlas were bred for hunting and companionship for the kings of Hungary--they were first documented in the 1500s!--and almost disappeared during Ottoman and then Nazi rule of the country. Hazel enjoys the good life; her favorite things are affection (both giving and receiving) and treats.
Thank you for supporting your community independent bookstore!
Sincerely,
Rebecca Stimpson
82 Central Street
Wellesley, MA 02482
781-431-1160