Wellesley Books Newsletter | March 31st, 2021
April is that glorious time of the year when we admire the flowers blossoming and the trees leafing, and begin to look forward to long summer days. Here in the store, we've thrown the doors open to enjoy the fresh air and the cross-breeze, and a fresh crop of books is blooming on our tables and displays—such as our ever-rotating display of Indie Bestsellers and Staff Favorites above. New books today mean great reads tomorrow—now is the perfect time to check out this spring and summer's budding bestsellers!
Upcoming Online Events
Tonight! Wednesday, March 31st at 7:00 PM
Andrew Morton, author of Diana: Her True Story, presents Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters. Perfect for fans of The Crown, this captivating biography follows Queen Elizabeth II and her sister Margaret as they navigate life in the royal spotlight.

This online event will take place through Zoom. In order to gain access, attendees must register by clicking the link below:
Friday, April 2nd at 7:00 PM
Kids, don your jammies and join us for a Bedtime Story with the author herself! Donna Gephart reads Go Be Wonderful, a picture book about the unconditional love we have for our little ones—at every age and stage.

This online event will take place through Zoom. In order to gain access, attendees must register by clicking the link below:
Tuesday, April 6th at 7:00 PM
Bill Buford, author of Heat, joins us to celebrate the paperback release of his acclaimed 2020 book, Dirt, a highly obsessive, hilariously self-deprecating account of the world of French haute cuisine.

This is a ticketed event. Your $5 ticket can be used as a coupon off a copy of Dirt. In order to gain access, attendees must register by clicking the link below:
Wednesday, April 7th at 7:00 PM
April is National Poetry Month, and Wellesley Books is happy to bring you an evening with three wonderful poets: Chard deNiord, Jessica Greenbaum, and Jeffrey Harrison.

This online event will take place through Zoom. In order to gain access, attendees must register by clicking the link below:
Thursday, April 8th at 7:00 PM
Budding story teller Holly Maddalena Marshall joins us for a special Thursday edition of Bedtime Story with the Author to discuss her magical new book, Princess Clara’s Royal Adventures: The Lily Pond at Rivers Hollow.

This online event will take place through Zoom. In order to gain access, attendees must register by clicking the link below:
Friday, April 9th at 7:00 PM
Kids, don your jammies and join us for a Bedtime Story with the author herself! Sita Singh reads Birds of a Feather, her heartwarming picture book about a colorless peacock who learns to love himself in a jungle full of color.

This online event will take place through Zoom. In order to gain access, attendees must register by clicking the link below:
Tuesday, April 13th at 7:00 PM
Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife, presents When the Stars Go Dark, an atmospheric novel of intertwined destinies and heart-wrenching suspense. Paula will be in conversation with Dani Shapiro, author of Inheritance.

This is a ticketed event. Your $5 ticket can be used as a coupon off a copy of When the Stars Go Dark. This online event is ticketed and will take place through Zoom. In order to gain access, attendees must register by clicking the link below:
Thursday, April 29th at 7:00 PM
J. Courtney Sullivan, author of Maine and Saints For All Occasions, joins us to celebrate the paperback release of her 2020 bestseller, Friends and Strangers. Courtney will be in conversation with Rumaan Alam, author of Rich and Pretty and his latest, Leave the World Behind.

This is a ticketed event. Your $5 ticket can be used as a coupon off a copy of Friends and Strangers. In order to gain access, attendees must register by clicking the link below:
Bookseller Recommendations
Peter recommends:
Raft of Stars by Andrew J. Graff
This harrowing tale of two boys barely on the cusp of young manhood is conveyed with the quiet assurance of a seasoned storyteller. Their bond of friendship is put to the test as they flee the consequences of a rash act of loyalty, and you will be on the edge of your seat as you follow them into the unknowns of the northern Wisconsin forest. It is likewise impossible not to be charmed by the grownups who set out to save the two young boys from the terrible course they’ve set out on. With such strong characters and sensitive writing, it’s hard to believe this is a debut novel!
Jane recommends:
The Vietri Project by Nicola DiRobirtis-Theye
Gabriele is an unhappy bookseller, undecided about both her professional and personal life. Impulsively, she decides to travel to Rome, to learn more about “Mr.Vietri”, a mysterious customer of the bookstore. As she investigates his life, Gabriele draws closer her own extended Italian family. This book combines both absorbing historical research and an interesting character study, as Gabriele slowly learns to let go of her past fears, and face her future with optimism.
Pre-Order Now for Adults
(Available 4/27/21)
John Grisham
(Available 6/1/21)
Elin Hilderbrand
(Available 4/6/21)
Jenny Lawson
(Available 5/4/2021)
Chris Bohjalian
(Available 4/27/21)
Jhumpa Lahiri
(Available 5/11/21)
Stacey Abrams
(Available 4/6/2021)
Haruki Murakami
(Available 4/6/21)
Helen Oyeyemi
(Available 4/13/21)
Patrick Radden Keefe
New in Hardcover
Peter Swanson
Jacqueline Winspear
Kirstin Valdez Quade
Martha Hall Kelly
Kaitlyn Greenidge
Hanif Abdurraqib
Gabriela Garcia
Dorothy Wickenden
New in Paperback
Martha Wells
Sue Monk Kidd
Louise Erdrich
Bill Buford
Kimberly McCreight
Olen Steinhauer
Jessica Simpson
Bookseller Recommendations for Kids and Teens
Sofia recommends:
Happily Ever Afters by Elisa Bryant
My new favorite YA romance! Having just moved, Tessa is about to start at a new creative arts academy. But once she has her first creative writing class, she develops a massive writer's block. Her best friend decides they'll create a real life love story for Tessa so she can regain her inspiration. Will she fall for Nico, who looks like he walked out of one of her stories? Or will she fall for Sam, the sweet boy next door?
New! Middle-Grade Subscription Club!
We're thrilled to announce a new subscription service for kids ages 8-12! Each month, Rachael and Lauren will select a newly released chapter book. Get your hands on the newest and soon-to-be coveted books of the year. We offer monthly and yearly subscriptions, and you can pick the book up from the store or have it mailed to you. Click on the link below for FAQs about the program.

The April 2021 pick is The Anti-Book by Raphael Simon aka Pseudonymous Bosch. To find out more about our subscription service, click here.
Picture Book Subscription Club: A Perfect Gift!
A Child's Library is a subscription service for children ages 0-5! Lauren, our children's book buyer, selects one newly released picture book each month to be sent or picked-up from the store. The goal of A Child's Library is to help foster a love for books within the child's home. It makes a great baby shower gift!

The April 2021 pick is The Duck Who Didn't Like Water by Steve Small. To find out more about our subscription service, click here.
Pre-Order Now for Kids and Teens!
(Available 3/30/21)
Holly Hobbie
(Available 5/11/21)
Jason Reynolds
& Ibram X. Kendi
(Available 4/6/21)
Meg Medina
(Available 4/6/21)
Andy Griffiths
(Available 4/20/21)
Becky Albertalli
(Available 6/1/21)
Katie O'Neill
New Releases
Amanda Gorman
Andrea Wang
Leigh Bardugo
In the Gift Department












Only three days until Easter! Come give these bunnies a special home! They're awfully cute so we may make them honorary booksellers, but I'm sure they'd prefer to be on your couch, eyeing bites of your chocolate and hoping you drop a jellybean every now and then.
What We're Reading
Peter
Gillian
Dog of the Week
Meet Dany
Dany is a two and a half year-old Golden Doodle, who lives in Wellesley. He is irrationally exuberant and loves to take walks to the bookstore. Once there, he gets his treat and walks exuberantly back home. Bet those walks will get even better now that it's spring and there are so many new smells!
Thank you for supporting your community independent bookstore!
Sincerely,
Wellesley Books
82 Central Street
Wellesley, MA 02482
781-431-1160