Wellesley Books Newsletter | January 4th, 2023
Celebrity sighting alert! Wellesley resident Pippi Babson, author of our best-selling book of the holiday season, Tails with Gig, stopped by to shake hands/paws with our manager, Peter, and to bask in her success over a few well-deserved Milk Bones. Pippi's story went from blog, to published book, to bestseller, all thanks to the support of her local community. We think this is an example of what independent bookstores can do best--this little book so charmed its way into the hands of so many of our customers, it outsold Ina Garten! (No offense intended, Ina--we love you, too.)

It's a new year and time to look forward to some new books! Keep reading for a selection of titles from the first (surprisingly busy) New Release Tuesday of 2023.
Are you a fan of our gift department?
We are looking for a part-time Gift Merchandiser (10-15 hours per week) to play a key role in our vibrant, much-beloved bookstore in the heart of Wellesley’s town center. Responsibilities include: receiving and pricing merchandise deliveries; managing backstock; creating and maintaining displays; and helping our customers select the perfect gifts for any occasion. This is a daytime position, including at least one Saturday per month, with additional hours during the holiday season. If you love our store’s delightfully eclectic selection of gifts, games, and more, this may be a great opportunity for you. Please submit your resume to peter@wellesleybooks.com
Upcoming Events
Please note that we are now featuring a mixture of online and-in-person events.
For further details about each event, please click the author photos below.
Wednesday, January 11th at 7 PM (in-person)
Elinor Lipman, author of Rachel To The Rescue and Good Riddance, joins us to discuss her new novel, Ms. Demeanor, a delicious and witty story about love under house arrest—perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Maria Semple, and Linda Holmes.

"Ms. Demeanor is a complete and utter delight. Of course it is. What Elinor Lipman novel isn’t?"
–Richard Russo, author
Sunday, February 5th at 4 PM (online)
Natalie Haynes, author of A Thousand Ships and Pandora's Jar, joins Novel Neighbor and Wellesley Books online to discuss Stone Blind, her fresh and stunningly perceptive take on the story of Medusa, the original monstered woman.

"Haynes is master of her trade . . . She succeeds in breathing warm life into some of our oldest stories."
–Telegraph
Thursday, February 9th at 7 PM (in-person)
Laura Zigman, author of Separation Anxiety, presents Small World, a heartfelt novel about two offbeat and newly divorced sisters who move in together as adults—and are finally forced to reckon with their childhood.

"Small World is a treasure: a family story that is wistful one moment, witty and wry the next. Few novelists write as beautifully about the damaged heart and the wounded soul as Laura Zigman, or understand the emotional bonds of siblings and sisters. I loved this novel."
–Chris Bohjalian author

Laura will be in conversation with Joanna Rakoff, author of My Salinger Year and the forthcoming memoir, The Fifth Passenger.
Bookseller Recommendations
Betty recommends:
The Magic Kingdom by Russell Banks
Told through “recordings” of an older man reflecting on his early life in Florida.
Harley Mann and his four siblings are saved by the Shaker Community near where Disney’s kingdom will ultimately appear. But the family’s life in the colony is no joy ride.
Strained by a strict code of behavior and tested by human will, this story of forced faith covers passions and ambitions that are amusing, stirring, and always worthy of reflection.
With Russell Banks’ deft telling, The Magic Kingdom enchants and teaches.
Kali recommends:
The New Life by Tom Crewe
Travel back in time to 19th-century London, where two men unite to write a groundbreaking academic journal covering sexual freedom. With enthralling detail, this book shows the harsh reality of being gay in the late 1890s, while also providing the reader with glimpses of happiness, as well as hope for a better future. Based on real-life people, this is one of the most engaging historical novels I've read to date.
Ashleigh recommends:
In the Time of Our History by Susanne Pari
A poignant exploration of family, migration, geopolitical events, cultural revolution, and deep community ties--for better and for worse. Pari crafts nuanced characters woven together and torn apart by the same events; the journeys they each travel are momentous. Each person will sear themselves into your consciousness and you will be grateful. This is a must-read.
New In Hardcover
Deepti Kapoor
Allegra Goodman
Christoffer Carlsson
Parini Shroff
V.V. Ganeshananthan
New In Paperback
Nita Prose
Jamie Raskin
Ali Hazelwood
Sarah Manguso
Elinor Lipman
Nikki May
Bookseller Recommendations for Young Readers
Kali recommends:
Everybody in the Red Brick Building by Anne Wynter & Oge Mora
Catch a glimpse of the nightly goings on of a red brick apartment building, in this cute, sleepy story of chain reactions. With almost scrapbook-like illustrations reminiscent of childhood crafts, and plenty of sound effects just waiting to be blurted out with whimsy, this diverse picture book is a great way to end a chaotic day and get settled for bed.
Elle recommends:
Hell Followed With Us by Andrew Joseph White
Created by a fringe religious group, a virus unleashed upon the earth turns people into monsters. At the core of this group is trans boy Benji, whose transformation into a monster is deeply intertwined with his gender. Gory and brutal, this apocalyptic tale champions queer survival. (Check the trigger warnings in the front of the book.)
Middle-Grade Monthly: A Subscription Club
Middle-Grade Monthly is our subscription service for kids ages 8-12! Each month our children's book buyer Lauren selects a newly-released chapter book. Get your hands on the newest and soon-to-be coveted books of the year. We offer monthly and yearly subscriptions, and you can pick up your book at the store or have it mailed to you. Click on the link below for FAQs about the program.

The January 2023 pick is The Superteacher Project by Gordon Korman. To find out more about our subscription service, click here.
Picture Book Subscription Club: A Perfect Gift!
A Child's Library is our subscription service for children ages 0-5! Lauren selects one newly-released picture book each month to be sent or picked-up from the store. The goal of A Child's Library is to help foster a love for books within the child's home. It makes a great baby shower gift!

The January 2023 pick is Very Good Hats by Emma Straub and Blanca Gómez. To find out more about our subscription service, click here.
New Books for Kids & Teens





Sandra Boynton
Tui T. Sutherland
Kwame Alexander & Dare Coulter
Tami Charles & Bryan Collier
Tamika Burgess
Alice Oseman
Ivelisse Housman
Alan Gratz & Brent Schoonover
In the Gift Department
Maybe it'll start to feel like winter eventually? Either way, our store is full of cozy, warm whimsy.
What We're Reading Now...
Amy
Caroline
Catherine
publishes January 10th
Colleen L.
publishes January 31st
Tracy A.
Dog of the Week
Abigail
Abigail is a 4-and-a-half year-old rescue who visited Wellesley from Philadelphia over the holidays. She was found as a stray in the South, with a litter of 6 puppies, and was adopted a year and a half ago. She's most likely a bit Jack Russell and a bit Chihuahua, though nobody knows for sure. A total sweetheart, she's good with kids and curious about everyone--and very much loved by her family.
Thank you for supporting your community independent bookstore!
Sincerely,
Rebecca Stimpson
82 Central Street
Wellesley, MA 02482
781-431-1160