Wellesley Books Newsletter |September 14th, 2022
If anything can be said to unite booksellers, perhaps it's that so many us had the formative experience of reading "inappropriate" books in our youth...which lead to our becoming passionate defenders of the freedom to read in adulthood. The challenging of books certainly seems to be on the rise in 2022, lending a new sense of urgency to Banned Books Week, which runs from September 18th to the 24th.

We'll be featuring a display of frequently censored and challenged books at the front of our store; most impressively, our friends at The Prison Book Program will receive a matching grant on all purchases from their wishlist over the course of the week. (To read more about The Prison Book Program, click here.) Our partnership with the program has turned into a fruitful three-year relationship, with more than 60 boxes of books being sent to incarcerated individuals all over the country--all thanks to your generous support!
Upcoming Events
Please note that we are now featuring a mixture of online and-in-person events.
For further details about each event, click the author photos below.
Tuesday, September 20th at 7 PM (in-person)
Brigid Kemmerer joins us on release day to discuss Defend the Dawn, her eagerly anticipated sequel to Defy The Night. The latest in this electrifying YA series contains more royal intrigue, more sizzling romance, and shocking twists that will leave readers breathless.

We're thrilled to say that Brigid will be in conversation with YA all-stars Amanda Foody and C L Herman, authors of All of Our Demise (All of Us Villains Book 2).

Our Event Coordinator Ashleigh on Defend the Dawn: "The Defy the Night trilogy focuses on a kingdom sickened with a mysterious illness; unequal access to resources, and the lengths to which all parties will go to save themselves and those they love. In Defend the Dawn, our favorite characters are living with the consequences of their actions, plus parlaying with a mysterious new emissary and venturing to an isolated country that may have once been an ally...or a deadly foe. It's a fast-paced, twist-filled sequel with conspiracies, romance, betrayals, forgiveness, and--oh my word--the character arcs and cliff-hangers! Kemmerer has outdone herself, and I can't wait to read it again and again."
Thursday, September 22nd at 7 PM (in-person)
Julie Murphy (Dumplin’) and Sierra Simone (Priest) join us to discuss their feisty and festive new rom-com, A Merry Little Meet Cute.

Our event theme is Pumpkin Spice: Naughty & Nice to celebrate this spicy holiday-but-released-in-the-fall book that will definitely get you on Santa’s naughty list. Dress in your favorite #basicfall outfit and join us for author conversation, free and tasty autumn-themed drinks and treats, and a signing line!

Our Event Coordinator Ashleigh on A Merry Little Meet Cute: "Oh how very, very *merry* this cute book made me... If by "cute" I mean HOT. STEAMY. HILARIOUS. SWEET. Did I say HOT?! If you've always longed for a book that combined a charming Christmas village movie shoot with an adult film star going mainstream, a boy-band bad-boy needing an image rehab, enough layers of secrets to make an onion cry, plenty of sass, and a riotous supporting cast, topped with loads of heart, this is for you. And if adoring this book puts me on Santa's Naughty List, then all I want for Christmas is more of Bee and Nolan."
Join the merchants of Wellesley Square for Parents' Day Out on September 16th and 17th. In addition to free parking and live music in the Square, participating stores will offer special sales and promotions. This year, we're bringing back Blind Date With a Book: with each purchase over $25, you may choose from a selection of wrapped Advance Reader Copies adorned with brief, intriguing blurbs. You won't know exactly what you're getting, but it's guaranteed to be new and desirable. See you this weekend!
Bookseller Recommendations
Sally recommends:
Nightcrawling by Leila Mottley
With a 17-year-old’s poetic voice, we learn the story of Kiara, living in a rundown Oakland apartment, trying to make ends meet with her mom in prison and her dad gone. She turns to sex work to make some money, and becomes involved in a police department scandal. Her gritty story is told with grace and dignity. A brilliant debut from this 2018 Oakland Youth Poet Laureate!
Lorna and Betty recommend:
Horse by Geraldine Brooks
Lorna says: Geraldine Brooks has done it again. Horse is a wonderful read based on the remarkable true story of the record-breaking Thoroughbred Lexington. The novel switches between time periods and characters to tell the story. It is a marvel from start to finish!

Betty says: In Brooks's deft hands this story of animal love, of race, and of our undeniable history is a must read. Settle back and let this tale take you by the hand back and forth through time. You will root hard for the characters, equine and human, and you will marvel at the science that supports the narrative. Brooks has added beautifully, memorably to her library of prize-winning novels.
Meghan recommends:
Carrie Soto is Back by Taylor Jenkins Reid
Taylor Jenkins Reid is back with another unforgettable heroine in Carrie “The Battleaxe” Soto. Soto is flawed–as hateable to the world as she is likable to the reader–she’s callous and rude and determined to a fault, but it’s worth it because she is the best tennis player the world has ever seen. So what happens when her record is overtaken a mere 6 years after her retirement? She decides she is going to show the world just what The Battleaxe can still do, even if the stakes are higher than ever and the world is rooting against her. Great for tennis fans and non-fans alike–I cheered for Carrie and her growth both as a player and as a person well beyond the last page.
New In Hardcover
Ian McEwan
Stephen King
Alexander McCall Smith
Tamsyn Muir
Ann Cleeves
Stacey Abrams
Andrea Wulf
Javier Zamora
Ben MacIntyre

Randall Munroe
Buzz Bissinger
Nathalia Holt
Nina Totenberg
New In Paperback
Gary Shteyngart
Lauren Groff
Mark Prins
Yara Zgheib
Sarah Winman
Sarah J. Maas
Maggie Nelson
H.W. Brands
ed. Valeria Luiselli
Bookseller Recommendations for Young Readers
Ashleigh recommends:
I'm the Girl by Courtney Summers
A searing, gritty, propulsive story about power: those with it, those without it, and everyone who wants it. The system is rotten; the protectors are corrupt; the dreamers and the hopefuls are victims; and the righteous fury is visceral. If you're not uncomfortable (and livid), you will be after reading this intrepid story.
Caroline recommends:
Ace of Spades by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé
An anonymous texter under the name of Aces begins releasing rumors at an elite academy. What begins as cyber bullying instigates a racial reckoning. This thriller is full of twists, incredible characters, and a dash of queer romance. Recommended for fans of Gossip Girl, The Hate U Give, and anything dark academia!
Middle-Grade Monthly: A Subscription Club
Middle-Grade Monthly is our subscription service for kids ages 8-12! Each month our children's book buyer Lauren selects a newly-released chapter book. Get your hands on the newest and soon-to-be coveted books of the year. We offer monthly and yearly subscriptions, and you can pick up your book at the store or have it mailed to you. Click on the link below for FAQs about the program.

The September 2022 pick is Attack of the Black Rectangles by Amy Sarig King. To find out more about our subscription service, click here.
Picture Book Subscription Club: A Perfect Gift!
A Child's Library is our subscription service for children ages 0-5! Lauren selects one newly-released picture book each month to be sent or picked-up from the store. The goal of A Child's Library is to help foster a love for books within the child's home. It makes a great baby shower gift!

The September 2022 pick is Song in the City by Daniel Bergstrom and Jenin Mohammed. To find out more about our subscription service, click here.
New Books for Kids
Christina Soontornvat & Joanna Cacao
J.D. Peabody
Stuart Gibbs
Sophie Blackall
Kelly Yang
Kacen Callender
New Books For Teens
Aiden Thomas
Jennifer Dugan & Kit Seaton
Bill Konigsberg
In the Gift Department
Filled with gently fragrant lavender, and re-heatable in a microwave, Warmies make a great dorm-room companion.
What We're Reading Now...
Catherine
Dog of the Week
Lisa
Lisa is a 7-year-old Lab/Golden mix who lives with bookseller Kali! She is a seeing eye dog who loves to chase rabbits; eat kale stems; ride in trains and cars; give big, sloppy kisses; and chase her squeaky toys. Hilariously for a Lab mix, she hates water--in fact, she has been known to guide her mom through puddles expressly to avoid getting her own paws wet. Like a toddler, she hates being bathed and having her teeth brushed. Keep smiling, Lisa!
Thank you for supporting your community independent bookstore!
Sincerely,
Rebecca Stimpson
82 Central Street
Wellesley, MA 02482
781-431-1160